We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite hotel inPeru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

had deluxe room in this hotel stayed 2 nights after touring round Peru .Loved the large modern bathroom ,unusual fittings and lovely glassware , very tasteful and modern , Room light and airy with patio overlooking river and grounds , sat watching the llama and the women weaving in the grounds after much touring and fast pace this was a quiet sanctuary that one could linger in or outside the room, our visit to the spa area and the jacuzzi was too short lived but welcome ( by candlelight) . staff helpful and welcoming . Again good food but the menu doesn't change . ok for 2 nights.
large sofa in room and patio furniture meant you could linger in your room. beware of insects need repellent as there are some mosquitoes .

Room Tip: definitely a river view with patio,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay combining your accommodation and facilities at the hotel and also that you could enjoy the nice views of the river and the valley from your room and patio that are the perfect way to relax and to have a repairing rest.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to welcome you in other opportunity at Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Kind regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Before I begin my review, the most disappointing aspect of this honeymoon stay was after my request to cancel my last two nights, Hotel Rio Sagrado, The Orient Express, and LuxuryLink have all required that this is not possible in any way, nor can they offer any service remedy to accommodate the interests of two honeymooners. My wife and I have traveled to many wonderful 4 and 5 star hotels across the world and have never experienced this type of service. Beware of booking a hotel through either party.

What I liked

1)Quiet, beautiful views of Urubamba River from room
2)inside/outside spa combo at spa
3)walking proximity to Salineras and Moray.

What I disliked

1)After explicitly telling the hotel of my extreme allergies to all nuts before and during the visit - first night - receive a basket of break filled with almond rolls, food menu only offers 3 items without nuts and none of the others can be made without.

2)Being embarrassed by the unprofessional restaurant manager when I asked about nuts in food - he screams across the restaurant " EVERYBODY HERE KNOOOWS ABOUT YOUR NUT ALLERGIES MR. SMITH...EVERYBODY."

3)Receiving a wine menu first night with a $35 bottle of wine then receiving a new wine list the second night with the same bottle listed at $52 - this after the waitress had already given me the first list. Then being told some horrible excuse as to why there was a new menu with costs nearly doubled.

4)Gnats everywhere! Can't stand outside without being attacked by them.

5)Allowance of street vendors to sell products in the middle of the hotel's garden every day.

6)Being "caressed" rather than "massaged" after asking for a deep tissue massage that cost me $100.

7)Mold in bathrooms.

8)IKEA style furniture in rooms.

9)First words from welcome host "how would you like to pay for your taxi transfer - cash or credit?". What 5 star hotel is petty enough to charge you for train station pickup?

10)Being introduced to the property by a mumbling 18 year old kid with absolutely no enthusiasm for the property.

We stayed at the Inkaterra hotel in Aguas Calientes, and are now staying at the Aranwa hotel in Sacred Valley, both were simply amazing visits. Hotel Rio Sagrado ranks amongst one of the worst experiences I've ever had as an international traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mrjasondsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and your opinions about your stay with us.

In the case of your reservation there is a cancellation policy that all the hotels have and are very similar in all the cases and it is not possible to cancel nights out of the established time for modifications. We are very sorry about this and your decision.

We were told about your allergies and all the staff was warned of it to take care.

About the vendors, we are all the time committed with the development of the community where the hotel is located and it is just a way to show part of our culture and how they make the crafts to interact and know a little more about them.

We offer different kind of services at the hotel that have an extra charge like transportation but never make a service with out letting know the guest of the charge and amount of it.

Thank you again for the time you took to share your comments with us, we are all the time improving with the staff and services at the hotel to be on pair with the expectation of all our clients.

Kindest regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Everything from the very first moment we got there was amazing. It was just paradise! The hotel is located in a sacred place, no doubt! The colours of nature have all gathered there. The mountains with its white peaks because of the snow, the river, the meadows... We were surrounded by the most beautiful countryside. The staff at the hotel were the nicest people we have met in Peru, always friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. We tried several typical dishes. We loved Peruvian cuisine! The room was very comfortable and the decoration was so cosy. It's an ideal place to stay and get to know the sacred valley of the Incas in depth. We visited Moray, Pisac, Ollantaytambo and Chinchero during our stay at Rio Sagrado. All incredible sites to visit.
Thanks to Rio Sagrado people for those wonderful and unforgettable days! We do hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the peaceful and relaxing landscapes of the sacred valley and that you could experience our Peruvian cuisine that is improving all the time with new combinations and varieties.

The Sacred Valley offers a diversity of interesting areas and it is nice to hear that you could enjoy the different archeological sites taking advantage of the strategic area of the sacred valley were the hotel is located.

Thank you very much and we hope to have the honor to welcome you again at Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Kind regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel looks over the river onto an almost Tolkeinesque pink granite mountain which was breathtaking. A meadow swept down from the hotel's terrace to the river where friendly alpacas grazed and entertained the guests with their antics. The hotel has been stylishly designed with a nod to schroeder /philippe starck...beautiful bathrooms minimalist bedrooms but with stunning locally woven fabrics, rugs and throws, giving it all a very authentic, cosy feel. If night time temperatures drop extra heaters are whisked into the rooms by the helpful staff.
The hotel's restuarant provides delicious Peruvian dishes. We had wonderful breakfasts on the terrace and in the evenings the dining room was a warmer alternative. The restaurant manager was absolutely charming, very helpful and good fun. Outside the hotel there are lots of excellent activities in addition to visiting the many Inca sites ... we chose mountain biking, hiking and white water rafting....great particularly for large teenage boys. we were sad to leave this hotel as the staff and level of service were all excellent

Room Tip: ask for a room near the restaurant , facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other Tripadvisor users.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and services at the hotel as well as the different activities we offer.

We work hard on exceeding the expectations of all our guests, your feedback is very important for us.

Thank you again and hope to have the honour to welcome you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

What a beautiful oasis in the Sacred Valley in Peru. The villas were spacious and clean, the grounds were beautifully cared for, the food was fantastic and the service first class. We would have stayed longer if we had known what a lovely hotel this was, but thoroughly enjoyed our few days there. The staff went out of their way to please us and were so friendly and pleasant. Thanks to Tony and Saulo for their big smiles and wonderful, friendly service and to all of the restaurant staff who treated us like VIPs. We also loved feeding the baby alpacas. All in all, one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in around the world !!

Room Tip: The Villas are amazing and well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience with us in Tripadvisor.

We are strongly committed to providing an excellent service to all of our guests and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Food and Beverages service as well as your accommodation at the villa, and that you are taking home an experience to remember.

Thank you and I hope to have the pleasure to receive you again at Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Kind regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was the second stop in our trip to Peru.

The hotel is beautifully situated over looking the Urubamba River. As a family of five, we opted for the Villa Capuli. Unfortunately, I have to agree with some of the other reviews. There were many overlooked details - no large towels in the master bath, coffee maker but no coffee cups, no shampoo in master bath and abundance of dead bugs in the light fixtures. Still not sure the wine in the standard size refrigerator was complimentary or part of a "mini-bar," as there was no signage to indicate if there was a charge.

We found the food average. While the staff was very pleasant and seemed to be trying very hard, they were very disorganized. Menus took 10 minutes & drinks took 15-20. They did not seem to have clear roles and appeared flustered. Either that or they were severely short staffed. In that case, we were surprised that management wasn't called into help.

While it was a beautiful setting with lovely gardens and pleasant staff, we would most likely try a different hotel if we were ever to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventurefamilyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and let us know about your experience and concerns during your stay.

We apologize about the inconvenient you had and appreciate your assessment of our services; it allows us to improve our performance every day and to put ourselves on a par with your expectations.

Thank you again for the important feedback. We are taking the corrective measures in order to exceed the expectations of our clients and we hope to welcome you again in other opportunity to recover your confidence about your selection of Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Kind regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay, the rooms were beautiful especially the balcony. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us in Tripadvisor.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay in combination with the facilities of the hotel and the hospitality of our staff.

We are constantly improving our service to exceed the expectations of all our guests.

I hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maximiliano Pazo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
19.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £158 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing