We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Tell Anyone Else About This Great Place!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Tell Anyone Else About This Great Place!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This hotel is one of those amazing finds you hope no one else hears about so that it won't ever be overrun nor ovvercrowded......and I'm hesitant to write a review about it for that reason :). I simply can't say enough good things about my experience w/ this property. You can't go ANYWHERE, at anytime, on this property without staff from everywhere (from all levels/areas of service, not just the desk agents, not just the concierges, but the groundskeepers, the maids, the waitresses, the doormen, the gym attendants, everyone, everywhere on staff....) looking right at you and intentionally smiling and wishing you a good day. A great sanctuary to "come home" to after a day's adventures around the surrounding, beautiful Sacred Valley. Room was always spotless, breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful with a wide variety of foods on offer, the grounds were as relaxing as they were beautiful, staff always helpful, fantastic location...what more could a guest want. I would absolutely stay there agaain, hands down.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    197
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
626
1,106
63
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is my first review on Tripadvisor. I´ve always trusted the reviewers of the Tripadvisor forums and have never gone wrong with any of their suggestions. Let me just begin by saying that this hotel is amazing. The setting, location and staff is exactly what you would expect of a 5 star establishment. We were able to get to all of the sites around the Sacred Valley that we wanted to visit within an hour and it made the perfect base for us to return each night. After a day of exploring the local ruins, it´s nice to walk back into the hotel where the staff greets you and makes sure that everything you need is available. The concierge team of Erica and Giancarlos was very knowledgeable of the local area, even more so than the travel agent on site. They were integral in assisting us daily on our excursions and made sure all of our visits went well without a hitch. They even looked at our registration and figured out that my husband was celebrating a birthday during our stay and have the restaurant bring out a birthday cake. I feel that it´s little details like that which sets them apart from other hotels. Yes, prices are expensive, but if you are looking for the ultimate experience while visiting the Sacred Valley, Tambo Del Inka is the way to go. I can´t say enough about the hotel and the staff. This has been a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We spent 2 1/2 weeks in Peru and primarily stayed in 5 star properties so had a lot of other hotels to compare Tambo det Inka to including Inkaterra La Casona, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, Sanctuary Lodge, and Las Casitas del Colca. We spent 3 nights at Tambo del Inka which we used as a base for touring that section of the SV before moving up to Ollantaytambo for another 2 nights. While the service was good to very good at the other properties, the service at Tambo del Inka was clearly superior to any of the other properties.

To begin with, we received an email to confirm our trip several weeks before we left. I had made the reservation some 9 months earlier and went on-line to review the property only to discover that the rates had dropped considerably since my original booking. I contacted Starwood (the hotel's chain) and asked if I could either have my rate adjusted or upgrade to a better room. As it turned out, for considerably less than my original rate for a Deluxe Room, we could get a Junior Suite "with butler" which we opted to do. The Starwood people were very helpful and in fact offered me a further reduction if I was a AAA member. Nice.

When we checked into the hotel, we were greeted with a cup of coca tea and introduced to our butler, Barnaby. My husband had told me earlier he did not need a butler and had no idea what he would do with one. After 1 day, we realized we did need a butler and wondered how we had gotten along in the past without one. Barnaby, made all restaurant reservations for us (I am sure the concierge would do the same), arranged tours and guides, brought us coffee and tea in the morning, and when we walked into the hotel he would take our packages from us and deliver them to the room so we could head straight to the bar for a pisco sour. BTW, they make the best piscos in Peru!!! They blend the pisco first then shake with ice just to chill it so that in this way, the ice doesn't melt into the drink and water it down. The outdoor bar area is the perfect spot for a drink.

The property itself was magnificent with the Urubamba river on one side and dramatic mountains on the other. Rooms were decorated with local art and handicrafts and the bathroom had all the amenities you could ask for.

Back to the service... We discussed with Barnaby a concern we had about our luggage relative to our trip to Machu Picchu. After our stay there we planned on moving to Ollantaytambo for 2 nights then taking the train to MP for an overnight then heading on to Cuzco. Barnaby said that they would gladly take our 2 large bags from us and drop them off at our hotel in Cuzco so we could simply take small bags with us to Ollantaytambo then MP. Oh - and there would be no charge for this. We took him up on his offer and our bags were there waiting for us when we arrived at our hotel in Cuzco. Now that is 5 star service!!!

Food in the restaurant was very good. While the breakfast buffet is certainly substantial, in addition you can order eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc. off a menu. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and found it to be quite good and ate out the other 2 nights. Our favorite restaurant was Tres Keros, a short walk from the hotel. Great wine list, food, and ambience (fireplace, wooden floors, rustic) and charming chef/owner. We talked at length with the the chef/owner and a couple at a nearby table about wine. After dinner the owner brought out a second bottle for us to share with the other couple and when we talked about pisco sours, he made one and brought it over for us to taste.

The only negative about the experience was the fact that during daylight hours there was often music coming from some houses across the river. Of course you couldn't hear it when the windows were closed but a bit of an annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Probably one of the best if not the best hotel I have enjoyed. 
Firstly the architecture, design, materials and attention to detail of the property are flawless. 
Situated on the river bank, surrounded by eucalyptus trees, with the stunning background of the mountains beyond, the buildings use wood and stone to blend perfectly with the environment, and the interior public spaces echo the canopy of a forest.
Rooms are really spacious with a wonderfully decadent walk in closet with plenty of space and hangers for clothes. The bathroom is well designed with glass partitions separating the bath/shower wet room from the loo. 
These days it sometimes hard to be 'wowed' but a hotel room but the Tambo del Inka really makes you feel you are somewhere special - we didn't want to leave!
Food was superb - even classic western-style snacks like a club sandwich tasted amongst the best I've enjoyed, and service is highly professional and responsive without being overly attentive. 
It's a luxurious oasis amongst the drama and energy-sapping high altitude Andes. 
Can't really fault the place. It's relative new, so when we were there occupancy was low, so the public spaces lacked ambiance but it was a luxury to have the place to ourselves. 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I would like to reinforce what the previous reviewers have mentioned. This is one of the best luxurious accommodation in sacred valley and a perfect base to explore the sacred valley as well as acclimatize before venturing to the higher altitude (Cusco, Colca or Puno). A very good restaurant if you want alternative Peruvian cuisine is located 400m outside the main gates ( turn left at gates) of the resort 3 Keros
Gourmet. The door maybe close but give a yell as the owner/ chef maybe busy watching a soccer match on TV.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EldrickWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

The Tambo Del Inka is a brand new (2010) resort property that is a part of the Starwood group/Luxury Collection. It is designed and outfitted at the very highest level. The style is refined and respectful of it's surroundings. The spa is outstanding. The restaurant is well executed and has excellent sensibilities. Their incorporation of local ingredients and home grown products is especially nice. The train to Machu Picchu literally departs from their compound.

Though outstanding in nearly every way, to be helpful I will highlight a few areas of improvement:

1) bathroom products don't live up to amazing bathroom design. G&S screams Hilton garden Inn;

2) Amazing and beautifully designed spa. However, the pool actually seems small and the jacuzzi is only accessible thru the LADIES locker room(!);

3) A library would be a welcome addition to the property and could be filled with books on Peru and history;

4). Hotel doesn't sell a single souvenir. (or stamps or postcards) While sort of refreshing, it was sad I couldn't take home a Tambo Del Inka coffee mug to brag at the office about this amazing resort!

Suggestions for future guests:

Request a third floor room with a mountain view..best by far. Sunday market in Urubamba is terrific and unspoiled. Eat at both good restaurants nearby. Taxi from Cusco takes 90 mins, plan accordingly. 90 Soles is the non inflated price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duchamp_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here for two nights after our exhausting 4-day Inka Trail Hike. This place was indeed a heaven!
As soon as we arrived at the property, we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately carried our bags into the lobby.
Room: My SPG platinum, got us upgraded to a beautiful 1 bedroom patio suite overlooking the water fountains. The rooms were modern yet beautifully adorned with Inca decor.
Spa: We had a couples massage. The masseuse were attentive and very friendly. The 'hydrotherapy treatment pool' was one of the highlights in the hotel. -A must try!
The indoor/outdoor pool was beuatiful, but we didn't use it as we were having too much fun in the treatment pool!
Location: Walkable to Urubamba town. Quiet, beautiful surroundings
On the last day, we had to leave Tambo at 5AM to arrive to Cusco for a bus tour at 7AM. The car transfer I reserved canceled on me at the last minute. Luckily, Jesus (front desk) made few calls and was able to get us a car transfer back to Cusco in time! What a relief!
Overall, all staff were very amazing- very attentive and courteous, A special thanks to:
Jesus, front desk - for being so efficient at handling last minute emergencies.
Maria Ximena, chief concierge - for contacting me prior our arrival in making our stay at Tambo so amazning and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rincongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
17.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing