We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
houston
2 reviews
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was a jaw-dropping experience to walk through the entry gate and look out onto the Urubamba River, what a surprise! The natural beauty of the property is breathtaking, filled with an assortment of colorful flowers and fragrant flowering trees. In the opposite direction from the river, there was a view of a snow capped mountain. We originally planned to stay just one night before heading off to Machu Picchu but changed our itinerary so we could spend and additional 2 nights at the property before leaving the Sacred Valley. It was a magical place to spend my 60th birthday. I loved the restaurant. The servers were most attentive and informative, and the Peruvian cuisine superb! I mentioned that I was on a gluten-free diet and at each meal I was presented with delicious, freshly baked items made from corn or quinoa. I was even surprised with a yummy gluten-free birthday dessert/cake! Our Jr. Suites were lovely, plenty of room with private gardens looking out towards the river, where we spotted an emerald green swallow-tailed hummingbird feeding off the fuchsias. The room was decorated with exquisite handcrafts in an elegant, understated manner. We loved the rain shower in the bathroom with a clear glass roof in the shower area enabling one to look out toward the mountain, bringing the outside indoors. A trip to the spa for a hot stone massage was certainly the best way to end a day of hiking. Our stay at Rio Sagrado was a feast for the senses, absolutely our favorite hotel!

Room Tip: If you choose a room from the middle of the property you will have a panoramic view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    74
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
141
400
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel was one of several booked for us by an excellent travel company as part of a private tour. We had a superb De Luxe room with twin full size beds for the one night stay. The layout and room amenities are excellent; tea & coffee making facilities at last! No tv though, probably due to the lack of reception in the valley.The wet room in this garden level room is a bit spooky. The wall facing the gardens is etched glass and has heavy shrubs immediately outside to save your modesty. In addition, the clear glass roof over the wet room seemed very close to the balcony accesses to the rooms above. I hope I gave a good show anyway! The grounds are superbly laid out by the fast flowing river banks, making for a tranquil setting except for the rush of the river. Once again, though, the midges made sitting out a battle, even when using oodles of spray. Dinner was very good. We rejected the barbeque fixed menu offered that night in favour of the a la carte to increase the choice. All in all, probably the best hotel of our trip despite not having time to indulge the range of facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a fantastic place to stay.
The staff were excellent, the service impeccable, but the ambience in the gardens overlooking the river was the so serene and peaceful that we could have sat for hours just soaking up the atmosphere.
If you a culinary connoisseur you may be slightly disappointed by the food, but remember this is Urabamba not New York, London or Paris so for the region I think they did very well.
We didn't have time to utilize their activities - horse riding, rafting or canoeing, but if you can stretch an extra day I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Rio Sagrado for 3 nights while visiting the Sacred Valley. This was one of the loveliest places we've ever stayed, and our favorite hotel of the entire trip.

Our room was a suite, with a separate sitting area, and it's own bath. Yes, that's true...there was a full bathroom with shower in the bedroom, and a half bathroom in the sitting area. 2 bathrooms! The bedroom was large and comfortable with picture windows overlooking the river. It's lovely that the hotel is situated on the river, and while we didn't take advantage of it, it was nice to be able to look out the window and see the llamas, the water, the beautiful trees...it's a lovely setting. The main bathroom was large and comfortable with plenty of hot water water. The towels were large and fluffy, and we appreciated the robes and slippers provided. The breakfast, included a nice buffet with fresh fruit, fresh breads and rolls, cereal, and yogurt, and you could order hot things as desired. We had omelets with cheese every morning (not sure why we got stuck in that rut, but it was great!) along with sausage and hot coffee. I believe they also were able to make latte's with soy milk.

We did a lot of hiking on our visit, and greatly appreciated the hot tub, although we did not take advantage of the other spa services that were available. We had our dinners at the hotel and found the food to be delicious and reasonably priced (at least from an American point of view :-)) Wine by the glass was delicious and also reasonable. We tried Peruvian wine whenever possible, and one of our favorites was Inkapalu Sauvignon Blanc, which easily rivaled a New Zealand Sauv Blanc. I wish I could find it at home! The menu was large enough but not overwhelming. And the serving staff was friendly and helpful.

When you arrive at the hotel your eyebrows may go up; it's a very simple local entrance, and you can't imagine that this lovely place will be there when the car stops. Its a very quiet location; I wish we'd spent more of our nights at Rio Sagrado, and would love to go back! It was truly a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We didn't see a lot of rooms, but we enjoyed ours overlooking the river. We were in room 104 (I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflydebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest,

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our recent trip to Peru was very special. Our stay at the Rio Sagrada in the beautiful Sacred Valley was fabulous. What a lovely property along the river. Our room was great, the staff warm and friendly, the food delicious, the gardens spectacular and the pet baby llamas adorable. Would love to return and highly recommend.

Nancy and David
Asheville, NC

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We started our holiday in the Sacred Valley and can imagine no better place than this to relax and acclimatise.Entrance in is a lovely surprise as you are not expercting it.The rooms, service and food are all top notch but the setting is the star of the show. Fauna and flora abound in the hotel grounds and by the river and it's just a lovely setting to come back to after a day out exploring. Talking of which, we would recommend seeing the valley on horse back from the hotel as you get closer look at local life and the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC7104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I must confess that upon arrival we were somehow upgraded to Villa Orquidea, the largest villa on the property. This is in my top 5 hotel stays. Our villa was 3 stories and has 3 bedrooms and full baths, a small kitchen (I'm sure you're not planning to cook), a large living room with fireplace and two dining room areas. Way too much space for 2 people. The master on the top floor has giant windows that show off a gorgeous view of the mountainside and river running past the property.

The staff is here to please you. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. We took the train to Aguas Calientes at the end of our stay, and the train tracks are literally in front of the hotel.

Only a couple of cons, while the food was great, I can see how there may not be enough options on the menu if you stay for a week. I also had some trouble booking our train tickets through the hotel. I had asked them to book the train tickets before I left for Peru. It took a few reminders, but in the end it was taken care of. And finally, not really a problem for me, but the grounds have many steep hills. They can take you to your villa and around the property in a golf cart if you need the assistance.

It was an absolutely wonderful stay and would highly recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIVS2TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Hotel receive a warm welcome and our thanks for the comments shared.

We are delighted to know that your stay at our hotel has met your expectations.

We value your comments, which encourage us to keep working every day to better our service.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
0.5 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
17.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
1.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Property: Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing