We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Magical....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed 2 fantastic nights at this special property.
The hotel is set in a very magical setting. The outdoor heated pool was a treat as was the outdoor jacuzzi. We also enjoyed feeding the al pacas.

We were very pleased that the Vistadome train to Machu Picchu stopped at the property. The service was fantastic all around....
This property is ideal for touring around the Sacred Valley.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Rio Sagrado Hotel with others.
We are glad to read that our product meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    75
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
144
406
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West orange , NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

5 stars hotel in a very romantic and relaxing place, this hotel is part of the Orient Express and we stayed there on our way to AguasCalients, Machu Pichu, we have no words to explain this place as we fell in love with it. The bathroom has no curtains but no need and you feel like you were taking a shower outside the room, in one word: AMAZING and will comeback

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliperdigao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Rio Sagrado Hotel with others.
We are glad to read that our product meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel Rio Sagrado

Perhaps surprisingly this was our favourite hotel out of the orient express portfolio. While when planning this trip we hadn’t immediately thought of staying in the sacred valley we were very glad that we did and very glad that we stayed at this lovely hotel. We felt it was a shame that we only had two nights here and would very much recommend staying a bit longer. The hotel rooms themselves are lovely overlooking gardens Down to the river and the hills beyond. Large ceiling to floor Glass Doors give an excellent view and it made a nice change for there to be no TV in the rooms.

When we arrived in the evening – there was wonderful hot-water bottle in the bed in a ‘lamb’ alpaca cover – needless to say it work and we purchased two!

The restaurant and the restaurant staff were absolutely excellent and this Hotel provided some of the best food we had on our trip. It reminded us slightly of a Japanese Ryokan we had stayed in some years previously when the focus was on the relaxation and rest.

The gardens were very well-kept with a large display of flowers and bushes, the alpaca in the grounds were particularly cute. From this location one of us enjoyed some horse riding and we visited a number of small market towns and had a very good lunch in a hacienda.

Please read my other trip advisor reviews of this trip: Hotel B Arts in Lima, the Hiram Bingham train, the Palacio Nazarenas and the Hotel Rio Sagrado.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Rio Sagrado Hotel with others.
We are glad to read that our product meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Situated on the bank of Rio Sagrado, the property is ideally suited for a relaxing, romantic getaway. Although the room decor falls short of proffering a thematic element the furnishings are comfortable and the floor plans are generous. The service is outstanding and we look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Rio Sagrado Hotel with others.
We are glad to read that our product meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in unit # 8, views were panoramic and beautiful! A truly mystical experience, surrounded by lush grass grounds, vibrant flowers, talking river currents and hovering humming birds.

The peace, serenity and incredible beauty of this place along with caring and attentive staff service is what created a Shagri-La type experience.

We definitely plan to return....

Room Tip: Ceviche bite served on spoons at Rio Sagrado restaurant is A MUST TRY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Rio Sagrado Hotel with others.
We are glad to read that our product meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This would be our second trip to Urubamba in two years, but unlike our first visit, which was filled with adventure activities, we wanted to simply relax and rejuvenate before picking up the pace for the next segments of our trip.

Rio Sagrado would prove to be the perfect choice. Patricia Pinillos, the General Manager and Julia Vizcarra, Guest Experience Manager, were old friends from one of our previous visits to the O-E Miraflores Park in Lima. It was great to see both ladies and share a few "Peruvian moments" reflecting on past shared experiences.
.
Upon arrival, we were soon escorted to Garden Junior Suite #19. The simplicity of these suites offer no distractions from the natural and unobstructed views of the rushing Urubamba River and rugged peaks rising in the background. No televisions to interfere with the pleasures afforded by the spacious deck, the flowers, the active morning birds life and the solitude of the surroundings.

The suite was tastefully furnished utilizing modern light wood finishes and bright colors. The huge bathroom included a spacious shower area featuring a glassed enclosed outdoor/indoor feeling. The heated floors were a pleasant addition to our feet every morning.

Guests often arrive at Rio Sagrado and soon head out to Machu Picchu, Ollantaytambo, Maras (the salt ponds), Moray, the markets at Chinchero and Pisca as well as a variety of other interesting excursions. Having done these previously, we elected to remain at the property and soak up the seclusion. A good decision for us. We did take morning walks outside the gates, but mostly we enjoyed:

Sleeping late,

Relaxing breakfasts

Participating in a delightful and private cooking demonstration - Quinoa salad and a vegetarian cerviche, using Mote and mushrooms (we can make this back at home).

A private Pisco tasting and mixology experience at El Bar Del Huerto -[n.b. the Click image for larger version. Pisco Sour should be vigorously shaken about ten times (Ian Fleming would have approved), not stirred nor mixed in a blender]. We sampled eight types of the distilled spirit, accompanied by selection of appetizers and listened to a narrative history on the origins of Pisco and the ongoing argument between Peru and Chile as to it's true origins.***

Morning formula bottle feedings to the baby alpacas.

Soaking in the Jacuzzi at the Mayu Wilka spa and indulging in several couples massages.

Lunch at El Jardin (the terrace) overlooking the river

Late dinners at Huerto Restaurant, graciously paced to ensure the evenings were long-to-be-remembered dining experiences.

A trip to Urubamba would not be complete without lunch at Restaurante El Huacatay. Chef Pio his German wife, Iris and his children always seem to be present at this not-to-be-missed dining
experience. It's a good idea to have someone from the hotel to call ahead and make a reservation (we like to remind them we are vegetarians - never a problem), since the demand now seems to far exceed capacity.

Rio Sagrado is a perfect staging area for Sacred Valley explorations and adventures and the rail siding doubles as the terminus (wet season) for those wishing to take the Hiram Bingham to Machu Picchu.

However, for us on this visit, Rio Sagrado was the perfect place to decompress and experience the magic of this magnificent valley, while anticipating the next phases of our return to Peru.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and reserve a Garden Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omegaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear omegaet ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a comment through the Trip advisor website and your blog.

We were truly delighted to see you again as a Rio Sagrado´s guest. It feels like family visiting to us. Whats more, it is heartwarming to learn that we exceeded your high expectations from our staff, with their efficient personalized service level.

As you know our goal is to offer you the very highest standard of comfort and service with all the uniques details remarked. It’s a pleasure read about your feelings with the service of our staff and, obviously, your comments about the product in general. Please keep making the Peruvian dishes back home, so you will become a master chef!


We thank you again for your preference and we look forward to welcome you in the near future here in Cusco again or in Lima. Until then, we remain at your service.


Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is the most outstanding hotel I think we have ever stayed in, Room 6 with its fabulous views, the most powerful shower I have ever come across that looks out towards the mountain, a superbly comfortable bed that also looks out towards the mountain and sheets to die for!
Each room is set on its own so that you feel as though you are on your own - just listening to the birds and river.
Could stay here for weeks....
Also enjoyed a wonderful massage given by Abigail and woke up this morning with no pain in my back - for the first time in months!
Very sad to leave.....but catching the train to Machu Picchu... A train station is actually at the hotel.
Perfect!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank corkcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Rio Sagrado Hotel with others.
We are glad to read that our product meet your expectations. Our location is the hotel selling point. As you say each room offer an unique experience with its own river view.
At this time of the year the Hiram Binghan train departs from the hotel, this is a plus value for all our guest.

Please know that we will share your comments with our Mayu Wilka Spa team, we are proud of Abigail´s work.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
19.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
0.9 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Property: Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing