We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a great place to stay. There is no equal in this area, or probably in the country.
Our stay started when a staff member met us at the train station a short walk to the hotel lobby. the train station is actually on the property. The decorating was beautiful. Even my wife was impressed :)
Our rooms were very nice, clean and spacious. Many US current outlets to charge phones and devices without adapters. Tap water was purified for washing and brushing teeth. They give you all the bottled water that you need for drinking.
Food was out of this world, in the main restaurant and the bar.
Staff was friendly.
We stayed 4 nights. Was going to do 3 nights, but Starwood had a 4th night free promotion, so we took advantage of it. We also stayed 3 nights at the Inkaterra Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes before the Tambo del Inka (also recommended).
My only gripe (and trust me it didn't take away from the experience), was the pool water was kept rather cold. I read something explaining that it's therapeutic to keep it at that temp. Maybe so, but give the people what they want. Read the past reviews. Everyone says the same thing. Especially since you don't have a hot tub men can use (only in ladies room or spa), why not raise the pool temp.
Anyway, I would stay here again in a second. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really glad to know that your experience, since start to end, was simply gorgeous.

In fact, having a private train station and being located in the middle of the Sacred Valley gives all our guests an easier access to other towns, communities and ruins nearby.

Thank you for your words and comments on our staff and property.

Concerning the pool water, as you mention, as per medical prescription, due to altitude and others, it is recommendable the way it is. However, you are right, and our maintenance personnel are already working on it.

Looking forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place is like an oasis after a full day of hiking and seeing the sites. The sheets are super soft - and plenty of english tv stations to watch! I ended up staying here because I was on the Hiram Bingham train and with the rail service being out at Pory station this hotel is a 10 minute right away from the Rio Sagrado Hotel which is where the train leaves from at the moment. So I was able to wake up about an hour later and not have to deal with a long bus ride to the train!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for letting us share Tambo del Inka experience with you!

It is nice to read that your stay in our resort was simply marvelous.

Right! being located in the middle of the Sacred Valley gives all our guests easier access to other towns, communities and ruins nearby.

Thank you indeed for your preference and hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Excellent stay. TDI has kept up its very high standards over these years. I would place TDI to be a top of the line resort anywhere in the world, comparable to the St Regis and W resorts.

Rooms are large and well appointed. The rooms on the bottom floor open out to a patio and garden area. Great to sit outside in fine weather. Pool and spa facilities are good. The hotel grounds are truly luxurious. Enjoy the roaring fireplace in the lobby, get a cup of coca tea, sit back and read or just relax.

Apart from the facilities, the staff are most wonderful. From the moment you pull up, thru checkin, during meals and all throughout our stay, they were most attentive to our needs. Without them, the best location and facilities would still fall short. With a staff like those we met here, it transforms a stay into a truly special experience.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SometimesFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for letting us share Tambo del Inka experience with you!

It is terrific to read your comments and realize that your experience in our resort was simply great.

Thank you indeed for your great appreciation to our staff, service and property. In fact, our personnel is oriented into exceeeding all our guests´ expectations.

Grateful for comparing us to other hotels such us St. Regis and W. and do hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A Very nice secure hotel. Very remote. Food was very good. We had to stay an extra night due to a landslide blocking the train track to Machu Picchu. They put us back in the same room. There was wifi in the lobby and that kept us busy . We walked into the town center and there was a festival going on.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka.

Really happy to read to comments on your stay with us.

Thank you indeed for your good appreciation on our food, outlets, property and service.

Hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was like an oasis, in the middle of a dirt road, with no indication of what was behind the gates! The building, the decor, the rooms, all was amazing and totally unexpected. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff very attentive! The Sacred Valley is truly gorgeous, but, it was a shame we couldn't stay for more than one night! Loved the pool area, but, it was to cool to swim! Nice to sit and enjoy the views! The massage was great too!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, as the hotel is only two years old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for letting us share Tambo del Inka experience with you!

It is terrific to read your comments and realize that you did have a great experience while in our resort.

Thank you indeed for your kind appreciation and support.

You are right, being located in the middle of the Sacred Valley and having our private train station gives our guests the chance to visit other towns, communties and ruins nearby.

Thanks for your preference and hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tambo del Inka after our 4D/3N hike on the Inca Trail.

Our wonderful experience started even before we arrived - we received an email from the hotel so we could book spa treatments, transportation, etc.

Our Inca Trail tour company arranged for our bus to stop at Tambo del Inka before the start of our hike to drop our luggage - when we arrived 4 days later our luggage was already in our room.

This property recognizes Starwood status, which was nice.

Our spa treatment was amazing, especially after hiking 26 miles to Machu Picchu. We ate at the restaurant and the bar (they played the Spurs/Heat game on a big screen) - the food and service was excellent.

A couple of things that they advertise on the website as having but are not actually functioning: their own private train station - oh sure, they have one but its overgrown and non-functioning and by the looks of it has not been functioning for a while.
A market place (retail stores): oh sure, they have lovely market place on the hotel grounds but when my husband and I walked around it we found one functioning store front (PeruRail) and one store front being used as a storage place for the hotel - my husband joked that they had a toilet shop, where you could buy toilets, that's how many toilets were stacked. When we asked about the market place the staff stated it was being "renovated" - I personally did not see any construction.
Perhaps Starwood or Tambo del Inka could update their website...

Our only sour point was at checkout. When we were reviewing our bill the woman checking us out referred to the "service charges" as "tips". When we questioned her further (because we tipped on top of the 10% service charge) she backpedaled and said "no, no - its not a TIP, we don't ever see that money, its a charge imposed by the government, along with the 18% tax".
I don't feel like we received a straight answer and I'm pretty sure we double tipped - which is not to say the staff did not deserve it but it would have been nice to have a straight answer or a clear explanation of the service charge from the start. I understand in the US a lot of the upscale resorts have a "resort fee" tacked on daily - but this was a 10% charge on all services (food, spa, etc).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gretchen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Good morning,

Thank you indeed for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

It was a great pleasure to host you during your stay with us. At the same time, it is part of our service to keep our guests´ lugagge while they do their tours and/or others and to surprise them at check in.

Thank you indeed for you great comments on our staff, Spa, food, restaurant, bar and other outlets which do provide proper service to all our guests.

Really concerned about the misunderstanding concerning the train station and the shops around. Please let me inform you that we do have a daily round frequency to Machu Picchu on a Vistadome autowagon so I am sorry you got some wrong information. Concerning our shops, we are again in the process of getting new communities to come and offer their products as part of our social support. After all, I do hope that your overall experience in our resort was not affected in any way and that we do have the chance to host you again in time.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at four very nice hotels in Peru, and this hotel was by far the best. The rooms are large and BEAUTIFUL. The lobby is so warm and inviting. We actually had dinner in the bar, and it was really fun and tasty. I had a massage at the spa and it was very reasonable and well done. My only knock, is the sauna in the men's side was broken, and the women had the only hot water spa. Again, this was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. The grounds are beautiful for an early morning walk. And the breakfast was REALLY GOOD.

Room Tip: Try to get on the first floor, if you want a patio. If you're afraid of intruders and want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveD_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Thank you indeed for your kind and honest appreciation to our staff, service, food, spa, outlets and property itself.

Glad to see that your experience in our resort was outstanding.

Hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado

Address: Avenida Ferrocarril S/N | Sacred Valley, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £187 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado is a hotel in Sacred Valley, Peru that invites visitors to experience a warm and welcoming atmosphere, along with adventure tourism experiences nearby including historical and cultural tours of the vestiges of the Incan Empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing