We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
378 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and facilities”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here with a tour group. Our casita was very large for a double room. The bath was luxurious. Finishes were first class. The exposed beams in the ceiling were dramatic. Hot water bottles in our bed in the evening were an unexpected treat. The restaurant was just outstanding. I loved the trout. My husband was impressed with the apple pie on the breakfast buffet, too. The only thing I could possibly suggest for improvement is the internet signal (which is really only available at reception and in the bar, and can be slow). However, it's evident that the owners have put great thought and expense into this place, so I expect they've done what's possible where connectivity is concerned. All in all, it was a luxury to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Good morning lsc_Denver,

Thank you for your lovely review,
It is very rewarding for us to receive such a positive comment.
We hope you had a beautiful trip in Peru and we look forward to your future visit!


The best regards and welcome back any time!


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    157
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
297
637
51
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Set in the Sacred Valley, this is an ideal place to stay while exploring the area. Once through the gates of the hotel, you enter a different world. The rooms are all in individual cabanas which are like villas. Ours was enormous with one of the most luxurious bathrooms I have ever seen, an huge bed and lounge area. The gardens are well worth walking around and both the restaurants were good. We stayed only 2 nights and we would have loved to have stayed longer. We were out all day exploring the local area with our guide so did not have time to go in the swimming pool, which is probably just as well as it was unheated. Perhaps at a different time of year it wouldn't have been necessary but it was cold in the evenings and the water temperature was fresh. There is a free horse show most evenings which we viewed from one of the two restaurants. It was interesting but not amazing. Our second night there was also some entertainment in the garden with dancers on tall stilts. It was interesting to watch for a short while but we didn't really understand it. Overall, this was an amazing place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Good morning KentHazel,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Sol & Luna as part of your trip in Peru.
We are glad you really enjoyed your casita and the restaurants!

We hope to welcome you back one day,
And thank you a lot for recommending our propriety,


Best Regards,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Quaint rondelle huts with clay? walls and high log beam rooves. Very spacious with good storage and well decorated - even the power points were painted. Beds were comfortable, especially when the hot water bottles were added. Hinges and fittings looked blacksmith forged rather than Chinese factory made.
Grounds are large and attractive and worth a walk around to see the plants and the backdrop of the mountains around Sacred Valley. Restaurant not cheap with a coffee more than double the price at a nice restaurant in town.
Breakfast is available in small containers which were very slow to be refilled an could not cope with a group of 30.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelJay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear KelJay37,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us,

We are glad you enjoyed your room and the hot water bottles!
We apologize for the inconvenience you had during the breakfast and we will take your comments into consideration in order to improve our services.

However we hope you had a beautiful trip in the Sacred Valley,

Greetings from the Sol & Luna team,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent two nights here at the start of our trip to Peru and was blown away by the beauty of the grounds and the accommodations. Our casita was incredibly spacious & stunning! I loved the hot water bottles at night to keep my toes warm! The service was wonderful; I really hope to return one day. Strongly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Good morning,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we want to thank you for your visit and for you lovely review.

We hope you had a beautiful trip in Peru after your stay at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa and we also would love to welcome you back again in your next trip!

The best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The location of Sol Y Luna in the heart of the Sacred Valley, surrounded by dramatic mountains and near so many interesting sights, is ideal. The property itself is spectacular, with landscaping and gardens that begged to be photographed at every turn. Our room (with a fireplace and more of the delightful artwork that characterizes and enlivens the place) was large, with a luxurious bath, a lovely terrace, and extremely comfortable bed and furnishings. We enjoyed exotic cocktails in the beautiful bar/lounge, a wonderful dinner, and excellent buffet breakfast. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Two of us were traveling alone and felt we had made the perfect choice of inns, only regretting that we didn't plan to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyces2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Alyce S,

It was a pleasure to be part of your trip in Peru.
We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed your casita and our services.

Thank you for recommending our place and for sharing your experience at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa,

Wishing you the best,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biarritz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When driving up to the Sol y Luna it seems a very unassuming type of place, how ever when we entered the property and more importantly the room my wife and i were amazed at how good it was more like a little house than hotel room with excellent finishes.Both my wife and i wish we would have stayed there on the way back to cusco for a day or two.Having stayed in many hotels around the globe this was my personal favourite.

For reference we stayed in room #30

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiarritzBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear BiarritzBlanco,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious Deluxe casita!

It was a pleasure to be part of your trip in Peru and we feel so happy to know that Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa is now your favorite hotel!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience,
We hope to welcome you back one day,

Very best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were terribly disappointed with this hotel. It designed for tour groups and not the independent traveler.
This is my first review below "very good" so I am not hard to please. Our room was not filled with folk art or intimate as the flyer suggested. Our small room #10 or11 with a tiny small porch looked right out on to a large electrical warning sign on the backside with of another unit. If the management is serious about what it says no one deserves this room. The room with no view was dark and had a loft with another double bed. This provided a low ceiling with a claustrophobic feeling. There was no internet anywhere in the hotel which no one seemed to care about. However the bed was comfortable.
The place is not a real spa. They should have at least invested in a great pool with a garden setting.Their small kidney shaped pool is poorly placed squeezed up against the restaurant widows: not appetizing. On our arrival after a long trip we made a reservation for the wet steam bath. Although there was a vapor of steam the stone seats were too cold to sit or stand. We had to wait an additional hour for things to heat up properly. My bathrobe from the room had dirty tissues in the pockets.
Our bad luck continued. We wanted to use the library but it was being used for a private tour group. There was a performance at dinnertime but we were informed that we could not attend because it was for a tour group. When we complained that we were paying hotel guest and wanted to participate in the hotel's activities too, they suggested we watch it from behind the bushes.
On arriving we inquired about things to do around Urubamba, hikes, walks, places of interest, etc. To our surprise the front desk could not recommend any activities other than horseback riding and a walk to town. They had no lists nor a local map. We ended up spending most our two days thoroughly enjoying other towns returning just to sleep. When we left we asked the clerk why did they build the hotel in a place where you cannot recommend anything to do. He answered that the land there was very cheap so the foreigners bought it up.
I can see now that this is a strategic place for tour groups to stop for a rest on their way to Machu Pichu but if you are an independent traveler you are so much better served by staying in Ollantaytampo. Much to the contrary of the impression that Tripadvisor gives Urubamba is not an up and coming destination. It has a strategic place for tour groups to rest before they go off on another bus ride.
One nice thing I can say about this sterile canned experience is that the buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 26 in Urubamba
744 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing