We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpacas and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Down a lane beside the railway track and into a parking lot and then through some gates into a garden oasis of tranquility.

Fast efficient check in and a short golf buggy ride to our room. (number 6)

First impression was wow what a great room with a lovely garden view down to the river plus three alpacas grazing on the lawn.
A sofa facing the balcony and view, tea & coffee facilities (although I had to ask for milk) a mini bar and sufficient storage space.
The bed needs sorting out as the head end is ever so slightly lower than the foot end and so we just slept the other way around as things like that really effect me.
However we had a peaceful comfortable nights sleep and awoke to the gurgling sounds of the river and many birds. So much better than city hotels with sirens and traffic.
No tv in the room but reception can provide one if required. However we did not come to watch tv, so not a problem for us.
Free wifi in the rooms.

The very modern bathroom had a heated floor and good cosmetics but went downhill from there.
The huge shower was big enough to hose several alpacas in and it had a view over the garden too, but unfortunately was one of those fixed head types so loved by Americans rather than on a flexible hose.
A relaxing bath would have been so much better, especially as this hotel is all about tranquility and relaxation.
The taps over the sink did not stick out enough, so every time you used them the surrounding area got wet.
There was a 'designer gap' between the wall and the sink surround which made loosing your toothbrush etc into it and through to the floor easy.
No extractor fan to take away the smells.

The free room safe, which was strangely positioned in the bathroom was easy to use and easily held and iPad or two plus has a socket inside for charging phones or iPads etc whilst locked away. How marvellous is that?

Maybe I am being fussy but all these little things add up and funky looking design is absolutely no excuse for poor design.


We had dinner at the hotel but to be honest, had difficulty finding anything on the menu we fancied eating. In the end no starters were ordered and a main of spaghetti bolognese was just ok but the mushroom noodles were fabulous so all was not lost.
The bread before hand was good.
The chocolate dessert was enjoyed by my partner but was not to my taste.
Poor choice of tea afterwards. No earl grey!

Breakfast buffet consisted of a huge choice of breads and local cereals, hot food to order.
But again not finding much we wanted.
Service friendly and welcoming but things like milk for the tea was forgotten.
The view of the immaculate garden and mountains almost made up for the shortfalls.

We got to feed the alpacas later with milk from a baby bottle, maybe that's where all the milk goes?

We enjoyed using the heated outdoor pool and the hot tubs in the spa.
The steam room was not hot enough for us, it probably needed to more time to get going.

In conclusion:
As the hotel is rated 5 stars it needs to be judged accordingly.
Overall the hotel did not quite live up to expectations.
Everything looked 'Wow' but many things in the room should have had a lot more thought in the design stage.
Bar did not feel welcoming and the bar itself blocked the great view!
The food choice needs attention as there are no other options close to the hotel.
Service not as professional as it should be for a 5 star establishment.

However if you want peace and tranquility with nothing to do, this hotel hits the spot.
Despite my observations our stay was enjoyable and revitalising but could have been so much better.
It was a pleasure to stroll in the grounds and did I mention the friendly alpacas?

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath, if they have?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado is like a hidden paradise with a lot of details and facilities to offer to our guest.

Again thank you and please do not hesitate to contact me when your holidays bring you to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a lovely, nearly new hotel on the outskirts of Urubamba. Only downside is that it's not near the town for walking and exploring. Many upsides, tho, and we would stay there again. There is fiber optic internet access which is amazing, my massage at the spa was perfect, the views of the river and mountains from our balcony and room were to be remembered, the food delicious, and the staff friendly & professional. Oh yes, our shower had a glass roof & side wall overlooking the mountains & river -- with a lovely plant outside the side window grown to chest height for perfect privacy. The Vista Dome stops at the hotel if you're taking that to Machu Picchu, saving an very early morning pick-up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anewadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Please do not hesitate to contact me when your holidays bring you to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This place sits next to a running river, a backdrop of mountains and surrounded by glorious gardens, however, it's in the middle of nowhere and a car/taxi is vital to get around sites and towns. The rooms are luxurious with spectacular views and I can recommend the restaurant. We had top service, the waitstaff were attentive and happy to please. Wish I lived closer so I could visit every year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This lovely intimate hotel is an oasis of luxury and beauty in the Sacred Valley. Our room (and I assume all of the rooms) are constructed in such a way that you see no other rooms from the window and balcony -- just a magnificent view of the river, mountains, and lawn (with three resident alpacas). The bathroom was spacious, with a glass shower overlooking gorgeous scenery (with vines at the appropriate height for total privacy). We stayed for three nights, having a wonderful breakfast that was included with the room price (buffet supplementing by a choice of other specially prepared food, including pancakes and eggs) and a very good dinner (including an amuse-bouche and little cookies at the end). We splurged on a reasonably priced massage. There are steps to get to the rooms, restaurant, spa, and (heated) pool, so it would not be a good choice for people with mobility issues. Before staying at the hotel, I noticed a tripadvisor review that complained about bugs, but we did not experience anything more than a single moth.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and please do not hesitate to contact me when your holidays bring you to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a hotel you have to visit because of the whole vista. The mountains and the river running through the gardens which are full of the most wonderful flowers and then just to cap it all, there are the alpacas gently grazing. The swimming pool was excellent and we loved being taken to our room by golf cart !

Room Tip: Don't forget to ring reception for the golf cart to take you back up as it is a long walk if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado.
We truly appreciate your comments and we concur that we have a privileged location in front of this ancient Vilcanota River. The Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado is like a hidden paradise with a lot of details and facilities to offer to our guest.

Again thank you and please do not hesitate to contact me when your holidays bring you to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very kind personnel, beautiful grounds by the river. You can see llamas and alpacas in the gardens. Hotel scent in room is nice and fresh and the beds comfortable and extremely clean. The perfect retreat. I spent there my birthday, which they made it very special, a mini cake to cheers my morning was a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such candid feedback for your recent stay at the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado at the Sacred Valley.

We are delighted to know that you have experienced an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff, in anticipation of your birthday aniversary, went above and beyond the details to make the most memorable one. We hope you come back to the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado l to celebrate another special occasion.

We will look forward to having you stay with us again and remain at your service.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place looks as though it stepped straight out of Coffee Table book of beautiful hotels
Probably the most stunning building we have ever stayed at.
The Architecture alone makes it worth a short break at this hotel
We drove straight there from Cusco to give ourselves a couple of days to acclimatise to the altitude and were very happy we did.
We sat by the fire and relaxed wandered the grounds by the river, dined in the evening in a beautiful room with excellent live music, pre dinner drinks in the most amazing bar area.
The hotel stored our luggage for us for a few days with a minimum of fuss.
Probably only small negative was that for some reason on the second day (I think probably because it was a little quiet ) the breakfast buffet selection was a lot less than the previous day, but given that you still could order a nice selection of cooked food if you wished.
The rooms are very spacious with very modern bathrooms and windows that can be opened up for the lovely fresh air.
The hotel also has a spa and a stunning indoor outdoor heated pool all once again built into this amazing building.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisbanetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such candid feedback for your recent stay at the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado.

We truly appreciate your feedback, this is the best way we can improve ourselves. In regards of the breakfast on you second day of stay, we already took action with our cheff in order to avoid this situation in the short future.

We concur that our location is fantastic with stunning river views and surrounded by nature at all. As well we are delighted that our Mayu Wilka Spa, El Huerto Restaurant have cautivated you.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
207 reviews
7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £204 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing