We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel. It was such a unique experience. The staff are dedicated to the mission of the hotel, which is to provide schooling and vocational training to children and young adults from the impoverished villages of the valley. They seemed truly delighted to have us as guests and could not have been more accommodating to our requests. The property is beautifully landscaped. There are tranquil gardens all around. Our room had a fireplace and the staff lit it for us each night. The beds were very comfortable. We had French doors which opened onto a semi private terrace and garden. The bathroom was beautiful with natural stone decorations and a huge tub and separate shower. There is a fan heater in the bathroom and plush robes. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Whilst there was no choice, the food was very fresh and they accommodated our dietary preferences as vegetarians. The dining room had a fire in the evenings and was very comfortable to sit and use the wifi. There was no wifi in the rooms. The hotel staff gave us a tour of the clinic and the school on site and it was inspirational to see the wonderful work being done here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect in every way... Service, comfort and tranquility. We travelled with two young children and they were outside all day playing in the large beautiful gardens. At night we had a bonfire in the forest followed by a lovely, simple and healthy meal in the restaurant. This was the best place we stayed in Peru and I wished we had booked it for longer.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

a short distance from the main road between urubamba and ollantaytambo you will find posada las casitas del arco iris. this is not only a beautifull and peacefull hotel, but also a place where poor children recieve education and love. the staff working here is so dedicated and helpfull, you can enjoy a nice meal and sleep in a beautifull room, surrounded by flowers. just come to check it out, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We are travellers who opt for 3 to 5 star accommodation when on holiday and this truly fits the bill! We arrived quite late in the evening and our host accompanied us into town and gave us an impromtu mini-tour that night with the Sacred Valley Carnival in full flow. He guided us along quieter streets and gave us options of where we could find a small snack as we weren't that hungry. The following day, after a hearty breakfast, we were given a tour of the school and training 'college', both of which were extremely inspirational.

The rooms are cabins (only 8-10 in total) are situated within about an acre of vegetation, with the backdrop of mountains. The rooms are all made from a combination of solid stone and wood. Our room (and I am told most rooms), approximately 18 feet by 18 feet offer a full Stone Fireplace, as well as a sizeable bathroom finished with good taste. Rooms are an excellent standard, as is the situation of the hotel.

It is important to add that the educational section and the hotel, although on the same site, are cordoned off from each other.

This is a wonderful concept where all profits are fed back into this worthy cause. In a country where hotels have to pay to establish a 'star rating', Las Casitas prefers to put every single penny back into the school. This accounts for its lack of a star rating. Even more inspiring is that all the furniture in the cottages is produced by the students at the apprentice college and their talent is constantly encouraged. And the success of this place is reflected in the smiles and eagerness of the kids rushing through the gates in the morning- truly inspirational! Thank you Las Casitas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajjyoti2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is the seccionad time we spend christmas at this hotel, the service is very good, they are always willing to assist. Rooms are very big facing the beautiful garden, always peaceful. Food is good nothing fancy, peruvian home cook, is perfect for a large group, specially if you are travelling with kids and need room for them to wonder around. They have Ping pong tables, a fire place a basketball court and a there is a nearby trail for a small trek. It is not in the center of urubamba so you would need a ride to the town or a 30min walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia230572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Everybody has a busy schedule in Peru, which is why it is well worth having a short break from your holiday to chill, relax and reflect and there is no better place to do this than Las Casitas del Arco Iris. We stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved the peace and quiet. We were the only guests which was great for us but a shame for them as they have put so much effort into making the place perfect to the last detail; and all for a charitable cause so get yourselves along there to support them.
We were met at the main road by Ruben the Manager (via Sacred Valley bus tour which dropped us off instead of going back to Cusco).
Our bungalow was huge, beautifully decorated in a simple country style that was comfortable and relaxing. We loved having our own log fire in the room - what better way to go to sleep than by the light of a flickering fire.
From here we were able to do some walking far away from the tourist trail. We took a taxi up to Moray; fascinating, quiet and well worth seeing, then to Las Salinas to look at the salt pools - another amazing site and not too busy and from there we walked back to the hotel through the countryside passing the time of day with local people as we went. Perfect day ending with a lovely home cooked dinner.
The whole team do a great job of making you feel very welcome and catering for your every need but in a laid back relaxed manner so you hardly know they are there. They conveyed us to Olantaytambo station at the end of our stay to take the train to machu Pichu which, having had a nice rest we were refreshed and ready to enjoy to the full.
My only problem was I couldn't remember the name of the hotel and judging by the different versions that come up in the search, nor can other people so I hope that doesn't prevent you finding the place.

Room Tip: All seem good!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I were introduced to Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris by a traveler from the Netherlands whom we met on a trail at the Machu Picchu reservation. Since we were looking for a place to stay in Urubamba, we decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did!

It is not easy to find. Our local taxi driver from the Urubamba bus station didn't even know how to find it and had to ask several people along the way. It is in the Querocancha district a couple of km outside central Urubamba, off the road to Ollantaytambo. You go back the same narrow track that leads to Las Chullpas Eco-lodge, and turn left at a crossroads.

Once you get through the (guarded) main gate, the compound is absolutely lovely. This is an orphanage and school for local kids that was founded by a woman from the Netherlands 10 years ago. Everything is built from local materials, and the rooms are absolutely amazing. The fireplace was especially romantic - and necessary during our visit, since the rooms do not have central heat.

Besides providing funds for the entire foundation, the posada operation is also a vocational training ground for students at the school. Our dinner, for example, was served by a teen waiter studying at the hospitality program. Don't forget to ask for a tour of the grounds.

The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. I asked for a "matrimonial" room (single large bed) but all they had was a triple (three single beds). The desk clerk and the security guard proceeded to move one bed out of the room and rearrange the furniture so that the two remaining beds were together. They were also able to arrange a car and driver for us to tour Moray and Las Salinas, two local attractions. (That was Mariano, who became our favorite driver in Urubamba. He ended up taking us all the way to Cusco at the end of our stay, for S./80.)

They also sell costume jewelry made by local mothers to help those mothers generate a little income.

An amazing experience. Don't forget to read the book in the office that chronicles the 10-year effort to get this foundation on its feet.

One note: Don't expect English. I got along fine with my rusty Spanish and a dictionary. Everyone is very patient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.9 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
3.8 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
3.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
6.3 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
6.9 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 28 in Urubamba
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris

Address: Querocancha s/n Urubamba, Urubamba, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Urubamba
Price Range: £51 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our eight bungalows are furnished with a fireplace and a terrace. We also have 3 rooms that share a bathroom. A 100% of our profits gos to our projects "Fundación Niños del Arco Iris" aimed to provide with Health, Education and Love to the most deprived children in the Sacred Valley and their families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Casitas Del Arco Iris Sacred Valley, Peru - Urubamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing