We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Well worth a visit if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Sacred Valley. At the back of town away from the hustle & bustle, this is a quiet and relaxing place to stay. We had a terrific room that opened out into the main square of this converted 16th Century Franciscan monastery and the food in the restaurant was pretty good as well, made entertaining by a super waiter. The reception staff need to work on their customer skills - no particularly friendly, if I compare with all the other hotels we stayed in - just smile!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here on night and enjoyed the visit. I thought the grounds, with various small gardens and courtyards, were beautiful. The room was spacious, but rustic. I had dinner in their restaurant which had a lovely big fireplace; the food was OK. The main reason to stay here is the location, close to the Sacred Valley Attractions.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Flipper775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It's a Monastery converted into a quaint little hotel in the most beautiful scenic setting, surrounded by mountains all around. We stayed there one night on our way to Machu Picchu. Since there's no restaurant within walking distance we ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was really good and freshly made and the staff in the restaurant were very cordial and professional. The breakfast was also very good. Most of all, the thing that we immensely appreciated was their room service of hot coffee at 5:00 a.m. Just like we had requested. None of the other hotels could provide us with hot coffee in the room. It was always lukewarm, and we like the coffee to be really hot. The courtyard and the adjoining church was great for walking around. The only thing that bothered us was that there was an intermittent sound near my bed of water flowing in the walls. I informed the front desk lady twice and both times she told me that she would send somebody, but nobody was sent. The sound did stop at night. We liked the hotel, though it's location is not the best, but great for a couple of days' relaxation and serenity - Far from the Madding Crowd.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SChaudhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Its a lovely little and clean hotel, surrounded by an amazing mountain view. Thats all i can find positive.
Our room had two floors, tv and tiny bathroom downstairs and full bed and heater upstairs. I can not find all the words I would like to write down about the inconvenience of this.
We asked fot towels and it only took them 4 hous to bring them!
Breakfast is nothing but normal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 1 night on our way to machuppichu,we arrived in the afternoon and the staff was very polite & friendly, right away they took care of our luggage and as soon as we were done cking in a nice lady offered us tea, I really appreciated the gesture after many days of touring Peru we were feeling tired also the room was spacious and clean; nice bathroom; later that night we went to their restaurant and sat close to the fire place, the food was fresh homemade delicious!, they also have wi-if and a nice lounge where you can relax with your family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

An old monastery with lots of charm and history. The rooms were very comfortable and the beautiful gardens were enjoyable to stroll through or just sit, relax and enjoy. A car is necessary as the hotel is not immediately handy to restaurants or tourist locations. We ate in the restaurant and I would rate the food and service as fair. However, I would stay here again but look for alternative places to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaraHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Lovely quiet spot, beautiful old buildings and picturesque courtyards and lovely chapel adjoining. Staff very helpful, though a little challenged by English!
Good breakfast, but did not try the dinner, though the restaurant looks very nice. Do go to Tres Keros in the town, fantastic.
The rooms are a bit mixed. Some are very nice with pleasant views over courtyards, other are very poor - avoid the triple rooms (no 300's) dark and dingy. Generally not terribly well designed but pleasant enough. Wifi was excellent when working but had been off a while when we arrived.
Overall good for a couple of days while exploring the Sacred Valley.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#19 of 29 in Urubamba
453 reviews
6 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
5.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
2 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#13 of 29 in Urubamba
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel

Address: Jr. Recoleta s/n | Cuzco, Urubamba, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £64 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urubamba is located to 76 km from Cusco, it is a stunning valley with an incredible scenic beauty, and historical heritage, thanks to its excellent location, it becomes the best starting point to visit Machu Picchu (just an hour and a half by train).The Recoleta Hotel is a historical religious monument built up in the XVII century. This charming Boutique hotel in the Sacred Valley of the Incas was and is the mixed races purest example of the colonial art. The Recoleta Hotel, cautiously remodeled in 2007, has all ascetic, monastic, and magical tradition of an ancient monastery, together with the comfort and technology will make you feel part of the spiritual mysticism of the Sacred Valley of the Incas. The Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel is nearby the most important ruins of the Sacred Valley of the Incas such as Ollantaytambo, Pisac and Maras Moray. Its convenient location attracts travelers because it is ideal for acclimatization to the Cusco altitude, and for its pleasant climate and low altitude (2.700 m.a.s.l.), 700 m.a.s.l. less than Cuzco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin Monasterio De La Recoleta Hotel Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing