We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms - support a good cause”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I were introduced to Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris by a traveler from the Netherlands whom we met on a trail at the Machu Picchu reservation. Since we were looking for a place to stay in Urubamba, we decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did!

It is not easy to find. Our local taxi driver from the Urubamba bus station didn't even know how to find it and had to ask several people along the way. It is in the Querocancha district a couple of km outside central Urubamba, off the road to Ollantaytambo. You go back the same narrow track that leads to Las Chullpas Eco-lodge, and turn left at a crossroads.

Once you get through the (guarded) main gate, the compound is absolutely lovely. This is an orphanage and school for local kids that was founded by a woman from the Netherlands 10 years ago. Everything is built from local materials, and the rooms are absolutely amazing. The fireplace was especially romantic - and necessary during our visit, since the rooms do not have central heat.

Besides providing funds for the entire foundation, the posada operation is also a vocational training ground for students at the school. Our dinner, for example, was served by a teen waiter studying at the hospitality program. Don't forget to ask for a tour of the grounds.

The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. I asked for a "matrimonial" room (single large bed) but all they had was a triple (three single beds). The desk clerk and the security guard proceeded to move one bed out of the room and rearrange the furniture so that the two remaining beds were together. They were also able to arrange a car and driver for us to tour Moray and Las Salinas, two local attractions. (That was Mariano, who became our favorite driver in Urubamba. He ended up taking us all the way to Cusco at the end of our stay, for S./80.)

They also sell costume jewelry made by local mothers to help those mothers generate a little income.

An amazing experience. Don't forget to read the book in the office that chronicles the 10-year effort to get this foundation on its feet.

One note: Don't expect English. I got along fine with my rusty Spanish and a dictionary. Everyone is very patient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

A very peaceful place to stay. Our room, and the bathroom, were large, clean and very tastefully decorated. The gardens are a good place to relax. Friendly and welcoming and a very good base from which to explore Urubamba, maras, moray and the salineras.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed one night at Posada Las Casitas Del Arco Iris and wish we had the opportunity to stay longer. It is truly an oasis in the Sacred Valley. They have a number of very spacious, beautifully decorated bungalows set amongst wonderful gardens.
The rooms were incredible, and in particular, the bathrooms. This is my third trip to Peru and I have never had bathrooms that big!
The service at this hotel is excellent!
The profits from this hotel go to foundation that helps underprivlidged children in Peru so not only are you getting a fantastic nights' stay, you also feel good about where you money is going!

Room Tip: All bungalows are beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Through a friend I ended up at Las casitas del arco iris in the sacred valley of Peru. I stayed there with three friends. After travelling for about 10 days via the highlights of Peru las casitas del arco iris were a true relief. Beautiful gardens, luxureous houses made of natural materials and great service.
After my stay there I became a donor of Kuychi immediately. The rainbowhouses are part of the foundation Kuychi, which enables the forgotten children of Peru a chance.

I can recommend the rainbowhouses hearthly. Actually it is the only reason to return to Peru.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Overgaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Here goes your heart open. Hospitality at the top!
Wonderful stay. Very hospitable. Fireplace in the room! Good bed. Delicious pure food.
Fine spacious bathroom. Many butterflies and hummingbirds in the garden. Safe place to stay.
Very friendly staff. It is very fine staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hester70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

With friends we stayed for the second time at Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris. We fell in love at first sight. That's why we absolutely wanted to return. During our second visit we stayed longer because Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris is the perfect "good feel hideaway" while visiting the Holy Valley. From here we organized all our trips. Actually the employees of Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris did. So being a hideaway but still in the centre of all the highlights and "feel good" because while we slept we supported the future of poor and deprived children. Here they write hospitality in capitals. The architecture and design of this Posada shows good taste for combination of preserving the pureness of nature with respect for the ancient Inca culture and the Peruvians. Last but not least the food is great, vegetables ar incredibly good. Don't forget to book in time directly via website or make a tell your travelagent, which we did.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelief010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our stay was fantastic . The rooms were beautifull, clean and very nice decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We realy love this place.
The hotel is a perfect place to visit the beautifull sacred places in the valley. The hotel staff was very helpfull by booking several last minute trips.
We stayed twice in the hotel ( two years in a row )and both times it was wonderfull. The atmosfere is tranquil and the people lovely.
A great plus is also that on the premisses you can visit the school, dentist and doctor and see the local children. All the work that they do to create a better world for these children is supurb and it is a great adventage as a visitor that you can watch this good work.
We really advise you book this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fien066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.9 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
3.8 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
3.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
6.3 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
6.9 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 28 in Urubamba
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris

Address: Querocancha s/n Urubamba, Urubamba, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Urubamba
Price Range: £51 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our eight bungalows are furnished with a fireplace and a terrace. We also have 3 rooms that share a bathroom. A 100% of our profits gos to our projects "Fundación Niños del Arco Iris" aimed to provide with Health, Education and Love to the most deprived children in the Sacred Valley and their families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Casitas Del Arco Iris Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing