We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, incredibly slow service, no character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, incredibly slow service, no character”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The rooms we had in an Andean bungalow were lovely. Could not fault.
There was an initial mix up over the rooms we had booked, they were not available.

Staff were polite but nothing more. No warm friendly reception and exceptionally slow service all around even though it was only 30% occupancy. The overall atmosphere was bland and unfriendly and the location was in the middle of no where, you can not access other places to eat and the restaurant is not particularly endearing. Sadly we wee glad to leave.

Stayed in Casa Andina, Miaraflores, Lima recently and the experience was totally different - they could teach Sacred Valley a thing or two about service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate that you share your experience at our Private Sacred Valley hotel.

We regret we did not fulfill what you expected during your last stay and the impression you took regarding our service. Definitely, this does not reflect the quality standards that we want to reflect to all our guests and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Rest assured, we have already shared your comments with our team in order to strengthen this point and improve our service.

We hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    382
    101
    40
    11
See reviews for
299
562
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

After a full day of seeing the sights, we traveled along the Urubamba River and eventually turned up a rutted dirt road with shanties hard by each side and animals wandering everywhere. As my expectations dropped, we pulled through a wide gate into an absolute paradise. This was a handsome grouping of long two-story haciendas surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Our room had a rear deck with spectacular mountain views. There was a fenced pen housing a pair of llamas. The main building was well-appointed (with a steady supply of coca tea) and the breakfasts we ate were very nice. Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous setting in the hills of Sacred Valley surrounded by lush farms, cozy mountain community, first rate service, food, huge rooms with all the amenities. Our breakfast and dinner meals were a top rate experience with outstanding wait service. This is a very clasically romantic experience, great 1st and 2nd honeymoon location!!!! Thank you Casa Andina!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Beautiful large, spacious room and bath. Gorgeous location surrounded by the Sacred Valley mountains and gardens. Atmosphere is relaxing...walking grounds surrounding by such beauty is a wonderful start for a vacation. We never had time to use the spa or visit the planetarium. Too busy and too tired! All units require walking from main desk and restaurant. Restaurant had excellent service and food -breakfast had many, many choices and omelet station and dinner was fine dining$$$. Restaurant is pricey with no competition. Nice wine selection. Only downfall is it is far away from town so no close eaterys or shopping near... but they had on site venders offering Peruvian items, with not bad prices. . We were with VBT touring so our bus took us to and from the hotel to the sites.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are up sets of stairs- no elevators- so you must walk and carry baggage(they set i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I found the hotel to be very beautiful and peaceful. The layout of the property was very spacious with wide lovely lawn areas, and grazing Alpaca and Lllama.....Amazing!

Service was excellent from the waiters in the dining room, to the bellmen and especially a young lady named Milagro who worked at reception. She went out of her way to please us, and was a pleasure to work with. An excellent representative of the company!

I was very disappointed with the large French Group who took over the private dining room in the restaurant and were singing what looks like soccer songs, while consuming large amounts of alcohol. They were so loud they drowned out the lovely local harpist in the dining room. When i went to the front desk to say something about it, I could here them in the lobby of the hotel! Unacceptable for one group to ruin the experience of other diners.

Room Tip: I think a room more to the center of the resort would be better since they would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWayne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Of the three hotels we stayed at in Cusco region, this was the best for style and comfort.
Pros: Beautiful grounds, planetarium and observatory on site, good food at restaurant
Cons: Restaurant pricey and hotel far from town

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were here as part of a tour group (Gate 1) visiting the Sacred Valley and MP November 19-20. I encountered a few issues during our stay ... here's what they were and how to get around them.

1. The hotel is composed of a main building containing the lobby, bar, restaurant, etc and 9 two story buildings set on beautifully kept grounds up the side of a hill. If you're in one of the higher blocks, e.g. rooms 500 and above, it is quite a hike from the main building to your room and the thin air makes it quite an effort. Walking down is ok, but up can leave you gasping, so take advantage of the golf cart shuttle service available from the lobby.

2. The rooms don't have climate control, just a radiator for heat. Make sure the heat is turned down or off. We didn't and woke up in the middle of the night in an oven. The windows open but have no screens, and in our room were only about 2' off the ground, so you don't want to leave them open while sleeping in case something flies or jumps through.

3. The internet wasn't working for most of our stay, and the front desk staff didn't seem to know or care much why we couldn't get service. We were told there was wifi only in the lobby, but in fact it is also in the rooms. I found that the internet was working ok during the wee hours (11 pm to about 6 am), but got bogged down as more users tried to get on. With so many people having smart phones, tablets, etc. They seriously need to upgrade their technology.

4. The onsite restaurant and bar are ok and the food is good enough, but pricey for the area and quality. Don't let the fact that you are in a remote location deter you from going out. You can get a taxi to Urubamba for about 20 soles (8$) round trip and eat at a place like El Huacatay.

Enjoy the view!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
5.4 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
4.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
4.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado

Property: Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
Address: 5to Paradero Yanahuara | Valle Sagrado, Urubamba, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#6 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sacred Valley's most complete hotel: a mountain chalet-styled retreat with panoramic Andes views from every room and every angle. On more than 8 landscaped acres, it breathes an air of tranquility and relaxation. Unique among Sacred Valley hotels - most of which remain isolated in the valley, offering precious little for guests to do - it contains an extraordinary, full-service "Sacred-Spa", a domed Planetarium-&-Observatory for stargazing in the massive Southern-Hemisphere sky, and gourmet restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Hotel Urubamba
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing