We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, charming, and best shower I had while in Peru!”
Review of Amaru Valle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amaru Valle Hotel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I absolutely loved this place. The grounds are beautiful; I felt like I was at a retreat. The rooms, the grounds, the facilities, the kitchen, and the dining area all were immaculate. The staff were kind, friendly, and accomodating. In response to the negative review: There are two resident dogs and one cat. Both dogs are very sweet and non-aggressive. They will only come over to socialize if invited; otherwise they are very tired and like to nap. Bruno, is a shaggy dog and probably would look much prettier with a shower and shave; however I would not let Bruno's lack of doggy hygiene prevent me from staying here (as he is an outside dog). As far as night-time barking goes, there are stray dogs all over in Urubamba. I heard packs of dogs barking, in addition to mooing, roosters cackling, and other noises throughout the night. I think that the hotel is situated in such a way in the valley that every sound echoes. I noticed this was an issue at several hotels during my trip; I would recommend traveling with a pair of earplugs just in case. Also, we had an upstairs room with no fireplace and it was extremely cold with the high ceilings. They do have nice warm down comforters so I was warm at night, but once I got out of bed it was very cold. Not sure if I could have asked for a space heater . Again, this lack of indoor heat seemed to be a common issue at every place I stayed during the trip (I do not think buildings have any sort of heat). The shower made it all worthwhile. There was more water pressure than I have at home and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PumpknMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

very, very pretty grounds, -lots of flowers-great mountain views right from your window. very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

April 26 - 29
We stayed at this charming hotel for four nights. It is a short walk (partly along a gravel small road) to the centre. and the main transportation hub for buses and taxis. The hotel has several A-frame buildings set in a lovely, lush garden. Each of the A-frames has two upper units with balconies and two lower units with patios. The shower was hot and there was free internet in the main reception building. The restaurant provides a very good breakfast (included) and you can also arrange to have supper there (not sure about lunch).

If you like dogs, you are in luck. There are two very sweet and friendly dogs on site.

Urubamba gets a lot fewer tourists than Ollantaytambo. It is a great base from which to visit Sacred Valley sites, has an interesting centre and a fantastic market which is a great place to see local people wearing traditional clothing and going about their daily lives.

Room Tip: take a flashlight for walking to hotel at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroundthenextcorner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed in Urubamba after 3 nights in Cusco and en route to Machu Pichu after a guided day tour. There's not much to see in Urubamba and we were lucky to be there on market day which is a Wednesday and on a day during easter week when there was a religious parade around the square. Otherwise it would have been very quiet. The Hotel is a 5 min walk into town but quite safe. Once inside it is extremely relaxing and very pretty. At $54 the value was ok. It's a good 30 min drive to ollantaytambo and in order to make our train to Machu Pichu we had to leave at crack of dawn. On reflection i think it would have been better to have stayed at Ollantaytambo itself but the Hotel cannot be faulted. Good internet service, nice room, hot water all the time and as we left before breakfast they made us complimentary packs to take with us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEJTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

A nice place to relax after cusco. Beautiful gardens to watch hummingbirds. Great sun trap. Limited menu, but great food. Cooked fresh so expect to wait. pitch black if you wanted to walk to town at night. They have their own dofs and cats, which are friendly but if you are not a dog lover you may want to avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Don't let the green roofs fool you, the Amaru hotel is a wonderful little place to stay right in town just 4 blocks from the main plaza is an easy walk to everything in town and $1 sol away from everything if you want a thrill ride on a mototaxi, rooms are smallish but well appointed, clean comfortable beds with pleanty of open air great hot showers and the staff extra friendly and you do not feel they are doing you a favor like so many more expensive places, nice gardens and for sure great karma.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgionow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I loved this place. It's an adorable little A-frame set against a mountain backdrop. The rooms are spotless, as is the landscaping. They treat you like a queen there and you feel like you're staying at the fanciest hotel in town. Breakfast is included, and they ask you what time you would like it. It's on the uphill edge of town so you have to hoof it across loose gravel for 2 blocks but you can always take a mototaxi for $1.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaquelSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#8 of 29 in Urubamba
537 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
0.6 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#19 of 29 in Urubamba
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mabey Urubamba
Hotel Mabey Urubamba
#18 of 29 in Urubamba
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#16 of 29 in Urubamba
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Valle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Valle Hotel

Address: Jiron Grau s/n, Urubamba 1, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Valle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaru Valle is a hotel located in the hearth of the Sacred Valley of the Incas, just few blocks away from the Urubamba main square, quiet, clean with nice gardens plenty of light with amazing views of the mountains of the Sacred Valley and a friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Amaru Valle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Valle Hotel Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing