We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can all hotels be just like this?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived and were freezing, not used to the cold weather. Check in was on the sofa next to the warm fire. Cups of tea followed. Staff were flawless. 5 star from start to finish. Thawed myself in the amazing shower for at least 30 minutes! The rooms were spacious and all high quality, the views are awe inspiring. Our children (3 and 5) absolutely loved staying here, none of us wanted to leave. We stayed three nights to acclimatise, but honestly, we could have stayed a week easily. Breakfasts were excellent, though I was not a fan of the latte, the regular coffee was fine. Easy walk to food as well. Though you will be limited if you don't take their breakfast. We are all vegetarians and there were plenty of options in their buffet. Also, lots of dogs in Peru but not one was a problem, they are all just lovely dogs. This hotel and the other Starwood hotel in Cusco made our trip spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeDaughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for choosing tambo del Inka, an magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Collection brand!

It is really great to see that you and your family (two kids) has a magnificent experience in our resort during your three night stay.

Thank you for your honest appreciation on our staff, service and property.

Happy to see that you did enjoy our opulent buffet breakfast as well as our installations, rooms and views around the resort.

Do hope to host you back in a short time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 2,697 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Definitely a 5 star experience. From the moment you walk in to the last second the staff is simply amazing. They really do seem to anticipate your every need. The only thing lacking is a hot tub for guys.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Agos_MacIuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you indeed for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Very grateful to you for your amazing comment on our staff, service and property.

Be informed, as well, that our maintenance personnel together witn our headquarter offices are following up on the hot tub for men.

Thank you for sharing with us part of your experience and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Tambo del Inka resort Peru during a tour of South America and highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. It is first class accommodation set in restful gardens on the Urubamba river. The suites are well appointed with luxurious bathrooms. Throughout the entire hotel, including the guest suites, timber walls and ceilings predominate with a huge stone fireplace in the lobby and a large tastefully designed restaurant with a special ambience. A band featuring keyboards and pan flutes played unobtrusively in the restaurant nightly complementing the Peruvian atmosphere. The restaurant menu was extensive and the food very high quality. We thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for letting us share part of Tambo del Inka magic with you!

It is simply terrific to realize that you did have a marvelous time and opulence in our resort.

Thank you indeed for your magnificent appreciation on our building and installations.

Definetely, located in the heart of the Sacred Valley, private train station, huge SPA, well appointed rooms and excellent service make Tambo del Inka a perfect resort to stay.

Do hope to welcome you back in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Described as a "place to rest", nothing could be more apt when you have travelled from Australia. Nothing could be more perfect than staying a few days to catch up. A perfect place not just in the quality of the Resort and the professionalism of the staff but also as a base to explore the magnificent Sacred Valley. It has its own station which makes it so easy for the mandatory trip to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Collection!

I do feel terrific when reading your comment and find out that your overall experience in our resort was simply amazing.

Our location in the heart of the Sacred Valley and our train station gives the perfect smooth and peace to visit other towns and ruins nearby.

Do hope to welcome you back in our resort on your next trip from Australia.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the place to stay if you are looking for luxury hotel with great spa in Sacred Valley/Urubamba. (And if between Tambo del Inka and Aranwa - Tambo del Inka is a higher end option including spa facilities and overall ambience).

Superb location - overlooking mountains, on Urubamba river and still only a few minutes walk from the centre of this little town. The hotel has a train station on premises so a trip to Machu Picchu is very easy.

Deluxe room I stayed at was good size and plush with doors opening out onto a private patio. Great setting - eucalyptus trees, river, mountains.

The spa has great facilities and i especially enjoyed hydrotherapy pools. Staff was very good and accommodating. Rosana, concierge, was spectacularly helpful setting up my itinerary and dealing with any last minute changes.

Tip: when you go to Maccu Picchu do stay at the Sanctuary Lodge for a night to be able to visit the ruins very early in the morning. The place gets so overwhelmed with tourist buses you'll think Disneyland during school break is tranquil compared to the tourist madness at Macc Picchu. Aguas Calientes is a morbid tourist trap, like most people I just went straight to the station to wait for my train. So yes MP is astonishing but with the amount of tourist traffic it gets it's not a worthwhile experience unless you are able to be there around 5-6 am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

It has been great to read your comment and realize that you did have a magnificent experience in our resort.

Thank you for the magnificent appreciation on our staff, service and property.

Do hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Soaring wood ceilings and a giant fireplace greet you (as well as friendly door men) as soon as you walk in. We were met by a reservation concierge, and rather than checking in at a “front desk” we were brought to seats in the lobby, offered tea, and the check in process was done there.

Because of our SPG Gold status we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room from a Superior Room. As far as I can tell the only difference is that the Deluxe rooms are on the ground floor and open out onto a private patio with lounge chairs. Superior rooms are up one level and have what looks like an enclosed “balcony” but you can’t get outside.

The room is huge with a king sized bed, walk in closet, sofa, desk, and two chairs set in front of the terrace doors with a small round table. The bathroom has three separate areas with double sinks and mirror in the center, a frosted glassed-in toilet room, and a clear glass “wet room” with tub and separate shower. Our room was on the river side of the property, and while we could hear it, it was only slightly visible through the foliage.

We did not dine in the hotel except for a few room service breakfasts and the breakfast buffet on the last morning there. I didn't feel the buffet in the restaurant was worth the hefty fee. The bar, on the other hand was fabulous. This is where we had our first Pisco cocktails, shortly after checking in, and every day thereafter. My favorite was called the “oh Gooseberry” and was made with Pisco, lemon syrup, fresh gooseberries and fresh basil. They have a tasty bar menu and bring complimentary freshly fried potato chips.

On the hotel’s grounds sits the only train station in Urubamba. There is one train per day which goes up and returns from Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu Publo which the the base town to get to the Machu Picchu Ruins. The trip takes about 2.5 hours each way and if you’re staying at the hotel, makes it very convenient. The hotel asks guests to meet them in the lobby so that they can walk everyone over to the train, but I figured we could find it ourselves. The afternoon before our morning train departure, I walked the grounds, just so I could get the lay of the land. I discovered that we could exit from a different door (next to the elevators) closer to our room, walk though the back side of the hotel which has a giant water feature and save ourselves 10 minutes of having to go out through the lobby.

We stayed here 4 nights and while we were here we visited Chinchero, Morey and Maras, Ollantaytambo and Pisac and took the train from the hotel to visit Machu Picchu. What we didn’t have time to do was enjoy the resort facilities of the Tambo del Inka or visit the town of Urubamba itself other than for dinner. If I had to do it again, I would build in more down time to enjoy the hotel, the spa and the town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wired2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

It has been delightful to read your comment and realize that you did have a marvelous time while in our resort.

Thank you indeed for your appreciation on our staff, service and property.

Definetely, a great location in the heart of the Sacred valley with beautiful installations and outlets.

Do look forward to hostring you again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Tambo Del Inka for three nights.

We used the hotel as a base to travel around the Sacred Valley. Views from the hotel are incredible.

Amazing hotel! Spotless! Food is spectacular and I recommend trying the bar and eating outside. Housekeeping made us feel better than at our own home.

Front desk and concierge service is great! Staff remembers your name and goes out of their way.

Overall: excellent stay and would rate this even higher if I had the option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel20202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; an iconic resort in Peru!

It has been really terrific to read your comment and see that you did have a marvelous time while your stay with us.

Thank you indeed for your great appreciation on our whole Staff and for sharing part of your feeling and experience in the bar, restaurant, room and other outlets.

Definitely, being located in the heart of the Sacred Valley is a perfect home bas for touring other ruins, towns and communities nearby.

Sure hope to welcome you back in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
798 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
5.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado

Address: Avenida Ferrocarril S/N | Sacred Valley, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £222 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado is a hotel in Sacred Valley, Peru that invites visitors to experience a warm and welcoming atmosphere, along with adventure tourism experiences nearby including historical and cultural tours of the vestiges of the Incan Empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing