We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hatun Wasi is an expereince!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hatun Wasi Urubamba
Ranked #18 of 47 Urubamba B&B and Inns
Castle Rock, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hatun Wasi is an expereince!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hatun Wasi is not just a place to stay; it is an experience, an experience quite unlike anything I have encountered in my previous travels.
First, as a place to stay, the rooms are lovely, the setting is tropical with lots of flowers and shrubbery as well as being surrounded by mountains. The food is excellent; they allowed our group to choose the kind of food we wanted, so we were served excellent indigenous foods.
Second, as a spiritual retreat center, they not only provide a meditation room and spiritual setting, but they arranged for several spiritual healers to be with us.
Ernesto and Isabel are both friendly and hospitable, meeting all of our needs, including arranging hikes, guides, and transportation.
As if all of that was not enough, then at the end of our visit, Isabel provided us with a disk holding all of the pictures she had taken of our group.
This place and these people are amazing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We went there with small children's, and it was THE place to be! Beside the fact that the rooms are very quiet, the big garden was great for us, to let the kids playing while chatting! Ernesto and Isabel are great host. Just for them to improve a bit the rooms: It would be nice to have a curtain on the roof windows: having the sun light at 5 am is not always great! Location is ideal to visit the sacred valley.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstor_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

After a chaotic route and a few hours of plane (around 24 !), we were not expecting much but just a good bed, and a good lunch... When the doors opened we suddenly realized things were on the up! Slowly emerging from our lethargy, we were welcomed by Ernesto who invited us to sit for the home made lunch. Ernesto is always there just when you need, very discrete and so attentive at the same time. A pure bliss to start our stay in the Sacred valley. The atmosphere is so light and peaceful, there is a resonance both in terms of the people and the settings. We felt at home, and just did not really want to leave, the outside world is so busy and full of surprise in comparison to this great surprise ... Isabel and Ernesto were great hosts sharing their knowledge and experience with passion, just what we liked.

Room Tip: The whole area is so quiet, all rooms should be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

When I first arrived, I was blown away by the magical haven that is Hatun Wasi. Don't let the rustic drive along the way deceive you. Hidden among this secret garden are charming rooms, beautiful people, nurturing food & incredible scenary. I truly felt at home staying here under the care of Isabella & Arnesto. I have so much gratitude and appreciation for getting the opportunity to stay here and I highly recommend it to all others!

Much love :)

-Dara

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs0980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Hatun Wasi made me feel so at home, it was hard to leave! The temple space for meditation, the quiet lull of the gardens, the organic filled with love food, the absolutely loving attentive grace of Ernesto and Isabel...this place comes with my highest recommendation.

It is such a gift to have found Hatun Wasi!

Tantas Gracias.

Veronica de Aboitiz

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I went here with my family, they gave us a huge and comfortable house for the 4 of us. Everything was planned perfectly and executed at the agreed time.
They really know about the places so we got the best tour guides, furthermore Isabel and Ernesto know a lot about the culture and history of the places, so they taught us a lot.
Urubamba is a very strategic places, from there you can move everywhere.
Very positive vacations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marianojponce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Isabel and Ernesto took care of everything. You can rely on them as travel agents for a trip to Peru.

We stayed at Hatun Wasi, The Sanctuary Lodge, and a hotel in Cusco.

The Sanctuary Lodge is clearly a 4 star establishement, and you pay for that. It is right at the entrance to Machu Pichu, they provide excellent service and amenities, and meals are included in the very high price.

Completely different, but equally worth 4 stars (or 5 by the trip advisor rating system) is Hatun Wasi. Not only did Isabel and Ernesto orchestrate our trip, but they provided the beauty, intimacy, and peacefulness of their "home": Food, room, comfort, ameneties, service, everything at Hatun Wasi was "just exactly perfect".

We had breakfast every morning outside in their beautiful yard. And a great "bed and breakfast" type breakfast. Excellent coffee (from coffee extract), fresh fruit juices, fresh breads, eggs etc.

Lunch was typically at a restaurant near our tourist site recommended by E&I, and those meals were always great, and matched the style we had requested.

We did have lunch at Hatun Wasi the day we arrived and it was great. The couple of dinners there, at our request, were great also.

Bed and room were fine, comfortable etc. Plenty of hot water. Fresh drinking water always available (no charge).

The place is also centrally located for site-seeing in The Sacred Valley. Less than 1 hour anywhere we went (well, Machu Pichu with train and bus was a little longer).

You cannot go wrong in this place, unless you want a "standard hotel" or need cable TV or something like that. That's right, they also had a wifi connection, although it was not available from the room, it was a few steps to a comfortable seating area where you could access the internet via your own wifi enabled device (I used my phone, including almost free calls back to the U.S. via skype) or their wired PC.

Best of luck on your trip if you decide to go to Peru! It was a great trip, and a major reason for that was Hatun Wasi and Isabel & Ernesto.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RothNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.0 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.0 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatun Wasi Urubamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatun Wasi Urubamba

Property: Hatun Wasi Urubamba
Address: Rumichaka baja s/n | Sacred Valley of the Incas, Urubamba, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatun Wasi Urubamba, is a comfortable lodging, with just 15 rooms to enjoy privacy. Specially designed for families and spiritual groups and strategically located; it was created to share the ancestral knowledge and magic of our ancestors, the beauty of nature and the excitement of adventure, through customized travels and/or a peaceful and relaxing stay in our lodge. HWU provides the opportunity to submerge into the Spirit of the Andes. Contact us to design your visit with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hatun Wasi Urubamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatun Wasi Urubamba Sacred Valley, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing