We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecoandina Hotel(Urubamba)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Willka Rumi(Urubamba)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inti Nan Hotel(Urubamba)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
710
87
19
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
87
19
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaby alpacasthe rivermachu picchubottle feedpisco tastingthe hiram bingham trainsacred valleyjunior suitesteam roomheated floorsgolf cartpeace and tranquilityoutdoor jacuzzibeautiful locationoverlooking the mountainswonderful hotelmassage at the spa
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The setting was lovely. The breakfast good. Dinner mediocre at best and slow. They cut off the water to our room when plumbers were fixing the plumbing in another room. When I asked the plumbers to turn it back on so I could shower, they answered that I could use it when they were done. I had to call the manager to complain, and then it was turned back on. This place is a work in progress. They were working on the driveway, so even the taxi drivers could not approach the hotel. It is in an isolated location, so they need activities there. But they charge multiples of what the charges are in town for renting a horse, and it is not their horse, they just organize it through someone in town. They charge a price for a family of four of $440/hour, and then you can only walk on the horse, no cantering or galloping. Same with kayaking and rafting --it is organized through someone in town and then they overcharge you for organizing it. They were never successful in organizing any activities for our family, so the only thing left to do is the spa (which is in fact lovely and reasonably priced). To grab a taxi from Ulluntaytamba costs 20 soles ($8). I asked them to organize a cab fro me to pick us up at the station and they said they would charge me $75 (ten times the actual price). Most good hotels provide the transfer service for free. Their staff really do not GET it when it comes to the quality of services expected of a top hotel. They charge top hotel prices, but the services are not to standard yet and yet they try to gouge clients with outrageous prices for additional services like taxis, horseback riding and rafting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment with the Trip Advisor community. We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the incident that you experienced in our property, concerning our staff, I am very proud to say that most reviews that we get refers to our staff friendly and very professional.

Concerning the cut off water, please rest assured that we already took actions to avoid any similar incident. In addition, the transportation rate that you mentioned of $75.00 is from the hotel to the Cusco´s airport, 1 hour and a half ride, it is not to the Urubamba Town.
Regarding our activities, we work whit the best adventures companies at the area and prices are on par with others hotels of the same high category.

Definitely this is not the image we will like our customer to take home and we will do everything to avoid the recurrence of incidents of this nature in the future. We hope to be able to have the chance to welcoming you and your family back to demonstrate our high level of service that you were expected.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was the perfect place to spend a few days upon arrival in the high Andes and before Machu Picchu! Such a lovely setting, the view from our balcony was just fabulous. Flowers everywhere, birds singing, the soft sounds of the Urubamba River...
Probably the best part was the kind and welcoming staff, who made sure we had everything we needed. Well run, beautiful food and setting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your Machu Picchu pre stay.
We appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff. We work hard to exceed your expectations. This is the paradise, with the nature sound surrounding your room.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you can come back to the Sacred Valley on the near future.

Sincerely,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we recently stayed at the Rio Sagrado before our trip to Machu Picchu. This hotel is located in a very picturesque region with views of the Urubamba river running through it. The staff here are very helpful, and the food in the restaurant is outstanding. At the spa, they have an indoor and outdoor heated jacuzzi , and the steam bath is one of the best I have ever used. They scent the room with some sort of peruvian palm leaves----and following the steam bath, the cold Inca shower is an experience. In the mornings, you can pat any of 3 lovely Llamas they have on the property, and there are ofter 2-3 local Peruvian women selling their lovely local arts and crafts outside the reception area. I would consider going back to the sacred valley just to stay at this place again.

Room Tip: the higher the location of the rooms, the better the view of the Urubamba river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank drkblim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Our goal is to offer you the very highest standard of comfort and service and you help us to achieve it with your comments. It is a pleasure to read about your feelings with the service of our staff and, obviously, your comments about the Mayu Wilka Spa that is well known for using in-house eucalyptus leaves at the steam room.

Please do not hesitate to contact me when your holidays bring you back to Cusco – Sacred Valley.

Cordially,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything was just perfect... great welcome, room, restuarant... Congratulations!!!
We went to the SPA and enjoyed the great treat of the personnel.
The place is gorgeous, they have beautiful garden and it is very convenient to visit the great surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose Ignacio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your post and for choosing Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley in Cusco.

I am very glad that you enjoyed all our outlets, especially the calm garden surroundings.

Best regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It was the most amazing and peaceful hotel with all the luxury of beauty and comfort. My son and I had a garden terrace room which overlooked the amazing grounds, surrounded by beautiful mountains and in view of the churning Urubamba river. I would sit and stare each morning to breathe in all the natural elements in the midst of this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. On a cool evening we returned after a long day and found a bed warmer under the sheets that just made my insides tingle. The staff also left us petite pastries that were totally decadent. In the morning my niece and I went to the Llama feeding and was able to give them a bottle. It was adorable. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast and was once again mesmerized by the natural beauty as we enjoyed fresh fruits and coffee. Later we went swimming in the infinity pool. It felt strangely surreal as we swam with all the natural elements surrounding us in this amazing valley. The staff was gracious and courteous and I would most definitely recommend visiting on your way to Machu Picchu. The only downside was the mountain bike trail my niece and her father took. It was a bit expensive and if not a experienced mountain biker it could be dangerous as they rolled down steep hills with boulders in their path.

Room Tip: The garden terraces are so lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank helfish38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with others in TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences for you.

Concerning the mountain bike tour, I regret to read that they rolled down since we all are aware that this is an adventure activity where we have to be very careful.

Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado will always be your home away from home.
Receive our greetings from this magical spot of the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews