We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the Best Resorts in Latin America”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Among the Best Resorts in Latin America”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The Tambo Del Inka is a brand new (2010) resort property that is a part of the Starwood group/Luxury Collection. It is designed and outfitted at the very highest level. The style is refined and respectful of it's surroundings. The spa is outstanding. The restaurant is well executed and has excellent sensibilities. Their incorporation of local ingredients and home grown products is especially nice. The train to Machu Picchu literally departs from their compound.

Though outstanding in nearly every way, to be helpful I will highlight a few areas of improvement:

1) bathroom products don't live up to amazing bathroom design. G&S screams Hilton garden Inn;

2) Amazing and beautifully designed spa. However, the pool actually seems small and the jacuzzi is only accessible thru the LADIES locker room(!);

3) A library would be a welcome addition to the property and could be filled with books on Peru and history;

4). Hotel doesn't sell a single souvenir. (or stamps or postcards) While sort of refreshing, it was sad I couldn't take home a Tambo Del Inka coffee mug to brag at the office about this amazing resort!

Suggestions for future guests:

Request a third floor room with a mountain view..best by far. Sunday market in Urubamba is terrific and unspoiled. Eat at both good restaurants nearby. Taxi from Cusco takes 90 mins, plan accordingly. 90 Soles is the non inflated price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duchamp_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,208
    207
    37
    18
    10
See reviews for
669
1,167
65
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here for two nights after our exhausting 4-day Inka Trail Hike. This place was indeed a heaven!
As soon as we arrived at the property, we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately carried our bags into the lobby.
Room: My SPG platinum, got us upgraded to a beautiful 1 bedroom patio suite overlooking the water fountains. The rooms were modern yet beautifully adorned with Inca decor.
Spa: We had a couples massage. The masseuse were attentive and very friendly. The 'hydrotherapy treatment pool' was one of the highlights in the hotel. -A must try!
The indoor/outdoor pool was beuatiful, but we didn't use it as we were having too much fun in the treatment pool!
Location: Walkable to Urubamba town. Quiet, beautiful surroundings
On the last day, we had to leave Tambo at 5AM to arrive to Cusco for a bus tour at 7AM. The car transfer I reserved canceled on me at the last minute. Luckily, Jesus (front desk) made few calls and was able to get us a car transfer back to Cusco in time! What a relief!
Overall, all staff were very amazing- very attentive and courteous, A special thanks to:
Jesus, front desk - for being so efficient at handling last minute emergencies.
Maria Ximena, chief concierge - for contacting me prior our arrival in making our stay at Tambo so amazning and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rincongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Tambo del Inka is a gem in the Sacred Valley. We just got back from our trip and had a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived to the second we left we were treated like royalty. We went in April, which is their slow season, and felt like we had the hotel to ourselves, even though there were other guests while we were there.

The rooms are outstanding. We were on the bottom floor and loved our walkout. The staff was warm and offered their help whenever we needed. They even volunteered to run to a local pharmacy for us one evening to get some aloe after we mistakenly hadn't applied sunscreen. The concierge was fabulous and arranged a personal driver for our entire trip.

The hotel is in the perfect location. It's in the heart of the beautiful Sacred Valley, it's probably the nicest hotel within a short train ride to Machu Picchu, it's close to good touring places including Pisac, Chinchero, Ollantaytambo and it's a lower altitude than Cusco so makes for an easier acclimation.

We couldn't imagine finding a nicer place to stay on a trip to visit Machu Picchu. The only thing we'd remind people of who are chosing to explore on your own - you must buy tickets to Machu Picchu at Agua Caliente before you take the bus ride up to Machu Picchu, just a little mistake on our part.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makingmemories4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

From the moment you arrive to when you leave the staff of this hotel provide visitors with top notch service in a friendly manner. The inside and outside of this property are in pristine condition. The staff takes pride in their work and goes out of their way to make guests feel comfortable.
Here are some highlights:
* Knowledgeable concierge service helps coordinate your stay prior to arrival (~$80 car service from Cusco; ride is ~ 1hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes and is picturesque)
* On site "Tikariy" tour service arranges Machu Picchu visits and other adventures (reserve prior to arrival - work with concierge)
* Hotel has its own train station for Machu Picchu (although late afternoon arrivals back to Urubamba will need to take a ~$7 cab ride back from a nearby town (Ollantaytambo)...bring a flashlight and have directions to the town [~10 minute walk from train station] or coordinate a car service with the hotel])
* ~25m indoor/outdoor pool with an amazing spa facility that far exceeds the best in NYC area. Fitness center keeps you busy for a 30 - 60 minute workout. Lockers have steam and sauna rooms
* Great food and drinks (a little pricey when compared to other options in town; but is more convenient). Small game room has a pool table. Complimentary teas available throughout the day in the lobby
* ATM and business center with free internet. Complimentary shoe shines
* Situated in a small, but interesting and safe town (not the "night life" of Cusco, but you are closer to Machu Picchu) . It is safe to walk around at night and the only question that we were asked is if we wanted a taxi (mopeds). The people are reserved, but friendly. The market in the town is very unique

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAHAWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We just returned from the most indulgent hotel experience ever at Tambo Del Inka. The facility was gorgeous – inside and out. The interior was beautifully decorated and the outside provided peaceful mountain and river views. The pool was an experience! It spanned indoors and outdoors, with serene sounds and sights. The staff was as attentive and helpful as I’ve ever experienced – concierge staff arranged expeditions, both before we arrived and during our stay. A great experience all around!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemeisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding Ridge, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I read several reviews on this hotel and decided to stay at the property with Starwood Points -- fortunate for me, because it is pricey. However, the hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and appointed nicely with all the amenities. The Concierge was so helpful in coordinating transportation, tours and restaurant suggestions. The entire staff were incredibly friendly, always had a smile on their face and were always ready to help. We stayed two nights, but I wish we had stayed longer. In addition, there is SO much to see in the Sacred Valley -- we used this stop to acclimate to the altitude (9,000 ft) instead of Cusco which is so much higher (11,000) than Machu Picchu (7,000 feet). It was truly fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I just have to agree with the previous reviews that our experience was perfect in every way. Service was far above and beyond and the property is absolutely spectacular in a perfectly understated way. Breakfast was great - the quinoa pancakes to die for. I'm sorry we did not have time to have dinner there our last night, as our return from Machu Picchu was delayed seven hours due to a mudslide closing the rail line temporarily. However, to point out the exceptional service, the hotel sent a car and driver to meet us at 1:30 am (all of a block away) as the stop within the hotel property was closed by then. They apparently did this by getting in touch with PeruRail as we were the only two passengers on the train for the final leg from Ollanta to Urubamba!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourblackstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#3 of 26 in Urubamba
752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
17.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing