We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Sanctuary in the Sacred Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Sanctuary in the Sacred Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel as we acclimated to the altitude before visiting Machu Picchu, and were delighted with its grounds - waterfalls, peacocks, llamas, alpacas, birds, exotic plants, fountains, soothing lighting, a chapel & spa... It was relaxingly beautiful and the staff was attentive and wanting to please. The room was spacious with a large marble bath, with many buildings which housed art work, antiques, and items of historical interest. One negative - during our brief stay, there was a film crew on the grounds (apparently for marketing materials?), and they proved to be a minor annoyance with our having to navigate around their equipment in both day and evening hours. Also, some of the grounds are still under construction, but the workers were mostly out of sight.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweet_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    198
    66
    26
    13
See reviews for
314
520
40
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

This was a surprising luxury hotel in the Sacred Valley, conveniently located close to Pisac, Ollantaytambo, and Moras and Moray. It opened in the Spring of 2009, so everything is new, the grounds have great landscaping, and the staff is very professional and courteous. The staff are trained to remember your name during your visit, so it felt like Cheers (where everybody knows your name).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boqueron_de_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

My family and I would highly recommend the Aranwa Hotel and a visit to the Sacred Valley to a variety of travelers. The valley, along with the surrounding areas of Cusco and Machu Picchu, are truly one of the most breath taking places in the world. With that said, be prepared for a high altitude trip and remember to be mindful of the drinking water and food prepared by local street vendors and restaurants that may not use best practices. The Aranwa Hotel eliminates all of those risks and puts your mind at ease for a truly relaxing and tranquil experience. Bottled water is complimentary (2 per day) and the food is tastefully prepared with local ingredients, except those that must be flown in from Lima daily to retain their freshness. The design and architecture of this Hotel is beautifully done so that it blends into the local environment. Small green mounds simulate the Andes and the landscaping is complete with indigenous plants and stonework. Also on the property are two alpaca, a collection of exotic birds and several lagoons stocked with fish. I believe the room variety extends from lavish suites to your standard hotel room. We stayed in the Colonial House and had two extra large hotel rooms that were equipped with flat screen TV, wireless, and a large bath with a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. I have yet to go into detail about the world class spa (largest in South America), gym, and that the owner has tastefully decorated the property with Peruvian antiques from his personal collection because I must mention the staff. All of the employees here were so gracious and went beyond the call of duty to make sure all of our needs were met. This Hotel is secure, safe, super clean and a great starting point to get acclimated to the altitude and launch your day trips throughout the valley. We could not have been more satisfied and would recommend this hotel to couples, honeymooners and families.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

Due to my line of work, I’m constantly traveling around South and Latin America. I must say that the Aranwa Hotel and Spa is the most luxurious spa I’ve yet encountered. Aranwa is a huge property that takes you from place to place on the property in golf carts. Visitors can stay in a wonderful old hacienda that comes complete with a library, projection room for movies and old refurbished church. There are very few hotels and/or spas that can match the amenities and luxuries found at the Aranwa. But the real highlight of the Aranwa is the 2500 sq. meter spa. My favorite feature of the spa is the heated stone bed used for massage and immersing myself in the Jacuzzi within the confines of the amazing alley. The Aranwa was a friendly staff and amazing services all around. There is a great promotional deal at CAT Travel where you can take advantage of the Aranwa at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalEncounters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lima, Peru
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

We spent 4 days at this Spectacular Spa Resort . First of all the place where it is located is magic. The main building has been reconstructed over and old "casona", the walls are very thick. Also there are new modern rooms and suites. Great part of the furniture are original antique pieces. You can have an idea of the area of this hotel if I mention that the Suite Presidencial has 500 mt2. It also have a cinema for 30 persons. The people that work here have an excellent attitude and were always helpful.
The Spa, ohhhh the Spa. I think there are a few hotels in the world that have the wonderfull installations they have here. Aranwa can give you indian, maya, stone, japanese, massages. They have rooms for yoga, reflexology, and a special rest room with beds with oxygen for the people who suffers altitude effects. The place for manicure and pedicure is overlooking the river. Guauuuuu, I can not really express with words what it mean for me been here.
A am looking forward to return as soon as possible only to stay there for relax

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We spent 3 nights in this 5 star hotel and resort in the Urubamba river Sacred Valley. The hotel was built in a restored XVII century spanish Hacienda, enlarged with about 80 modern rooms.
The rooms, the people and the decoration of the hotel was splendid. We also enjoy the Hamay Spa services after a walking day around the valley.
If you go to Cusco,Peru and are in your way to Macchu Picchu, stay in Aranwa Hotel and relax between a nice environment.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa clara, california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

You must see it to believe it! Paradise in the middle of Urubamba Valley. Even though it's quite a distance from the ruins of Ollantaytambo and the station the tranquility and the vastness of this resort will take you away to a different world. We arrived straight from Cuzco and since Urubamba is 4000 ft below Cuzco it wasn't much strain to acclimatize.
The state-of-the-art gym and Nuna Spa are still in the finishing stages. The colonial rooms are larger than the contemporary rooms. 2-seater jacuzzi tub en-suite is what makes it all worth it!! Pools, outdoor jacuzzi, church, aviary, alpacas grazing on the grounds - you will find it all here. Being brand new it's still a hidden treasure used mostly by tour groups. Should be completely ready by this month.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galvarez, Owner at Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the rooms, facilities and hotel fauna. Our apologies for the delay in the spa opening, however now Hamay Spa (not Nuna anymore) is operational including the gymnasium. Be sure to contact us for any more questions or comments.

Regards,

Gabriel Alvarez
VP Operations
Aranwa Hotels Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
4.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
4.0 mi away
Casa Andina
Casa Andina
#6 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#4 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness

Property: Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Address: Antigua Hacienda Yaravilca | Huayllabamba, Urubamba 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riverside lands of an 18-century colonial hacienda have been restored into an exclusive 115-room hotel, comprising rural elegance within the hacienda and minimalist design in the modern deluxe rooms. Replete with three restaurants including a vegetarian cove, a 2500 sq meter spa & wellness centre with three hydrotherapy pools, meeting and conferences facilities, art gallery, on-site museum, orchid pyramid and movie room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel And Wellness
Aranwa Sacred Valley Urubamba
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing