We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great ambiance, perfect service”
Review of Restaurante Hawa

Restaurante Hawa
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Cusco, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, great ambiance, perfect service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We went to this place to have a late lunch and we had a great meal. The food is better than what I usually get for this price range in Peru, the service is impeccable, and the big fireplace in the middle of the room gives the place a lot of charm. If possible, try to keep a bit of your appetite for desert. I definitely recommend trying the ice cream.
The only problem about this restaurant is the terrace. It’s large, it’s comfortable and the garden is beautiful but I can’t have a smoke with my coffee at the end of the meal. The whole place is non-smoker.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benoit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M, Manager at Restaurante Hawa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Hawa; an iconic restaurant in the Sacred Valley!

I am really grateful to you for the magnificent comment on our staff, service, food and property itself.

It is really comforting to know that we are one of your top dinning rooms and be sure that we will always have our doors open for all our VIP clients, like you.

Let me inform you that we are the first hotel in Peru and the second one in South America with LEED certification. We are a non-smoking hotel. However, we do have some reserved areas for our smoker guests.

Do hope to welcome you back in time again.

Respecfully,

Luis Matute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    47
    25
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dissenting voice”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Unlike the other reviews we found the food disappointing but agree that the service was impeccable. The kitchen tries to do too much and can't quite pull off the sophisticated flavor combinations described in the menu. All of the proteins were cooked very well but the combination of ingredients (especially in the rack of alpaca) overwhelm and distract. There are other options in town that make better use of local ingredients to create a more balanced dish.

Helpful?
5 Thank FoodyFoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M, Manager at Restaurante Hawa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Hawa Restaurant in the Sacred Valley!

Deeply grateful to you for your comment and be sure that our Executive Cheff has already been informed of your appreciation and he and his team will do their best in order to achieve proper flavors, dressing and food presentation.

Thank you for your opinion on our staff and service.

Do hope to welcome you back in time.

Respectfully,

Luis Matute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, gorgeous ambiance, and great service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had several delicious meals at Hawa. Dinner was spectacular (on par with top fine dining restaurants in America) and the breakfast buffet is delicious as well.

Our server for dinner - Oswaldo Mango -.was so great that I wrote his name down to compliment him specifically. He was attentive, friendly, and gave great suggestions. Thanks Oswaldo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartsc_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M, Gerente at Restaurante Hawa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Hawa restaurant for your meals!

It has been great to read your comment and realize that you overall experience in our restaurant was simple magnificent.

Thank you for your appreciation on Oswaldo and the rest of our staff.

We do hope you let us share with you our meals again in time.

Respectfully,

Luis Matute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Oasis in Urubamba”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Restaurante Hawa is locate in the Tambo del Inka resort and is a fantastic place for dinner. We stayed there for 4 nights and had excellent service and food each night. Although we ventured outside the resort during the day, we ate all our dinners at Hawa. The service was great, very relaxed and never rushed. Timing of each service from drinks, apps, entrée and dessert were all expertly delivered. Top mention to Roger and Rene, two of the best, who made our dining experience very pleasant. Not only did they serve us without fail, but also made pleasant conversation of life in Urubamba, but also provided great advice for our daily outings. I ventured into each of the local dishes, which was all delicious and safely prepared, while my wife stayed to more of the norm which was readily available. All dishes served hot (or cold as appropriate), and carefully prepared both visually and tastefully. So if you find yourself in Urubamba and the wonderful resort of Tambo del Inka, make sure you stop in to the Hawa and enjoy not only the wonderful food, but also the excellent staff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aladin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M, Gerente at Restaurante Hawa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Hawa restaurant!

It is really delightful to read your comment and realize that you had a wonderful meal experience while you stayed with us.

Thank you indeed for your appreciation on Roger and Rene. As you mentioned, both of them together with all of our staff are constantly trained on service matters in order to exceed each of our guests expectations.

Glad to know that you did enjoy some of our delicious plates.

Sure hope to welcome you back and keep on tasting our marvelous food and beverage selection.

Respectfully,

Luis Matute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Gourmet Peruvian Food in a Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This restaurant should be classified under Urubamba and not Cusco. If so, it would have more reviews and be # 1. This place is amazing. We stayed in the Tambo del Inka for 4 nights. We ate daily breakfast and one dinner in Hawa. The food was out of this world. But the service was a bit slow. Each item was cooked perfectly and the ambience in the room is truly a five star experience. For dinner, my party of three had entrees and desserts. Alpaca, trout and pork. Each was cooked perfectly and the side dishes were ideal. The desserts were artistic in their presentation and tasty to the palate. Other than the steep price, this place was ideal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Profguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M, Gerente at Restaurante Hawa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Hawa restaurant!

I am really delighted to read your comment and realize that your gastronomic experience in our restaurant was simply great!

Definetely, our Executive Chef and the personnel do always look to exceed all of our guests´ expectations.

Nice to see that you did enjoy our Alpaca, trout and pork and some other dishes and drinks during your meals with us.

Sure hope you visit us in time again.

Best regards,

Luis Matute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Hawa also viewed

Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Restaurante Hawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing