We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the San Agustin hotel when we traveled in Peru with Gate 1. The hotel was generally clean. It had the amenities like shampoo, soap and a hair dryer. Since the nights are cold, there was also an electric heater in the room. This hotel obviously caters to groups since there were two other groups there when we were and another group came when we left. The hotel is adequate and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed a night at this hotel. We had a huge room with balcony, facing somewhat of a garden. It had a living area, with a huge bed and bathroom. Think it was a suite. Of all the hotels, this was the best room we got. Was a little chilly though at night in the room. The hotel grounds are beautiful, shame we didn't explore them more since it was very cold out and not much time on our hands. We wanted to go to a restaurant outside the hotel, however it's location unfortunately did not permit us to do that. The town is very very dark, barely lighting on the streets. I could not see what was 5 feet in front of me, "dogs" howling with a strange market in front. Ummm, yeah we stayed inside and went to the hotel restaurant. What a mistake. The worst and slowest service ever!! Filled with Japanese tourists that seemed lost at all times!!!!!!! That's another story. The waiter took forever to take our order and bring our food. Was thinking about leaving and going out into the scary dark town. I ordered trout. It was really really small, but good. I was still hungry... The morning after, we had to wake up early. There were only cold cuts available. They were still cooking. Not prepared at all. A huge group of Japanese tourists just grabbing everything like crazy, nothing left for anyone else. It was awful, bad organization!!!!!! I would not stay there again. Thank god for the great room.

Room Tip: Corner suites please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginamaria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our room was right across the reception desk so it was always noisy from people walking by. It was very cold while I was staying there and all they had were the little plug in heaters which took forever to heat up the room. Room was clean and wifi was slow at times and good at other times. Food at the restaurant other than the chicken soup was not good at all. Food was either too salty or over cooked. I had the misfortune of having the Pisco Sour and it made me sick. The location is not that much desired since there isn't anything else in close walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were pleased. Like many hotels in small cities, we had a room with two double beds. The hotel does not have heat, however each room had a small space heater if needed. Breakfast was okay, but really did not offer many traditional breakfast items ( I know it is Peru, but breakfast is breakfast)...they had eggs, but they were swimming in water so they were not very appetizing and the toaster was old and very slow so people were waiting in line to toast. One of my pet peeves is frozen butter and that it was every morning. My issues really are minor as for the most part, we had a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank scross9475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel grounds are very pretty, with grassy areas, flowers,. trees and a view of the mountain. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. It was pretty cold mid-May, and the space heater doesn't help much but the blankets were very warm. Bring slippers as the room is only partially carpeted. There was a good breakfast (but take a warm sweater with you.as the restaurant isn't heated). We had dinner there one night and the food was good with very generous portions,

On the down side there was a group of school children the one night, who made a racket from 10.30 to midnight. It wasn't just loud talking - they were slamming doors and knocking on doors of other guests. A member of our tour group went down to reception to complain, and was told that they couldn't do anything, as it was the job of the chaperone. I find it hard to believe that a hotel can't deal with rowdy guests!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel is located in the middle of the town walking distance to the market or you can take a short ride. Hotel has a nice refreshing ambiance with trees, flowers, plants, and greeneries around the courtyard and mountain view. Room we were in was small but clean. Bathroom was a good size and clean with toiletries. Free Wi-Fi in the room and all areas with good connection. Breakfast is good with plenty of choices. Coca tea is served free in the lobby. Staff are nice and friendly. Overall we had a pleasant stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is like an oasis in the middle of town.
i. A beautiful location.
ii. The pool was inviting
iii. Rooms were large
iv. The grounds were an oasis in the middle of the town
v. Breakfast at the hotel was very good -- Large Variety
vi. Staff was good
vii. Water was not Provided

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
5.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
6.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
2.2 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#9 of 29 in Urubamba
203 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#8 of 29 in Urubamba
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Urubamba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Urubamba Hotel

Address: Pisaq Km 69 | Carretera Cusco, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: £44 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Agustin Urubamba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel y Spa San Agustin Urubamba cuenta con una privilegiada ubicacion, excelente para iniciar su visita a Machu Picchu (a tan solo una hora y media de viaje en tren), ademas el hotel se ubica cerca de las mas importantes ruinas del Valle Sagrado de los Incas tales como Ollantaytambo, Pisac y Maras Moray. La buena ubicacion del Hotel Spa tambien atrae a los viajeros por ser ideal para aclimatarse a la altitud de Cuzco, por su agradable clima y baja altura (2,700 msnm), 700 msnm menos que la ciudad de Cusco. El Hotel San Agustin Urubamba era una antigua hacienda colonial hoy remodelado en un magnifico hotel, en sus instalaciones Ud podra encontrar un maravilloso jardin y frondosos arboles, caracteristicos del majestuoso verdor del Valle Sagrado de los Incas. Ademas el hotel cuenta con una piscina al aire libre y un exclusivo spa, que le permitira disfrutar de un ambiente relajante y tranquilo con un calido servicio. El Hotel Urubamba le ofrece 101 habitaciones estandar y suites. Todas las habitaciones son amplias y comodas, con patios y balcones desde donde apreciara el resplandeciente cielo del Valle Sagrado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Agustin Urubamba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel Sacred Valley, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing