We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay & Help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Sol Y Luna is not only a wonderful place to stay in the Sacred Valley...but, by staying there you will be contributing to important philanthropic work that the owners are doing in the valley. They are making an effort to help many indigenous people with educational resources, jobs, and other activities. It is a beautiful place with a helpful staff and mature gardens. Great food....a spa....a ranch for horse-back riding. You'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SedonaCyberLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

I stayed at the Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa for 4 nights. From start to finish the service and stay were amazing. Every meal we had was great and the staff treated us very well. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieMarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Our casita was lovely; the gardens and grounds were beautiful; the paso horse performance and the Incan mythology (on stilts!) were delightful; and we fully enjoyed every spectacular meal there. The people were absolutely wonderful, and their attention to detail make this a truly exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanborncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Sol y Luna is by far one of the best hotels that we stayed in while travelling through Peru.
It is luxurious without being fancy. The food is delicious and the staff is very happy to assist
with anything you might want. The grounds are not to be believed. Clearly, the owners of
this hotel have spared nothing to create an environment that is relaxing and restorative.
I was travelling with 8 other very seasoned travellers and everyone was disappointed that
we couldn't stay longer. This is a place to return to time and again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImagineThatCoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The hotel and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and would be 5 star quality in any city in the world. We had a villa that had a bedroom, living room, entry-way and an absolutely huge bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated and so quiet you hardly know anybody is even close. The staff, as in all of Peru, was very anxious to help in any way they can. They have DirecTV so when you are getting used to the altitude at least there is something to watch!

There are, however, two things to be aware of. First, they have the heater in the floor and since it gets really cold at night you are never quite warm; even getting out of the shower was cold. Second the place is pretty much off of the beaten trail, so unless you go into town (a fun ride) or eat at their somewhat expensive restaurant you are out of luck. But the breakfast was terrific!

Even with the caveats above we could not expect a better experience. It definitely is worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

After our recent stay in one of suites of the Sol & Luna I can safely say that this is amongst the best hotels in the Urubamba Valley. The garden is a particular treat, it is full of colourful flowers and stone walkways leading between the different facilities and rooms, which are all contained within one building.

The suites were large, very comfortable and offered ample amenities, including an ipod station complete with a preloaded iPod! The attention to detail that has gone into the decorations - which are based on native Peruvian art but not distastefully - is excellent. Even the furniture was exquisite, this is all handcarved and I believe it is done by a renowned Peruvian joiner. I didn't have time for the spa but my colleagues informed me it was very relaxing. I was too busy doing the day activities, kayaking and quad biking being particular favourites.

The food was outstanding; everything was based on local ingredients and native recipes and wasnt overelaborated; except in the case of "la cava" which seemed a bit over pretentious for the Valley - but nevertheless the gourmet food offered here was deliciouys and the wine collection, from around the world, was out of this world. In the restaurant Wayra we enjoyed a cooking demonstration and also a demonstration of Pachamanca, a form of cooking that involves burying meat and veg underground and covering it with hot rocks.

The El Paso horse display and a Native theatre act were also most entertaining, although there are probably more authentic options for seeing these in the valley. All in all an excellent hotel that does not seem out of place, either culturally or naturally.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuelapperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Pretty grounds, rooms OK, breakfast OK. However v little to do here, tiny swimming pool was cold & dirty. OK for a one night stay but wouldn´t recommend longer

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
801 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
6.3 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £145 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Stayforlong S.L. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing