We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Perales Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Perales Ecolodge
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at Los Perales and really enjoyed our time at this calm and peaceful spot. The room and hostal and there is some great hiking in the area. We caught a colectivo a couple of times to near Ollantaytambo to hike but it was a relief to escape the crowds and come back to this little haven in Urubamba. The owners are lovely and provide a great breakfast. We also had dinner a couple of times, including home-cooked cuy. We spent a couple of nights watching DVD's in the lounge wrapped in blankets and sipping mate. Definitely recommended for anyone wanting a bit of quiet & comfort off the beaten track in the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salypimiento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Highly, highly recommend Los Perales. The owner is really nice, and his family prepares a wonderful banana pancake breakfast with fresh papaya juice and marmalades made from fruits in their garden! I paid S/50 a night, which included breakfast (it's cheaper without breakfast, but you should definitely try their breakfast at least once). The rooms are comfy and cozy, and there is lukewarm solar heated water. Overall a nice stay, but the location and lack of hot enough water are minor quirks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at los perales for 1 day and we might have stayed longer.
The bedroom has enough space and was clean.it was very quiet as well.we were well received by the owner. He was very kind and helpful.
the last and not the least, we had a diner there (sopa, milanesa de pollo, and fruits from the garden), allhomemade. Very good. And The breakfast was awesome : marmelade with fruits from garden, huge banana pancakes, and bread cooked just few hours earlier.very very good.
Very good adress that i recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed two nights at Los Perales though could have easily stayed longer. It is such a charming, quiet little place that is hidden away from the main drag. The rooms are cosy, clean and good value. We loved sitting in the sprawling wild garden and eating the delicious breakfast and dinner made with produce from it. What really made our stay though was the gentle and kind owner who was only too helpful and treated us like we were the only guests he had received. This place is perfect if you are on a budget and want to feel like you have stumbled across your own unique little spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in this very lovely place and like to recommend it. Nice room with fresh flowers. Great breakfast with homemade bread and pancakes and everything fresh from the garden. Very friendly owner! d

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Winter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arrived here without a booking relatively late at night. We were welcomed, shown to a room and told that breakfast would be served in the morning. We had read about the breakfast in the internet shop in town and this was the main reason we had chosen this place. The rooms are set around a large rambly garden full of fruit trees. Breakfast was superb. It consisted of big fluffy pancakes with banana and honey (from the bees at the back of the garden), fresh juice (whatever was available), fresh coffee, fabulous seedy bread rolls made by the owner (an ex-chemist), home made jams and all served on lovely crockery. We ended up spending a second night just so that we could have another breakfast.
(Also it is a good place to get to maras and moray from)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Are you a budget traveller and/or looking for the individual hotel? Well, you found it. Los Perales is familiy-run, quiet and pretty close to the bus station, hidden behind walls in an unpaved road. The motor-rikshas will bring you there for less than 2 Soles.
The garden or better orchard is fantastically overgrown, and if you have some interest in gardening or botany, you will have many topics to discuss with the landlord. English is spoken.
The owners are very friendly and help with one or the other travel tip in the vicinity of Urubamba. BTW, don´t bother to stay in touristically swamped Pisaq or Ollantaytambo, Urubamba is an excellent base for day-trips by local bussees to these places, and even better, you can catch the train Machu Piccu here as well (Tambo de Inca hotel is the train station - no joke. Make sure you buy the tickets at Lima airport or in Cusco).
The rooms are located in little houses in the garden, they are clean, beds are good, only the water is just warm, but at least enough for a quick shower - the owner is aware and is working to fix it. Speaking about fixing: The table-tennis in the garden pavillon hasn´t been used for years and the dry swimming pool is now hidden in a corn field. So there are some indications that the hotel has seen better days, but my room was without reason for complaint.
The breakfast is simple, but excellent: The best coffee in Peru, real Espresso (!), but bring some milk to avoid the milk powder. The bread is freshly baked in the wood-fired oven and the jam is made from the garden´s fruits. The juice is freshly squeezed.
The hotel is far from being crowded, in the low season you may be the only guest with the owners´s full attention.
All in all, excellent value for the money in my opinion, I fully enjoyed my 3 night-stay and recommend this place for the non-mainstream traveller.
Claudius

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.6 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#7 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#4 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Andina
Casa Andina
#6 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Perales Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Perales Ecolodge

Property: Los Perales Ecolodge
Address: Pasaje Arenales 102, Urubamba, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Los Perales Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Perales Ecolodge Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing