We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything was just perfect... great welcome, room, restuarant... Congratulations!!!
We went to the SPA and enjoyed the great treat of the personnel.
The place is gorgeous, they have beautiful garden and it is very convenient to visit the great surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose Ignacio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your post and for choosing Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

I am very glad that you enjoyed all our outlets, especially the calm garden surroundings.

Best regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

It was the most amazing and peaceful hotel with all the luxury of beauty and comfort. My son and I had a garden terrace room which overlooked the amazing grounds, surrounded by beautiful mountains and in view of the churning Urubamba river. I would sit and stare each morning to breathe in all the natural elements in the midst of this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. On a cool evening we returned after a long day and found a bed warmer under the sheets that just made my insides tingle. The staff also left us petite pastries that were totally decadent. In the morning my niece and I went to the Llama feeding and was able to give them a bottle. It was adorable. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast and was once again mesmerized by the natural beauty as we enjoyed fresh fruits and coffee. Later we went swimming in the infinity pool. It felt strangely surreal as we swam with all the natural elements surrounding us in this amazing valley. The staff was gracious and courteous and I would most definitely recommend visiting on your way to Machu Picchu. The only downside was the mountain bike trail my niece and her father took. It was a bit expensive and if not a experienced mountain biker it could be dangerous as they rolled down steep hills with boulders in their path.

Room Tip: The garden terraces are so lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank helfish38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with others in TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences for you.

Concerning the mountain bike tour, I regret to read that they rolled down since we all are aware that this is an adventure activity where we have to be very careful.

Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado will always be your home away from home.
Receive our greetings from this magical spot of the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We chose the Rio Sagrado after a long search and were very happy with our choice
The location was perfect for all of our day tours.
The heated pool was refreshing after a long day of touring.
The massages were excellent. The food was excellent and the service too.
We wanted a smaller place that was not "touristy". There are a few very large resorts which might be what you're looking for( No TV in your room) but if you want a relaxed atmosphere with great amenities and service, this is the place. We even felt fine taking a 45 min walk into Urabamba by the back road.
I look forward to staying at other Belmond Properties in the future!

Room Tip: We were in room #1. Great location to the spa, pool, reception and up from the restaurant. The rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you for taking the time to share this positive and rewarding feedback.
It was a pleasure having you with us and specially that we did our best to make your stay memorable. You did describe the hotel as it is.

We were especially proud that you appreciated the many special touches that we do to personalize and care for our guests. We pride ourselves in providing exemplary services.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your future visit to any Belmond Hotel: patricia.pinillos@belmond.com.

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I recently stayed here during a trip to the Sacred Valley. The suites were huge, and had a wonderful view of the river, mountains and flora. The staff went out of their way to please especially Valeria who brought us blankets on an evening while we sat and had cocktails next to the open fire and joked with our daughter making us feel very welcome. My daughter loved feeding the baby alpacas on a morning. The breakfast buffet featured a variety of food and you can also order off the menu, and the restaurant offered local specialty dishes that we very much enjoyed Alpaca and Coy were our favorites! The hotel arranged a driver and guide for us and we had a spectacular and full day with Franklin and Wilbur showing us all the sites (some off the normal tourist path) of the Sacred Valley. The hotel was expensive but the overall experience was un believable.

Room Tip: Suites have private gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brittexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley.

Our goal is to offer you the very highest standard of comfort and service and you help us to achieve it with your comments. It is a pleasure to read about your feelings with the service of our staff and, obviously, your comments about the product in general.

Feeding the baby alpacas is an activity that your daughter will never forget.

We thank you again for your preference and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A really nice setting, spacious rooms, gorgeous surroundings and almost impeccable service.

The downside:
-There was maintenance work on the hot tubs on a Friday, one would guess this type of repairs would be done on a low occupancy day but not.
-The service on the spa zone was far from polite; there was this woman who seem upset of us being there, threw some towels in our chairs and didn't refill the complimentary water or coffee service.

The upside:
-Service and attentiveness from concierge Valeria was outstanding. We made this trip on a last minute, and she managed to get us train tickets, transportation, train tickets, late check out (even though we didn't make the reservation through Amex platinum). We really hope she makes manager soon (we never saw the manager around as it is customary in these type of 'upscale' resorts). Our kudos to her, since she has a true service attitude and patience (we couldn't do it ourselves)
-Food preparation and portions were fine. We dined the barbecue menu; the chicken and the alpaca were incredible

Overall it is a really fine hotel, but there are a few details missing for it to be impeccable as it is supposed to be for the segment. My rating 4.5

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your comments and feedback.

I sincerely apologize that we fell short in respect to quality of service at the Mayu Wilka Spa, this is unusual. Please rest assured that my leadership team and I have discussed this service lapse and will ensure greater reliability to prevent further such guest dissatisfaction.

I have shared your wonderful comments and especial recognition of Ms. Valeria Diestro - Front Desk Supervisor, for going above and beyond, with my colleagues and all the staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to return: patricia.pinillos@belmond.com. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

this hotel is located right next to the Urubamba River in the Sacred Valley. With that being said, it is magnificent, and it is our favorite hotel for our entire trip. we stayed in the Junior Garden Suite. We loved the space! Surprise, surprise, we Texans just love big things! :) The room was clean, service was standard for hotel of such caliber, and food was quite good. We enjoyed mostly the view of the mountains and river. We had dinner in the terrace. It was cold sitting outside but the very nice female staff lit the fire pit for us. The hotel provided throws so guests can keep themselves warm if needed. The alcohol we consumed also helped warmed us up as well. Although we were much younger than the other guests who were staying at the hotel, we like to be surrounded by more mature, quiet, cordial, respectful people. Needless to say, we were very sad to leave the property the following morning.

Room Tip: Garden Suite is perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julu112005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review regarding your stay at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. This type of regular feedback from our guests is very helpful, so I personally read every review posted online.

We were truly delighted that you had enjoyed our Junior Suite accommodation and that our staff were extremely friendly; they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We receive different types of guest, the main purpose is that all of them can relax and enjoy nature.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Belmond has a superb property in this hotel. The rooms are huge and very comfortable, with gracious patios overlooking the river. But travel agents may book this as a place to crash after trekking the Sacred Valley of the Incas. It is so much more than that!
The staff is professional and aims to please. The restaurant is first class, on a world standard. The spa is well-appointed, and I'm mad at myself for not booking a massage. The steam and hot tub may give you a chance to chill out and meet other guests.
Another way to relax is to sit on the patio and watch the llamas graze. Spend time here and put your feet up. They will need it after the fantastic touring you should do in this wonderful part of Peru. This is a special hotel.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a large group, they have rooms that can accommodate you. We were alone in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Richard R,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms overlooking the river.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
3.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
203 reviews
7.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
19.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: | Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £171 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sacred Valley of the Incas, among verdant fields and towering mountains, lies Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Set on the banks of the rushing Urubamba River, all rooms offer an incredible view. Situated at a lower altitude than nearby Cusco, the hotel provides the perfect environment in which to acclimatize. Enjoy nature and a range of activities available in order to slip into the spirit of Peruvian life. So relax in our spa and savour the very best of the local and international gastronomy in our hotel's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing