We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inti Nan Hotel(Urubamba)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$571
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hacienda del Valle(Urubamba)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$62
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$369
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$307
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
698
87
19
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
87
19
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaby alpacasthe rivermachu picchubottle feedpisco tastingthe hiram bingham trainsacred valleyjunior suitesteam roomheated floorsgolf cartpeace and tranquilityoutdoor jacuzzibeautiful locationoverlooking the mountainswonderful hotelmassage at the spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This hotel has everything you could ever want out of a relaxing hotel, from the moment you walk in you dont have to lift a finger and the service is top class. The spa offers an outside jacuzzi wich provides a divine sence of relaxation. The huerto restorant is the perfect way to be introduced to peruvian cuisine, and even one of the owners of the otel at the time came to speak with us at the bar were we enjoyed the rio sagrado a drink original to the hotel. The expiriance was great and we realy recomend it, it is real relaxation without the comotion of big hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxtraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Having traveled much of the world, I can unequivocally tell you this is by the far the most exotic, comfortable and beautiful place I have ever 'laid head to a pillow". The place is set along the the banks of the roaring Rio Urubamba, the very same 'Sacred River'
than rings Machu Picchu further downstream. Tthe owner, who was delightful by the way, has done an incredible job of building a series of 2 and 4 room units evocative of an Incan citadel with endless stone walls and stairways leading to the many levels of manicured lawns of this hillside complex. But the best part is the overflowing flower gardens that literally blanket the place and make it seem so magical. Top it off with stunning views, innovative Andean cuisine, and unfailingly friendly and attentive staff, and I can truthfully say I still dream of revisiting this resort just about every day. Hummingbirds and butterflies abound and the owner achieved what he set out to do; provide modern, comfortable and spacious rooms to retire to at night, but a physical setting that beckons you to spend all day outside in the sun and wandering through the fantastic gardens. Oh, just so you know, there are no TVs here, and by God it would be sacrilege to have them in a place like this. Photos simply do not do this place justice!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmostGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

I had the good fortune to spend a night and have dinner at this beautiful hotel on my way up the sacred valley to the Inca Trail. I have stayed at 5 Star resorts all over the world and yet the Rio Sagrado still took my breath away. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a touch of elegance in the Urubamba Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuddenWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Our stay at the Rio Sagrado was wonderful. The setting was absolutely beautiful, along the banks of the Urubamba, with the mountains just beyond. The grounds of the resort were beautifully landscaped, and our room was perfect. Every room has an amazing view of the river below.

The service could not be beat. Everything, and more was provided - from the fluffy terry robes, to the chocolates at our bedside. The staff was very helpful in providing taxis for our day trips, even our 5:30 a.m. ride to the Machu Picchu train!

Both the food for breakfast and dinner were excellent. The dinners were very creative. Try the honey shrimp over potatoes!

You will not regret your stay at the Rio Sagrado. I promise you!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We spent 2 nights at this newly opened 5 star hotel. It was by far the best hotel that we stayed in on our Peru tour.
The gardens were beautiful and well established, sweeping down to the river, dotted with water features. Our room was magnificent, very large with a picture window looking down to the river. The decor was very stylish and tasteful. The lighting was really great.
The bathroom was out of this world, marble tops and floor, although no bath there was a very large walk in rain shower with a view! All the fixtures and fittings were of the highest quality, bathrobes, slippers, and beautiful large white fluffy towels.
We were on bed breakfast and evening meal plan. The breakfast was buffet style with hot food, eggs etc cooked to order. The evening meal was of a very high standard and beautifully presented.
Spa, indoor and outdoor was very relaxing, there is also a steam room. The grounds are dotted with sun loungers.
The staff were very attentive without being intrusive.
This is a wonderful hotel, no expense has been spared, it was a real priviledge to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews