We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Rumichaca
Nearby Hotels
La Capilla Lodge(Urubamba)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inti Nan Hotel(Urubamba)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,036
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$890
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$859
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$703
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
31
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2007

What an amazing place! Owners Jose and Ilene are gracious hosts. When we contacted them, they arranged everything for our visit to Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu.

The rooms are spacious and comfy. They guarantee 24 hours of hot water and they deliver - even at 4 am! Ilene prepares all of the meals herself with ingredients from her lush, expansive garden. The food is to die for! Each meal was a masterpiece.


If there is ever a place to stay in Sacred Valley, this is the spot! Anyone I know that wants to see MP will stay with Jose and Ilene.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdalton51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Hostel Rumichaca was a dream. Hosts Jose and Irena are the prefect blend of friend and owner. The food was unbelievable, generous, and beautifully served. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and charming. The water was hot and plentiful. What a piece of paradise..the perfect introduction and ending to our visit to Macchu Pichu.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarilloannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2007

This inn is a guest house with breakfast and dinner included. There is a den with a fireplace as well where the hosts serve pisco sours every night before dinner. The meals are gourmet, made with local produce. The breakfasts were very generous and include homemade jam. After the first night, we were the only guests and were still treated to superb service.
The couple who run it will do any arrangements you need in the area, even so far as your whole trip in Peru. The owner researched a local festival for me by request before I arrived.
The gardens are very lush and beautiful. There are patios where you will enjoy the peaceful surroundings with a glass of wine at night or coca tea or coffee in the morning.
This is a great base for the Sacred Valley and Cusco. All day trips can be done from this spot. The owners will also recommend local hiking, if you like. To go to and from Urubamba, there are tuk tuks, (or mototaxis.) For day trips, the taxis or guides will pick you up right at the inn.
Much of their business comes from the US Consulate, which has been recommending it to visitors for years.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAM-LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hosteria Rumichaca with our two children (10 and 12) in August. We are in our mid forties and have done a lot of traveling, including Guatemala, Mexico and Venezuela. We love meeting people who are passionate about sharing their own culture with visitors and this was certainly the case at the Hosteria.

The Hosteria is located near Urubamba, with easy access to major sites (Machu Picchu, Pisac Market, Ollantaytambo..). (more info can be found on their website). In addition to the Urubamba location, there is also a guest house in Cuzco, a sort of “city extension” to the Hosteria. We stayed there for touring Cuzco and Sacsayhuaman. The rooms at the Hosteria and at the Cuzco Guest House are all spacious, clean and well furnished. The staff are friendly and helpful and always ready to bring you a cup of tea to ward off any affects of the high altitude.

The Hosteria is much more than a place to stay. The owner Jose is a Peruvian who has lived many years abroad and this has given him a keen appreciation for what is interesting and different about Peru. Jose is very knowledgeable about Peruvian history, culture and nature. He helped us organize our overall trip and put us in touch with excellent guides and local companies for visits to the Sacred Valley area as well as to Lima and the Puno (Lake Titicaca) area. We highly recommend the Cuzco - Puno tourist bus trip which allowed us to see several interesting sites (Andahuaylillas, Raqchi, Sicuani, Pukara) as well as get a good view of the altiplano (high plains).

Breakfast and dinner are around a communal table. Both breakfast and dinner were generous and very tasty. Dinner is preceded by excellent Pisco Sours (national drink of Peru) which provide ample fuel to discussions around the dinner table. During our stay, we met visitors from the US, an expatriate based in Lima, and a German family.

If you like meeting other people in a relaxed setting, overseen by a professional and enthusiastic host, you will greatly enjoy the Hosteria. We were originally referred to Jose by a friend of ours who is on long-term assignment in Lima. Our friend’s family greatly enjoyed his stay and Jose’s help. Based on our experience, we can equally recommend the Hosteria based on the warm hospitality of its owner and the overall support it can provide to visitors to Peru.

5  Thank jroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son muy lindas y tranquilas y bien iluminadas. En la planta baja son muy grandes con un enorme baño, pero también me encantaron las de los pisos de arriba.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews