We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Beautiful Garden, Oasis in the Sacred Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Chullpas Eco Lodge
Ranked #8 of 44 Urubamba B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Quiet, Beautiful Garden, Oasis in the Sacred Valley”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in Las Chullpas in mid November. The cabins are quite nicely appointed, each with an eclectic style of its own. We certainly needed a fire every night. Chalo arranged for a great taxi from Cusco via Mario, who is a professional cusqueño with a new Yaris -- unlike the standard fare for Peruvian taxi service. The grounds are abundant with flowers, a giant hummingbird quickly came in one morning. Honestly, we didn't stay enough time here, I wish that we had stayed more. I hope to come back for a month in the larger suite.

Note, as happens occasionally in Peru, matrimonial beds are two twins pushed together and sheeted as a larger bed. Not necessarily a problem, but something to point out. Rates during the low season were quite reasonable.

It is outside of the town of Urubamba, on a side road that winds up a narrow creek bed. Getting in and out of the grounds requires calling for a cab, perhaps the only down side, and many cabs want too much money to get you back there. Nonetheless, we found it a good base for exploring Ollantaytambo, Urubamba, etc.

Room Tip: Check out the photos of all the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaz_MJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    21
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
22
39
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farjestaden, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here for five nights - the best five nights of our trip! Our room was really nice and beautifully decorated with thick covers on the bed (not the most common in Peru) and a fantastic fireplace. I was quite ill when I came and a bit overwhelmed and really needed some peace and quiet - this was definitely the right place for it! The garden is scattered with hammocks and hanging chairs, they have interesting books that you can borrow and a cosy kitchen that you can use if you want to. The breakfast is excellent and the staff is sweet and accommodating. Many interesting trekking areas and trips in the area and some great healing opportunities around. Only downside was that the shower in our room didn't work so well and that the bathroom was very cold. But overall - a great place that I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the field look amazing - but they are more expensive I think. Palta room is great and f...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linnéa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at Las Chullpas for 2 nights. The owner, Chalo, arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport without any problems. We arrived and were greeted warmly by staff. We enjoyed the unique rooms (although a little chilly at night), lush grounds with hammocks, and above all the service. We ate dinner both nights at Las Chullpas since the food was so good the first night. Chalo is multi-talented and prepared us 3 course meals (some of the best we ate in Peru) each night. It is a great place to begin your trip in a relaxed environment and lower elevation. We got to visit Moray and the salt pans in Salinas while we stayed in Urubamba. It is a hidden gem tucked away from the busy streets and up against the mountains. We highly recommend staying at Las Chullpas!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Michael
Montreal, Canada
Visited in July 2011

“Great Place to stay, great hiking tour!”

We stayed there for only 1 night. What a mistake not to have booked a return here after our trek. Our room was a work of art! Our dinner was exceptionally fine. The buildings and grounds all wonderfully integrated with the natural surroundings of the Sacred Valley. We made the three days Lares Trek that is offered by Las Chulpas. We could not have had a better initiation to trekking in Peru. All of the people involved; operator, guide, cook, driver, horseman were attentive and highly experienced! Call to have them send a taxi to pick you up,
it's not far from Urubamba but a little off the beaten track. Actually the lane in to Las Chullpas is very bearten. Ha ha!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

So much to see in Peru; it's easy to exausted before you realize it. Good shape but over 60. Las Chullpas is an excellant guest house to recharge at. It's definitely off the beaten path (5 minutes out of Urubamba and 10 minutes off main road to Guest House by taxi). Have your taxi driver call Las Chullpas for directions. After getting settled in, having tea, a hike checking out the area, we took 10 minute walk down the entrance road, waved down a Tuktuk (3 wheeled motorbide w/canopy taxi) to Urubamba plaza (2 sols each). Great experience! Had Las Chullpas business card to show Tuktuk driver for ride back (3 sols each). Chalo (owner/innkeeper/chef/problem solver) was great and spoke perfiect english. We used his computer and help to get Peru Rail tickets and Machu Picchu tickets. He treated us like family. Chalo recommended/called taxi driver to take us to sites in area plus drop us in Pisac.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our family of four loved staying at Las Chullpas during our stay in the sacred valley. Our room had 4 comfortable beds with thick warm llama blankets and a fireplace that we enjoying using. The property was quiet, sweet and pretty. The innkeeper is wonderful and worked with us to get the room type and dates we needed. The staff make a beautiful breakfast. The lodge is off the beaten path so you need to be sure to get the hotel's card to get cabs to take you back home. We wished we had more time at Las Chullpas.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isipcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The lodge is really charming set next to open space. The inn keeper and staff are simply delightful and so helpful with very good English. They recommended great places to see and great places to eat and you could tell they really wanted us to have a good time. One place they recommended, the most high end place in urubamba, was magnificent. We live in San Francisco, and I do not exaggerate when I say it would be one of the top restaurants here. Something like el haranguatay, but that is certainly wrong. He will know what place you are asking Bout, urubamba is a small place. The rooms were really nicely decorated and very cozy. Internet was good. A wonderful place to stay. Friendly dogs and cats on property!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliemacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.9 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
0.4 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#14 of 27 in Urubamba
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
2.4 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#16 of 27 in Urubamba
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 27 in Urubamba
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Chullpas Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Chullpas Eco Lodge

Property: Las Chullpas Eco Lodge
Address: Querocancha s/n, Urubamba 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Chullpas Eco Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These woodland cottages with fireplaces and private bathrooms make for the perfect getaway. The site is nestled beneath a mountain and eucalyptus trees. There are garden hammocks and and an open kitchen where food is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Las Chullpas Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Chullpas Eco Lodge Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing