We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchantment meets Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga
2 reviews
“Enchantment meets Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised to find one of the finest hotels in what feels to be in the middle of nowhere. Beautiful gardens with hummingbirds, horses and incredible food. One of the best breakfasts we've had in Peru. Beware to those who need a TV in the room because there are none. My only regret is only staying there for one night instead of a week! Hope to visit back soon!
'

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vramirez777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good afternoon Vramirez777,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for your visit at Sol & Luna.
We are happy to see that your stay with us has been so nice and we are delighted you've been able to enjoy the hummingbirds all around the propriety. That’s why we have this special care with the gardens!
We also really hope to welcome you back soon!

Greetings from the Sol & Luna team,

Best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    153
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
282
607
48
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on the way from Cuzco to Machu Picchu with a private tour guide. The rooms are casitas inside a beautiful garden. The casita we stayed at was roomy (bedroom and living room) and nicely decorated with south american artworks. Mind you this is not a Ritz Carlton hotel, so you will find insects (nothing horrible) and will step on cold stone floor. You won't have strong wifi signal and large flat screen TV. What we found was a clean, comfortable interior set inside a beautiful garden. We enjoyed the breakfast very much but did not have dinner there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Polarbear,

Thank you for choosing Sol & Luna as part of your trip in Peru.
We are glad to see that you appreciate the gardens and the casita. One of our goals is to give a unique experience in this special Valley, that’s why the propriety is full of art and flowers.

Thank you for your visit,
We hope you had a nice trip in Peru!

Kind regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I traveled with an Adventures by Disney tour and stayed at Sol y Luna for several nights. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the snow-capped mountains is amazing. As another traveler commented, the rooms are VERY dark. I had to use the flashlight on my phone to see inside my suitcase. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful and the coffee was delicious. The front desk staff was gracious and always ready to lend out the soccer ball so the "kids" (i.e., teenagers) could play in the field behind the restaurant. The restaurant staff also did not mind when the ditched the parents and dined together.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMRWhenCanWeLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good afternoon LMRWhenCanWeLeave,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa.
It is great to see that you enjoyed our restaurants and the staff!
We will take into consideration your comments in order to improve our services.

We hope you had a beautiful time in Peru and would love to welcome you back again!

Best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here while hiking for six days in the Sacred Valley with "BACKROADS" tour company. The backroads folks made all the arrangements and gave us a heavy schedule even while at the hotel so hard to differentiate their service from the hotel. I did wonder about the experience of individual tourists as opposed to the groups especially at breakfast. We did dine individually in the dining room one night and our service was impeccable. My wife has several food allergies and they were extremely concerned and attentive in making sure her selections were appropriate, we had a great meal. The rooms are individual "casitas" in quite lovely gardens. They are spacious and lovely. After busy days hiking sleeping was not a problem for us, but I did hear about some noisy festivities close by. If you are looking for a place in this area I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Sabba1,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us,

Urubamba organize many festivities in May and Jun, there are mostly religious and are held in the Plaza de Armas.
The celebrations include fireworks, parade of dances and bullfights…
We apologize for the noise and hope you could rest enough to enjoy all your visits.

We are glad you appreciate the restaurants, our staff is always very careful with the eventual food allergies you can have!

We hope you had a very nice trip in Peru and that we will welcome you back again one day!
Thank you for recommending Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa and for your visit,

Kind regards,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh On
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

On the afternoon of our 2nd day (May 28 2014) our private driver and guide drove us up a small street in Urubamba and I wondered just where we were headed as the base of the mountain was very close. Then we came upon the gate of Sol y Luna Lodge & Spa, once we registered and passed through the office we were in another world. The walkways, gardens (the flowers were amazing, even in May) and tranquil silence let you leave the local town life behind you.

We wandered our way to casita 41 while our bags were taking another route. The pictures I took of our beautiful casita will tell it all. It had been a busy day visiting the gardens of Moray and the salt ponds of Maras, this tranquility was welcome.

My daughter and I late lunched at the outdoor restaurant while being entertained by a horse & rider show as well as Spanish dancers. My Margeurita pizza and Cusquena were very tasty and filling. Then we headed back to the casita to unpack and settle in, the rooms were absolutely amazing with two fireplaces a huge bathroom and our own patio with hot tub! How much better can it get??? If I get the opportunity to return this is the resort I will stay at for at least 3 nights.


After unpacking I took my laptop to restaurant bar to relax, enjoy a Malbec and post pictures of our trip on FB. No there was not internet in the casita but as I look at it now it was so pleasant to sit in the lounge area of the bar on comfortable sofa, sip wine and enjoy the company of other guests.

Dinner was amazing, service was superior, the portioning and presentation made it all the more appetizing. Then when we returned to our room to retire for the night we found huge hot water bottles had been placed in our beds, what a great way to snuggle in for the night.

Having a busy schedule we were up early for breakfast and off on our journey by 9:30am when our private driver and guide picked us up.

P.S. The hot tub was "HOT" and fantastic, we highly recommend Sol y Luna!

Room Tip: Go the extra, get the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank_and_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Good afternoon Hank_and_Di,

Thank you for your preference in Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa,

We are glad to know that you had a beautiful stay in our propriety.

Thank you for your amazing review and for sharing your experience with our future guests!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services, shows and restaurants.
The location of Sol & Luna, in the heart of the Sacred Valley, gives a perfect access to the ruins nearby and all the surroundings are perfect to relax a few days before and after Machu Picchu!

We hope you had a beautiful time in Peru and would love to welcome you back again!

Greetings from the Sol & Luna team,

Very best regards for you and your daughter!


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Whilst this is a beautiful hotel with stunning grounds, management and staff are focused on day tour groups rather than hotel guests. We were "upgraded" to the highest level casita, but these are located right near the area where a twice-daily horse show takes place, with the accompanying music blaring over loudspeakers and large tour groups milling around then filling up the lunch restaurant so that hotel guests cannot get a table. The general ambience and potential tranquility of the hotel are completely changed by these groups who, inevitably, are noisy and all-pervading. Also, the attitudes and engagement levels of several of the staff were at odds with those we experienced everywhere else in Peru and Ecuador - there was a lack of sincerity and little genuine warmth and hospitality. The spa was somewhat municipal, with a communal ladies changing room, such that other guests came in and out as you were changing before and after your treatment. And, while the therapist was reasonably competent, she seemed to be "going through the motions" in a detached and distant way - cosseting, it was not! The Sacred Valley is absolutely beautiful with fantastic walks, but find another hotel to stay at, which actually values its in-house guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent-UK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
366 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here with a tour group. Our casita was very large for a double room. The bath was luxurious. Finishes were first class. The exposed beams in the ceiling were dramatic. Hot water bottles in our bed in the evening were an unexpected treat. The restaurant was just outstanding. I loved the trout. My husband was impressed with the apple pie on the breakfast buffet, too. The only thing I could possibly suggest for improvement is the internet signal (which is really only available at reception and in the bar, and can be slow). However, it's evident that the owners have put great thought and expense into this place, so I expect they've done what's possible where connectivity is concerned. All in all, it was a luxury to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Good morning lsc_Denver,

Thank you for your lovely review,
It is very rewarding for us to receive such a positive comment.
We hope you had a beautiful trip in Peru and we look forward to your future visit!


The best regards and welcome back any time!


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#4 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Andina
Casa Andina
#6 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing