We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really far away from attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really far away from attractions.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Our room was large and clean, but distanced quite far away from the main entrance/reception area. Safety deposit box did not work. The bathroom was tidy, but there was some mildew issues around the tub. The grounds were beautiful. The WIFI hardly worked, even in the lobby.

This hotel was situated very far away from attractions, or even other restaurants. This was complicated by some road work/irrigation that was taking place on the only road in and out, and it was the equivalent of some very serious off-roading! The only place we could eat dinner was at the hotel, and even though the menu was large, they "were out" of a lot of the items. Breakfast (included) was okay, but a lot of the breads were stale and the hot food was often cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    153
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
104
198
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in late March.

Location: it's really in the middle of nowhere. This has the advantage of being quiet, but as it's at least 30 minutes drive to anywhere else, 15 minutes of that (up to the hotel) along the worst road I've ever been on in a car, it meant we couldn't walk anywhere, and the taxis were a. difficult to get (one driver told us flat out he wouldn't drive up that road), and b. expensive. Even the hotel had trouble getting cars for us, and you had to wait at least an hour. I suppose this wouldn't be an issue as part of a tour - while we were there 90% of the other guests appeared to be in tour groups, and they left all together each morning in their provided vans.

Restaurant: Breakfast was included - the selection was poor and didn't taste good. We also ate lunch and dinner there - there's no lunch type food so you're limited to dinner meals at lunch, and in any case it doesn't taste very good. It was quite difficult to get the waiters' attention - most of the time they seemed to huddle in the corner talking.

Front desk: they spoke some English, and they weren't rude, but trying to get any help from them was like pulling teeth. Aside from the trouble getting taxis, they also couldn't help us with arranging a tour. As we've been traveling a long time we had to do a load of laundry - we could've done it somewhere cheaper if the place hadn't been in the middle of nowhere. It ended up taking them several hours to get us an answer on what to do, even though it's supposedly a provided service - and then it was incredibly overpriced (over US$60) and left on reception sofa in our own dirty shopping bag until we went to go find it. The list goes on. In general a frustrating experience.

Rooms and grounds: the rooms were spacious with comfortable enough beds, and the area is nice and quiet. Everything except the shower worked well - the shower pressure would change instantly, turning scalding hot or ice cold - not very pleasant. The grounds are quite beautiful with a little creek flowing down the middle and lots of flowers.

Sleep Quality: we slept fairly well until 6:30am one day when the front desk called us (wrong number) TWICE in a row, and 7:30am the next day when one of the staff started trying to unlock the door(!!) until I yelled. This was supposed to be the sleep in and get altitude acclimatized part of our trip, which wasn't very successful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_palacios, Director of Sales at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback
help us to improve
I hope again for our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We went to Sacred Valley during rainy season. So the road to get there was crazy, not sure it the taxi would make it there, but he did. Half way up the road the guys had to get out and walk so the car would make it. When we arrived it was a cute, rustic mountain retreat, The grounds are very picturesque. The rooms had wood floors, cabin like. Little patios off each room. The room is very large, with a portable heater if you need it. We ate there since there was no where else to go. The soups were amazing. The trout was very good. The breakfast buffet was nice. It was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_palacios, Director of Sales at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback
help us to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The rooms were well appointed, spacious, with cable TV, radiator heater, hair dryer and safety deposit box. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and the linen was crisp, so were the monogrammed towels.

However the check in experience was a bit of shock as the access road to the hotel was all dug up and our vehicle could not reach the entrance. We had to walk 10 minutes to get to the Hacienda. The 'compensation' was the steep grassy path with the rushing water of a small river invigorating us as we stopped to wash our hands and splash the cold water on our faces. Fortunately we were all fit and did not find this 'trek' a challenge considering we did this 4 times

Check in and check out was a bit chaotic with the staff at reception very disorganized and quite overwhelmed by just a group of 8 people.

The dining area did not reflect the elegance of the rooms and the presentation of the food left much to be desired. The Quinoa soup was the star dish. The breakfast buffet was mediocre and with very limited choices.

Room Tip: check if roads to hacienda are accessible and the heating in the rooms works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_palacios, Director Comercial at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Sandirich,

Thanks for your comments, we apologize because you had to walk, the road to access to hotel was interrupted for some days because the neighbors had been installing water and drain systems.
Please, consider your sacrifice to walk was for a good cause :)

Your comments let us to improve our services.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Beautiful and peaceful sanctuary, just the thing to unwind after constantly being on the move and taking in all the sites as a tourist. The gardens and scenery are exceptional, having private little patios off the room was a great place to enjoy a bottle of wine with our travel companions and soak up the surrounding mountains. At first we thought it was a long way out of town ( 30mins drive out of town) we were able to organize a mini bus from the girls at reception to take us in to Ollantaytambo.
The staff were very helpful and after checking out the town for a few hours were quite happy to get away from the crowds and head back to our sanctuary, nice and quiet...just the place to be.
Definately worth staying here, the food was excellent as was the breakfast. Totally enjoyed our experience.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms, the last ones on the property, water ways meandering past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_palacios, Director Comercial at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Karin:

Thank your good comments and we are glad that has passed a pleasant stay with us in the magical and paradisiacal Hacienda del Valle.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We spent one evening at Hacienda del Valle. It is such a beautiful hotel! First of all, the setting/backdrop is amazing. It has to be one of the most picturesque places I have ever stayed. The room and bathroom were nice and large (very roomy)-- it had a nice layout. Although it was too cold to enjoy, the room had a lovely little terrace/patio that would have been a great place to take breakfast or just relax with a book and the view. This hotel has such a romantic feel from the restaurant to the little patios.

The restaurant was great. We had the trucha (trout) prepared two different ways... both were really good. The buffet breakfast included eggs and mini-pancakes, and a lot of great fruit!

The staff was very accommodating. And they had three (yes, three) computers for the guests to use.

With that said, the cons to this place were that the wi-fi didn't work in the rooms and the heater in the room was a bit ineffective in heating such a large space. Even with those minor (very minor) issues, this place was still great and I would still recommend a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_palacios, Director Comercial at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Ashlie:

Thank you for your good comments and we are glad to step a great stay with us.
Hacienda del Valle, is a magical place ,full of lots of energy and with beautiful landscape and hope you soon!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A great hotel in the average of 4**** with beautiful gardens and little source of water as a little river; a place to be relax and to process all the Inka adventures in Peru. We enjoy the silence and the friendly relation with everyone there. As being on the way to Machu Pijchu, this makes easy to explore the Sacred Valley and the Machu Pijchu secret and sacred city of the Inkas. The rooms are big with nature atmosphere and rich decorations. A place to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are big with access to gardens and trees. All have view and the second floor with balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShamanVeganRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_palacios, Director Comercial at Hotel Hacienda del Valle, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear friend:

We are happy that you have passed a great stay with us! Valley Ranch is a magical and paradisiacal place, a unique place in cusco.

We hope that he can return soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
3.8 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
5.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.7 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Valle

Property: Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Address: Sector Pucara s/n Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Urubamba
#8 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda del Valle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family hotel chain with operations in 2 of the most important tourism destinies of Peru. One of our locations is Puno where it is Titicaca Lake (the highest navigable lake in the world) and the other one is in the Sacred Valley in Cuzco. Our hotel in Cuzco it's located in Yanahuara between Urubamba and Ollantaytambo city. The first one is the main city of the sacred valley and in the other one is located the biggest train station to go to Machu Picchu's ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Del Valle Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing