We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 May 2011

What a nice place to relax after all the beautiful Inka treasures.
A new hotel, very stylish and beautiful decorated. Fantastic rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,686 - 1,692 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

We planned to stay here for 3 nights after the Inca Trail, but ended up going back to Cusco a night early because of (a) a lack of things to do in Urubamba, and (b) the amount of money we were spending. Although our rooms were only $220/night, we ended up spending more than $700 on a two-night stay after meals, service charge, etc. The hotel and the rooms are beautiful, modern, and comfortable, but lacked the charm of the smaller places we stayed in Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and some things were not well thought out. For example, the lights in the room all turn on and off together (with several brightness settings) and it is impossible to just turn on/off one - difficult for when our toddler was sleeping and we wanted to stay awake, and also resulting in my husband inadvertently turning the bathroom lights off when I was in the shower. Truthfully you should not need a manual for the light switches in a place where you are not going to be staying long... Also in order to turn the shower on, you have to stand directly under it and get hit by cold water, or else stand precariously on the edge of the bathtub. Little things like this seem to have been not well thought out, and it is a very new place so presumably these things could be ironed out with time. The service was fine but nothing special; there were so many people working there that it seemed cold and impersonal, and they did not come to clean our room until late in the afternoon and then to turn down the bed until 9:15 pm - way after we had returned from dinner and our toddler was sleeping. The food was really good but quite expensive, and the town of Urubamba was pretty run down with few eating options (Ollantaytambo is much more charming). We did take a taxi one night to an excellent Peruvian chicken place - I forget the name but the concierge suggested it. Breakfast was OK but not up to standards I would expect from such an expensive hotel - made-to-order choices were limited, and the buffet was average.

Although our room was a "terrace superior" room and more expensive than our friend's "deluxe" (i.e. regular) room, they were actually exactly the same inside, with the exception that ours had french doors which opened onto a very public front lawn with a fountain and air conditioning compressor that were so loud that we couldn't hear each other talking if we left the doors open. Our friend's room just had a large window with a screen, but it opened onto the river, which was much nicer.

If we did it again, I would have spent those two nights at the smaller hotel where we stayed in Ollantaytambo, and just come to Tambo del Inka for lunch and a massage - and saved about $500!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This place is incredible. The rooms are large and very nice. I have stayed at more expensive hotels but never one as nice as this. It even has a large walk in closet. The restaurant is excellent and very cozy with a large fireplace. The bar is relaxing and has a large deck to sit on and enjoy the river. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The spa is great. It is rare when a hotel lives up to expectations and this one does without a doubt. I slept like a baby without being disturbed by noises or light.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife has already given a review as well, but I would have to say that this place really goes out of its way to ensure you feel special. From small details like providing me with a birthday cake at dinner, because they noticed it was my actual birthday that day to answering the many questions we had about the local sightseeing, they just always semed to show genuine interest in our needs. Overall, just a phenomenal experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmartinez04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is simply the best hotel I've been in my life! I usually splurge in 5 star hotels in places like NY, Miami, Paris, etc and this hotel has nothing to be ashamed of compared to those luxury ones! The grounds are superb, the rooms are spacious and full of luxurious items such as flat tv, English toilettries, robes, slippers, etc! The staff goes well beyond their call of duty to make your stay better. You must try the swimming pool and the spa! The food was delicious, the breakfast buffet was top notch quality and dinner was amazing, kudos to the chef. Well deserved the name of Luxury collection. Simply the best hotel in all Peru! Worth every dollar spent there. Congratulations to the architect and decorators.

Room Tip: View of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This hotel is one of those amazing finds you hope no one else hears about so that it won't ever be overrun nor ovvercrowded......and I'm hesitant to write a review about it for that reason :). I simply can't say enough good things about my experience w/ this property. You can't go ANYWHERE, at anytime, on this property without staff from everywhere (from all levels/areas of service, not just the desk agents, not just the concierges, but the groundskeepers, the maids, the waitresses, the doormen, the gym attendants, everyone, everywhere on staff....) looking right at you and intentionally smiling and wishing you a good day. A great sanctuary to "come home" to after a day's adventures around the surrounding, beautiful Sacred Valley. Room was always spotless, breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful with a wide variety of foods on offer, the grounds were as relaxing as they were beautiful, staff always helpful, fantastic location...what more could a guest want. I would absolutely stay there agaain, hands down.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is my first review on Tripadvisor. I´ve always trusted the reviewers of the Tripadvisor forums and have never gone wrong with any of their suggestions. Let me just begin by saying that this hotel is amazing. The setting, location and staff is exactly what you would expect of a 5 star establishment. We were able to get to all of the sites around the Sacred Valley that we wanted to visit within an hour and it made the perfect base for us to return each night. After a day of exploring the local ruins, it´s nice to walk back into the hotel where the staff greets you and makes sure that everything you need is available. The concierge team of Erica and Giancarlos was very knowledgeable of the local area, even more so than the travel agent on site. They were integral in assisting us daily on our excursions and made sure all of our visits went well without a hitch. They even looked at our registration and figured out that my husband was celebrating a birthday during our stay and have the restaurant bring out a birthday cake. I feel that it´s little details like that which sets them apart from other hotels. Yes, prices are expensive, but if you are looking for the ultimate experience while visiting the Sacred Valley, Tambo Del Inka is the way to go. I can´t say enough about the hotel and the staff. This has been a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
5.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado

Address: Avenida Ferrocarril S/N | Sacred Valley, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £186 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado is a hotel in Sacred Valley, Peru that invites visitors to experience a warm and welcoming atmosphere, along with adventure tourism experiences nearby including historical and cultural tours of the vestiges of the Incan Empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing