We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - start your Sacred Valley/Machu Picchu here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My family and I were planning our first trip to Peru and our target was, as most other folks', Machu Picchu. We were thinking of starting our trip in Cusco, as the standard seems to be, but the concierge at Aranwa in Sacred Valley correctly pointed out that Cusco is at a higher altitude, so we were risking high altitude sickness. This point made perfect sense to us, and this is how our path led straight to Aranwa in Sacred Valley and hen to Aranwa in Cusco. Later on we encountered several tourists who told us that they had been quite uncomfortable in Cusco during the first couple of days because of the altitude and their good physical shape didn't help. The problem is, most tourists don't have a couple of days to acclimatize, so starting off a lower altitude is key. We all felt only very mild symptoms when hiking too fast and htey went away as soon as we caught our breath.
The Aranwa resort is truly special, a wonderful mix of old and new, with perfectly manicured grounds, which is full of pets and surrounded by natural wonders. It has everything one can imagine and actually so much more. Despite our extensive research, Aranwa still managed to be a big pleasant surprise for all of us.
My wife and daughter told me that the spa was the best they have encountered, and they have encountered quite a few around the world. The gym was great as well, not a small feat in South America.
The room was very spacious, well decorated and we had our "private" garden.
The restaurants were much better than I had expected to find in Peru and the service was consistently excellent. Service was above and beyond in all areas, from the concierge to various staff.
I was concerned that the hotel was too remote for various trips we intended to take in the gorgeous Urubamba Valley. There was no problem, as the hotel offers both their own cars for hire or taxis.
Did we encounter any problem? Oh, well, at one point we had to leave...We hope on day to come back to this wonderful place and meet again those wonderful people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tastefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

I take a lot pf people to different Hotels and I have to deal with the maitre'd of the Hotels but when it comes to the Aranwa Hotal at the Sacred valley in Urubamba, Cuzco, to work with Mr, Carlos Velasquez, is the best, every single time he is ther to help with a smile and to get what you need, what a great person, he is, always plesant and willing to help everyone, The Hotel should be very proud that they have sych a servive oriented person working for them.Again I have worked with many Maitre'd but Mr. Carlos Velazquez is the BEST, He is always observing to see how he can help. If the Hotel has a great employee is Mr, Carlos Vasquez thank you for having him work for you, nothsing goes by that he will nor help to make sure the guest are happy with the Hotel
Roberto Rocafort

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tito057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Wow! You are driving through some of the most beautiful scenery in the world and you turn and drive down a dirt bumpy river road and you would never guess that what lies beyond that gate is another piece of parardise! Aranwa Sacred Valley hotel has mixed the old and the new into perfect harmony. The staff is attentive to your every need, suberb restaurant offers food for every palate and a delightful waitress - Ruth is very sweet & helpful , practice Engish with her, she is trying to learn it. Make sure you try a massage at the spa, you will be throroughly pampered, what a perfect way to relax after traveling or hiking! We stayed in a Colonial suite and thought we were royalty, the rooms are huge and the bathroom larger.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jujiigirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This place was a paradaise in the midst of this amazing valley. Outstanding service and food, and wonderful people. Wonderful mini-villas with really nice rooms. Food was delicious-Carlos very attentive. Since it is a bit off the beaten path, you avoid the noise and commotion of towns down valley. We will be back! Also great jogging nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildernationalMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My family and I stayed at this facility during late June. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and our birthdays while visiting this paradise resort. We were treated to outstanding service and Spa amenities. The scenic and spectacular setting of this resort is breath taking. General Manager Thomas Henesler and his staff know how to cater to every detail of our family's time spent at the resort. The concierge service provided expert advice and planning tips for our trek to Machu Picchau adventure. Every step was one of the most beautiful and awe inspiring locations we have ever visited.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maguirezay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This was my first time in Sacred Valley. I travelled with my husband and three Kids (8, 6 and 3 years old). The Hotel was just wonderful: clean, spaceous, well iluminated rooms, beautiful gardens and ponds, peaceful ambience and beautiful surroundings!. The service quality outstanding. Family oriented Hotel: cinema theater for kids with free pop-corn, colourful peacoks and jungle parrots walking and flying all around the hotel. Just priceless.

I definitively recommend the Aranwa Hotel.
Maria A.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgaviale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here several days, and **HIGHLY** recommend.

Driving up to the Aranwa, we didn't really know what we were going to get because the hotel's location is "more private" and is one of the lowest elevations @ the Sacred Valley.

When we arrived, it really is a haven. The rooms are well appointed, modern (flat screens with satellite, wifi, etc.), and the customer service and hotel restaurant were totally *solid*.

The hotel staff were *extremely amenable* and catered to all of our unique and somewhat odd requests -- all of our family actually got food poisoning (*not from the hotel*, but from eating "local food" of unknown origin, shame on us...) which lasted for several days.

Kudos to the hotel staff -- esp. because *I can be really high maintenance* when I'm feeling totally miserable... but seriously, *all the hotel staff* responded like rock stars - and frankly, there is no where else I would have rather stayed in this particular situation.

It turns out that the Aranwa hotel is part of the "Preferred Hotels and Resorts", a network of hotels that we've also used (i.e., Ojai Valley Inn; the Gran Melia [Puerto Rico] and El Dorado [Santa Fe] (which we've also reviewed on trip advisor]) - so the quality is also reviewed/verified by them. We normally stay at Starwood hotels (yep, we decided not use the road warrior travel points), but in this case, we decided to (pay the going rate) and try a local boutique hotel, and we were very happy with our choice -- that also says a lot.

One tip: since it's located in a "more private location", you'll have to get a taxi everywhere (its' pretty much like that in any of the remote sacred valley regions, so this is not a shocker or unique to this hotel); beware that there are some locals who can be extremely opportunistic when setting "private transportation" prices (especially after they find out where you're staying -- we found out the hard way) - strongly consider having the front desk arrange the transport (and not anyone's "friend" or relative).

Our Peruvian trip was a bit of a motley crew for lodging - in many places where we went -- there weren't any other options because we had booked on short notice (didn't know if the time off work would work out even though we had purchased the flights). but we all agreed, the rest of our Peruvian trip pretty much went downhill (as far as lodging was concerned) after staying @ the Aranwa (as their service/standards were high).

Room Tip: N/A - think you might have to pay for this one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKI_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
4.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
7.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 28 in Urubamba
779 reviews
10.0 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
13.7 mi away
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness

Address: Antigua Hacienda Yaravilca | Huayllabamba, Urubamba 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £184 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riverside lands of an 18-century colonial hacienda have been restored into an exclusive 115-room hotel, comprising rural elegance within the hacienda and minimalist design in the modern deluxe rooms. Replete with three restaurants including a vegetarian cove, a 2500 sq meter spa & wellness centre with three hydrotherapy pools, meeting and conferences facilities, art gallery, on-site museum, orchid pyramid and movie room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel And Wellness
Aranwa Sacred Valley Urubamba
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing