We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Truly amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The second I stepped into the hotel complex I was amazed at how beautiful this hotel is. The rooms are even more so. The complimentary spa and hot tub were a nice touch to the already excellent experience. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going through the Sacred Valley of the Incas on your trip in Peru and to Machu Picchu.

The hotel is clearly geared towards couples though so I would not recommend bringing kids. Solo travel fine as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneralShamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    74
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
141
400
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuzco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Super place in the Sacred Valley. Beautiful and relaxing spot. People working there couldn't do enough for you. Rooms where spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms luxurious. View of the Sagrado river were special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in the Rio Sagrado to visit the Sacred Valley. It is the perfect position to make daytrips and to relax after these trips. The rooms are large with super beds. The bathroom/warbrobe is a bit small.
The restaurant is amazing. Overall we had a splendid stay and hope to come back in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kika67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Two nights were not enough! Everything from the spacious rooms, exquisite landscaping and the views were fabulous. Both the their restaurant and spa gained extra points. The location provides easy access to MP and day trips to the neighboring sites ...all this while taking the time to truly enjoy your stay. This is a peaceful resort that doesn't let you down.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

A cluster of stone and ceramic roof tile villas down a slope on to the border of the Urubamaba river. A very nice architectural project sorrounded by a huge lawn and flower garden.
Every room faces the garden with a terrace and garden furniture.
We reserved a junior suite which was of good size, very comfortable bed and stunning bathroom with a shower cabin definitly original facing the garden.
Maybe the lack of TV is a little bit weird in the year 2013.
The restaurant has an exceptional chef and menu with a blend of international and local dishes. Buffet breakfast up to 5 star standards.
The pool in the middle of the garden ( heated ) and the spa both top class.
A special comment regarding the staff : All the staff we met, from recepction at the Cusco airport to the breakfast guy were specially kind and well trained. This did for our vacation as much as the beauty of the Orient Express property.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA (Bay Area)
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were thrilled with our stay at the Rio Sagrado. Every detail from the room to the property to the spa to the service was fantastic. The experience was an absolute victory for our vacation.

The hotel itself is beautiful. We had a room that looked out on the river. We were able to sit out and listen to the river. It was remarkable. The room was great. The bed was huge and comfortable. The stylings were all top-notch. The bathroom was modern, but lacked a bathtub. The rooms do not have televisions but they will bring one and a DVD player to your room if you ask. We didn't have a need for the TV anyway.

The hotel offers a breakfast. We ate there two mornings and were pleased with both the yogurt and fruit bar as well as the menu ordering. We ended up staying with yogurt and honey both days, but the option to eat something more substantial was there.

Se ordered room service both nights as we arrived rather late from our outings. The service was prompt and cordial. The food was decent to good. We tried the ceviche, which was ok, The chicken chili was decent. The braised ribs were quite good. The urumbamba pasta was good. The desserts were all tasty.

We did a spa day as well. There is an indoor/outdoor jacuzzi that we used two nights. The spa itself has locker rooms, an Inca shower, and a steam room. We also had massages. Honestly, this was the best massage I have ever had, and I actually fell asleep on the table. That was a first for me.

The hotel service was outstanding. The woman working the front helped us change out train tickets to pick up at a different spot. She also made sure our bags got delivered to our next hotel despite it not being an Orient Express property. She was extremely helpful, very knowledgeable, and quite friendly.

Our experience was over the top positive on this hotel. We were absolutely happy to have stayed here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but the higher number rooms are further down the river and have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was a jaw-dropping experience to walk through the entry gate and look out onto the Urubamba River, what a surprise! The natural beauty of the property is breathtaking, filled with an assortment of colorful flowers and fragrant flowering trees. In the opposite direction from the river, there was a view of a snow capped mountain. We originally planned to stay just one night before heading off to Machu Picchu but changed our itinerary so we could spend and additional 2 nights at the property before leaving the Sacred Valley. It was a magical place to spend my 60th birthday. I loved the restaurant. The servers were most attentive and informative, and the Peruvian cuisine superb! I mentioned that I was on a gluten-free diet and at each meal I was presented with delicious, freshly baked items made from corn or quinoa. I was even surprised with a yummy gluten-free birthday dessert/cake! Our Jr. Suites were lovely, plenty of room with private gardens looking out towards the river, where we spotted an emerald green swallow-tailed hummingbird feeding off the fuchsias. The room was decorated with exquisite handcrafts in an elegant, understated manner. We loved the rain shower in the bathroom with a clear glass roof in the shower area enabling one to look out toward the mountain, bringing the outside indoors. A trip to the spa for a hot stone massage was certainly the best way to end a day of hiking. Our stay at Rio Sagrado was a feast for the senses, absolutely our favorite hotel!

Room Tip: If you choose a room from the middle of the property you will have a panoramic view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.


Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
0.5 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
17.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
1.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Property: Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing