We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A cluster of stone and ceramic roof tile villas down a slope on to the border of the Urubamaba river. A very nice architectural project sorrounded by a huge lawn and flower garden.
Every room faces the garden with a terrace and garden furniture.
We reserved a junior suite which was of good size, very comfortable bed and stunning bathroom with a shower cabin definitly original facing the garden.
Maybe the lack of TV is a little bit weird in the year 2013.
The restaurant has an exceptional chef and menu with a blend of international and local dishes. Buffet breakfast up to 5 star standards.
The pool in the middle of the garden ( heated ) and the spa both top class.
A special comment regarding the staff : All the staff we met, from recepction at the Cusco airport to the breakfast guy were specially kind and well trained. This did for our vacation as much as the beauty of the Orient Express property.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were thrilled with our stay at the Rio Sagrado. Every detail from the room to the property to the spa to the service was fantastic. The experience was an absolute victory for our vacation.

The hotel itself is beautiful. We had a room that looked out on the river. We were able to sit out and listen to the river. It was remarkable. The room was great. The bed was huge and comfortable. The stylings were all top-notch. The bathroom was modern, but lacked a bathtub. The rooms do not have televisions but they will bring one and a DVD player to your room if you ask. We didn't have a need for the TV anyway.

The hotel offers a breakfast. We ate there two mornings and were pleased with both the yogurt and fruit bar as well as the menu ordering. We ended up staying with yogurt and honey both days, but the option to eat something more substantial was there.

Se ordered room service both nights as we arrived rather late from our outings. The service was prompt and cordial. The food was decent to good. We tried the ceviche, which was ok, The chicken chili was decent. The braised ribs were quite good. The urumbamba pasta was good. The desserts were all tasty.

We did a spa day as well. There is an indoor/outdoor jacuzzi that we used two nights. The spa itself has locker rooms, an Inca shower, and a steam room. We also had massages. Honestly, this was the best massage I have ever had, and I actually fell asleep on the table. That was a first for me.

The hotel service was outstanding. The woman working the front helped us change out train tickets to pick up at a different spot. She also made sure our bags got delivered to our next hotel despite it not being an Orient Express property. She was extremely helpful, very knowledgeable, and quite friendly.

Our experience was over the top positive on this hotel. We were absolutely happy to have stayed here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but the higher number rooms are further down the river and have a better...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was a jaw-dropping experience to walk through the entry gate and look out onto the Urubamba River, what a surprise! The natural beauty of the property is breathtaking, filled with an assortment of colorful flowers and fragrant flowering trees. In the opposite direction from the river, there was a view of a snow capped mountain. We originally planned to stay just one night before heading off to Machu Picchu but changed our itinerary so we could spend and additional 2 nights at the property before leaving the Sacred Valley. It was a magical place to spend my 60th birthday. I loved the restaurant. The servers were most attentive and informative, and the Peruvian cuisine superb! I mentioned that I was on a gluten-free diet and at each meal I was presented with delicious, freshly baked items made from corn or quinoa. I was even surprised with a yummy gluten-free birthday dessert/cake! Our Jr. Suites were lovely, plenty of room with private gardens looking out towards the river, where we spotted an emerald green swallow-tailed hummingbird feeding off the fuchsias. The room was decorated with exquisite handcrafts in an elegant, understated manner. We loved the rain shower in the bathroom with a clear glass roof in the shower area enabling one to look out toward the mountain, bringing the outside indoors. A trip to the spa for a hot stone massage was certainly the best way to end a day of hiking. Our stay at Rio Sagrado was a feast for the senses, absolutely our favorite hotel!

Room Tip: If you choose a room from the middle of the property you will have a panoramic view of the river.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel was one of several booked for us by an excellent travel company as part of a private tour. We had a superb De Luxe room with twin full size beds for the one night stay. The layout and room amenities are excellent; tea & coffee making facilities at last! No tv though, probably due to the lack of reception in the valley.The wet room in this garden level room is a bit spooky. The wall facing the gardens is etched glass and has heavy shrubs immediately outside to save your modesty. In addition, the clear glass roof over the wet room seemed very close to the balcony accesses to the rooms above. I hope I gave a good show anyway! The grounds are superbly laid out by the fast flowing river banks, making for a tranquil setting except for the rush of the river. Once again, though, the midges made sitting out a battle, even when using oodles of spray. Dinner was very good. We rejected the barbeque fixed menu offered that night in favour of the a la carte to increase the choice. All in all, probably the best hotel of our trip despite not having time to indulge the range of facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a fantastic place to stay.
The staff were excellent, the service impeccable, but the ambience in the gardens overlooking the river was the so serene and peaceful that we could have sat for hours just soaking up the atmosphere.
If you a culinary connoisseur you may be slightly disappointed by the food, but remember this is Urabamba not New York, London or Paris so for the region I think they did very well.
We didn't have time to utilize their activities - horse riding, rafting or canoeing, but if you can stretch an extra day I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Rio Sagrado for 3 nights while visiting the Sacred Valley. This was one of the loveliest places we've ever stayed, and our favorite hotel of the entire trip.

Our room was a suite, with a separate sitting area, and it's own bath. Yes, that's true...there was a full bathroom with shower in the bedroom, and a half bathroom in the sitting area. 2 bathrooms! The bedroom was large and comfortable with picture windows overlooking the river. It's lovely that the hotel is situated on the river, and while we didn't take advantage of it, it was nice to be able to look out the window and see the llamas, the water, the beautiful trees...it's a lovely setting. The main bathroom was large and comfortable with plenty of hot water water. The towels were large and fluffy, and we appreciated the robes and slippers provided. The breakfast, included a nice buffet with fresh fruit, fresh breads and rolls, cereal, and yogurt, and you could order hot things as desired. We had omelets with cheese every morning (not sure why we got stuck in that rut, but it was great!) along with sausage and hot coffee. I believe they also were able to make latte's with soy milk.

We did a lot of hiking on our visit, and greatly appreciated the hot tub, although we did not take advantage of the other spa services that were available. We had our dinners at the hotel and found the food to be delicious and reasonably priced (at least from an American point of view :-)) Wine by the glass was delicious and also reasonable. We tried Peruvian wine whenever possible, and one of our favorites was Inkapalu Sauvignon Blanc, which easily rivaled a New Zealand Sauv Blanc. I wish I could find it at home! The menu was large enough but not overwhelming. And the serving staff was friendly and helpful.

When you arrive at the hotel your eyebrows may go up; it's a very simple local entrance, and you can't imagine that this lovely place will be there when the car stops. Its a very quiet location; I wish we'd spent more of our nights at Rio Sagrado, and would love to go back! It was truly a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We didn't see a lot of rooms, but we enjoyed ours overlooking the river. We were in room 104 (I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonflydebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest,

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our recent trip to Peru was very special. Our stay at the Rio Sagrada in the beautiful Sacred Valley was fabulous. What a lovely property along the river. Our room was great, the staff warm and friendly, the food delicious, the gardens spectacular and the pet baby llamas adorable. Would love to return and highly recommend.

Nancy and David
Asheville, NC

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

If you have any suggestion or comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
19.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £161 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing