We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold rooms, unfriendly service, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold rooms, unfriendly service, bad location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Didn't like this at all (but I was pretty sick when I was in Peru [respiratory, not intestinal]) so that might have colored my impression.
The staff was pretty unfriendly - indifferent and impersonal at best. This ranged from the staff at the front desk to the waiters in the dining room.
The room was COLD - ceramic tile floors on the floor with just a few throw rugs. I sat in front of the room's portable heater with a blanket wrapped around me most of the time. The bathroom is set up to be open at the top to the rest of the room so the bathroom never warms up either. And, the hot water isn't very hot.
There really isn't much to do at the hotel, except to eat (food was pretty good, but service was poor) and to watch some of the entertainment provided (horse show, play/dance show at dinner) unless you have your own transportation. We didn't have a car, so we got pretty bored.
On the plus side, the gardens are very pretty

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixieIpsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    157
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
291
614
49
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dettingen unter Teck, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

we are absolutlely satisfied with the whole resort.
a good point for explore the sacred valley.
fine dinner and lunch.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaoWu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Beautiful setting, lovely gardens. Only stayed 1 night but wonderful experience sitting outside on verandah. Loved stained glass windows of sun and moon in bedroom. Good breakfast selection. No tea making facility in room but still thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed one night before catching the train to Machu Picchu. The rooms were great, surrounded by masses of flowers. There was free internet and books to exchange. We had a beautiful lunch in the gardens. The only downside was the distance to walk into the town.
Susan

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malderen,Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We spend 5 nights in this garden of Eden. Beautiful peaceful garden.
Very quite and clean- except the little swimming pool.
Ideal location to discover the Sacred Valley: Pisac,Chinchero,Moray,Maras, Ollantaytambo
We recommend to do the Huchuy Qosqo trek.
Very good breakfast with fresh food, home made granola bars- thank you for sharing the recipe.The restaurant was ok, but after 4 days we wanted something else.Very nice staff, friendly and always ready to help

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgium2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed in a Deluxe Casita and it was near-perfect. Huge room and an even more impressive bathroom. Great balcony. Wonderful service. Small but decent gym. Very tranquil. I particularly liked the art on the walls and the decor- which was quirky and arty. A lot of thought had clearly gone into designing the place. Food in the dining room was ok but nothing to write home about, which is the only thing I would fault. One of the best hotels on our South American trip.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scalpel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Sol Y Luna is not only a wonderful place to stay in the Sacred Valley...but, by staying there you will be contributing to important philanthropic work that the owners are doing in the valley. They are making an effort to help many indigenous people with educational resources, jobs, and other activities. It is a beautiful place with a helpful staff and mature gardens. Great food....a spa....a ranch for horse-back riding. You'll have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaCyberLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing