We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High end details, Casual Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High end details, Casual Resort”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with an Adventures by Disney group in May of 2014. The grounds are absolutely amazing and the attention to detail in the rooms are fantastic. Upon arrival, you are greeted by the most beautiful flowers and plants and you are surrounded by mountains on every side. The room had everything you could want - hairdryer, a bottle of water, hot water bottles in the bed at night and very comfy beds. Just exploring the grounds is a wonderful way to spend some time. The food is also top notch. I did not have anything that wasn't good. The staff is very helpful and responsive and I highly recommend doing a horseback ride. There isn't a lot to do directly outside the resort, but the horseback ride gives you a great local perspective. It winds back behind the property and we got to see school children running home from school, fields, rivers and lots of wildlife. A tip on the wifi - if you go upstairs into the bar area (from outside) and hang a left by the statue of the man playing the sax, you will get great wifi service. The router is outside the window near the statue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paigef19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the suites were to your liking.

We are delighted to know that you took part in some of our outdoor activities, and that you were able to see the beautiful scenery that the Sacred Valley has to offer.

Kindest Regards,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    156
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
289
614
49
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here two nights before going to Machu Picchu. It was the perfect spot to rest and relax! The grounds, the views, the cottages were all so beautiful!! The cabanas are really large and open. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful soaking tub and shower! The bed was super comfortable! Each cottage had a porch and was totally surrounded by plants and flowers. It was very peaceful! The food was excellent! Ask about the school that Petit (owner) started for the children of the region. You can go to the website "Pack for a Purpose" to learn how to bring school supplies for the children!

Room Tip: All the cabanas were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Judy,

Thank you very much for your interest in the school, and we are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Sol & Luna. We are glad that were able to relax and enjoy your casita, the gardens and restaurants.

We hope to welcome you back during your next trip in Peru!

Kindest Regards,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family spent two nights at this property acclimating for our Inca Trail Hike. While there is not much to do in the little town of Urubamba, it is quite close to the ruins at Pisaq and Ollantaytambo, whichi is also near the Inca Trail starting point. The casitas are lovely as are the grounds. The stay was helpful and friendly and allowed us to store our extra luggage there while we were on the Inca Trail and pick it up several days later. They also have a nice spa which does not seem very busy as I was able to get an apptment for a massage with only a few hours notice. The massage was excellent and well priced compared to US prices. We also enjoyed the food as their breakfast buffet was excellent and the dinner menu was also good though a bit pricey for Peru.

Room Tip: Wifi works better in common areas so selecting a room closer to the restaurant might get better sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1parislover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Good afternoon,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here are the Sol & Luna, and that you managed to relax in our Spa before the Inca Trail.

We hope that you had a lovely trip,

Best Wishes,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I spent 2 nights here as part of a National Geographic tour. The setting can't be beat. The hotel consists of individual cottages surrounded by gorgeous gardens and the Andes mountains. The cottages are very roomy and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was really large and the shower was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. There was a space heater in the room for night use when the temperatures drop and that was more than sufficient. The restaurant is excellent. We had breakfast and dinner there twice. Service at the hotel was very friendly and efficient. Because we were on a tour we were gone all day on both days so I didn't get to experience the spa amenities. But we did get to see a Paso horse demonstration and that was very good and interesting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Anna,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the show and your stay at Sol & Luna. The staff of the restaurant will be delighted to know that the food was to your liking.

We hope that you had a lovely trip in the Sacred Valley.

Best Wishes,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights during our honeymoon tour of Peru.

The staff here made us feel incredibly welcome. When the manager heard that we were on our honeymoon he upgraded us to one of the larger suites, and the kitchen staff prepared us a special personalised dessert congratulating us on our recent wedding. We were made to feel special and we really appreciated the gestures.

The hotel itself is set within very well maintained grounds with beautiful flowers. We even saw a hummingbird! The hotel also includes a ranch, from which you can go on a horse-riding trek around the local town, a spa, and a choice of two restaurants. We had heard that the restaurants were pricey, but only by Peruvian standards. Compared to the UK they were good value for money.

Staying here was definitely one of the highlights of our honeymoon and this hotel was the nicest, all-round hotel we have stayed in so far on our 2.5 week tour across Peru. We would have happily stayed here for longer.

A special mention goes to GianCarlo, who time and again went out of his way to make sure that our honeymoon stay here was extra special.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
The staff here at Sol & Luna just wanted to say that it was our pleasure to have had you with us on such a celebratory occasion. We are delighted to hear that the suite was too your liking, and that you enjoyed the hotels gardens.

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This small hotel is spread around beautifully kept grounds. It is located in Yanahuara, Urubamba, 40 min from the train station and 1h10min of Pisac Market. This is a great location to explore the Sacred Valley. There were tennis courts, a small pool, and stables for horseback riding. There is a cozy restaurant with excellent food (menu was designed by Pedro Miguel Schiaffino, one of the most famous Peruvian chefs) and a very nice spa. Rooms are set in spacious individual cabins around the beautiful gardens. They were well-furnished and decorated with south American artworks. You will certainly be merged in a charming atmosphere. Each room had its own terrace, which is a big plus! Breakfast was delicious, with a lot of choices of cold and hot food. The front desk staff was very helpful and kind. The Hotel is an excellent place to relax and spend beautiful days surrounded by mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PSchicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here in the Sacred Valley.
Our restaurant staff will be delighted to know that our varieties of food were to your liking.
We hope you have enjoyed you trip to Peru,

Best Wishes,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was probably the most beautiful of the places we stayed during our three week trip to Peru and Ecuador. The large rooms were beautifully appointed; we especially enjoyed the comfortable seating around the fireplace. The cuisine was interesting and rather unusual, and the service was first rate. The grounds were likewise especially. We would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 597traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Good Afternoon,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the space, the gardens and even more, that our propriety has been one the most beautiful places during your trip.
Thank you so much for your comment!

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
181 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing