We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
771
96
23
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
96
23
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby alpacas the river indoor outdoor jacuzzi machu picchu sacred valley pisco tasting the hiram bingham train junior suite steam room golf cart beautiful location wonderful hotel the general manager private garden stayed nights fire pit relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It was the most amazing and peaceful hotel with all the luxury of beauty and comfort. My son and I had a garden terrace room which overlooked the amazing grounds, surrounded by beautiful mountains and in view of the churning Urubamba river. I would sit and stare each morning to breathe in all the natural elements in the midst of this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. On a cool evening we returned after a long day and found a bed warmer under the sheets that just made my insides tingle. The staff also left us petite pastries that were totally decadent. In the morning my niece and I went to the Llama feeding and was able to give them a bottle. It was adorable. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast and was once again mesmerized by the natural beauty as we enjoyed fresh fruits and coffee. Later we went swimming in the infinity pool. It felt strangely surreal as we swam with all the natural elements surrounding us in this amazing valley. The staff was gracious and courteous and I would most definitely recommend visiting on your way to Machu Picchu. The only downside was the mountain bike trail my niece and her father took. It was a bit expensive and if not a experienced mountain biker it could be dangerous as they rolled down steep hills with boulders in their path.

Room Tip: The garden terraces are so lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank helfish38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with others in TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences for you.

Concerning the mountain bike tour, I regret to read that they rolled down since we all are aware that this is an adventure activity where we have to be very careful.

Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado will always be your home away from home.
Receive our greetings from this magical spot of the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We chose the Rio Sagrado after a long search and were very happy with our choice
The location was perfect for all of our day tours.
The heated pool was refreshing after a long day of touring.
The massages were excellent. The food was excellent and the service too.
We wanted a smaller place that was not "touristy". There are a few very large resorts which might be what you're looking for( No TV in your room) but if you want a relaxed atmosphere with great amenities and service, this is the place. We even felt fine taking a 45 min walk into Urabamba by the back road.
I look forward to staying at other Belmond Properties in the future!

Room Tip: We were in room #1. Great location to the spa, pool, reception and up from the restaurant. The rain shower that had a full glass exposure was perfect for privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you for taking the time to share this positive and rewarding feedback.
It was a pleasure having you with us and specially that we did our best to make your stay memorable. You did describe the hotel as it is.

We were especially proud that you appreciated the many special touches that we do to personalize and care for our guests. We pride ourselves in providing exemplary services.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your future visit to any Belmond Hotel: patricia.pinillos@belmond.com.

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I recently stayed here during a trip to the Sacred Valley. The suites were huge, and had a wonderful view of the river, mountains and flora. The staff went out of their way to please especially Valeria who brought us blankets on an evening while we sat and had cocktails next to the open fire and joked with our daughter making us feel very welcome. My daughter loved feeding the baby alpacas on a morning. The breakfast buffet featured a variety of food and you can also order off the menu, and the restaurant offered local specialty dishes that we very much enjoyed Alpaca and Coy were our favorites! The hotel arranged a driver and guide for us and we had a spectacular and full day with Franklin and Wilbur showing us all the sites (some off the normal tourist path) of the Sacred Valley. The hotel was expensive but the overall experience was un believable.

Room Tip: Suites have private gardens
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brittexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley.

Our goal is to offer you the very highest standard of comfort and service and you help us to achieve it with your comments. It is a pleasure to read about your feelings with the service of our staff and, obviously, your comments about the product in general.

Feeding the baby alpacas is an activity that your daughter will never forget.

We thank you again for your preference and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A really nice setting, spacious rooms, gorgeous surroundings and almost impeccable service.

The downside:
-There was maintenance work on the hot tubs on a Friday, one would guess this type of repairs would be done on a low occupancy day but not.
-The service on the spa zone was far from polite; there was this woman who seem upset of us being there, threw some towels in our chairs and didn't refill the complimentary water or coffee service.

The upside:
-Service and attentiveness from concierge Valeria was outstanding. We made this trip on a last minute, and she managed to get us train tickets, transportation, train tickets, late check out (even though we didn't make the reservation through Amex platinum). We really hope she makes manager soon (we never saw the manager around as it is customary in these type of 'upscale' resorts). Our kudos to her, since she has a true service attitude and patience (we couldn't do it ourselves)
-Food preparation and portions were fine. We dined the barbecue menu; the chicken and the alpaca were incredible

Overall it is a really fine hotel, but there are a few details missing for it to be impeccable as it is supposed to be for the segment. My rating 4.5

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your comments and feedback.

I sincerely apologize that we fell short in respect to quality of service at the Mayu Wilka Spa, this is unusual. Please rest assured that my leadership team and I have discussed this service lapse and will ensure greater reliability to prevent further such guest dissatisfaction.

I have shared your wonderful comments and especial recognition of Ms. Valeria Diestro - Front Desk Supervisor, for going above and beyond, with my colleagues and all the staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to return: patricia.pinillos@belmond.com. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

this hotel is located right next to the Urubamba River in the Sacred Valley. With that being said, it is magnificent, and it is our favorite hotel for our entire trip. we stayed in the Junior Garden Suite. We loved the space! Surprise, surprise, we Texans just love big things! :) The room was clean, service was standard for hotel of such caliber, and food was quite good. We enjoyed mostly the view of the mountains and river. We had dinner in the terrace. It was cold sitting outside but the very nice female staff lit the fire pit for us. The hotel provided throws so guests can keep themselves warm if needed. The alcohol we consumed also helped warmed us up as well. Although we were much younger than the other guests who were staying at the hotel, we like to be surrounded by more mature, quiet, cordial, respectful people. Needless to say, we were very sad to leave the property the following morning.

Room Tip: Garden Suite is perfect for a couple!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julu112005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review regarding your stay at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. This type of regular feedback from our guests is very helpful, so I personally read every review posted online.

We were truly delighted that you had enjoyed our Junior Suite accommodation and that our staff were extremely friendly; they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We receive different types of guest, the main purpose is that all of them can relax and enjoy nature.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews