We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric but somewhat boring 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As others have noted, the grounds at this hotel are very pretty: it's like staying in an 18th century hacienda (I think it was actually once a monastery). Once you get past the historic but annoying door locks (about to be replaced), rooms are 4-star comfortable: not super-deluxe or as nice as the grounds, but completely acceptable.

The "problem" with the hotel, if I'm going to be picky, is that it's a bit boring -- as is the town of Yucay where it's located. Other than browse the woolen items and trinkets for sale by the local ladies in the courtyard (the prices aren't bad if you bargain a little), there's very little to do at the hotel. A few scattered hot tubs would be wonderful, particularly for the chilly evenings! I'm sure others would appreciate spa treatments as well.

The only meals I ate at the restaurants was the breakfast buffet, and that's decent but not fantastic. Of course, to a Norteamericano, I typically find South American breakfasts to be pretty poor. Given how prevalent potatoes are in the Peruvian diet, I'm surprised that nobody (including this hotel) offers hash browns or other fried potatoes at breakfast. Also, the only breakfast meat offered is hot dogs, which frankly doesn't cut it for a 4-star int'l hotel (I guess there's no bacon or "real" sausages in Peru?).

Other reviewers say there are no nearby restaurants, but the very decent (and better-priced-than the hotel) Ananau restaurant is only a block away (turn left at the hotel entrance). You can also have the hotel call you a taxi to take you to nearby Urubamba (5 minutes away by car) for less than 10 soles.

Bottomline, this is a perfectly good, atmospheric hotel to be a base for a visit to the beautiful and interesting Sacred Valley. Just don't expect a lot to do at the hotel, or in the town of Yucay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

All the family at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay would like to thank your preference and the time you take to share with us your experience in our Hotel. Your opinion is very important for us, they will let us to know all about our service and improve. We think your perception can help us to improve a lot. Let me agree with you with your comments regard the breakfast, i will be reporting these to my superiors to take them in consideration and maybe change a little bit our options. Regarding the activities you can do around at the Hotel as you said are limited but at the reception we can help you with some information as horse riding, motorcibling, biking, etc.
Once again we thank you haved share some details of your saty in our Hotel to let us review them and improve.

All the best for you and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel was once a monastery. You can see that in the section of the grounds that resemble a cloister and in the doors to the rooms with the iron keys.

The grounds are absolutely spectacular and have a European flair.

The rooms were huge and the bathroom was very modern.

It was quite cool the night I stayed, bug no worries, the room includes a radiator, which provided ample heat.

I could easily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Tulips300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

It has beean a real pleasure to have such a special guest as you are in our Hotel. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel during your trip to the Sacred Valley. We also thank your preference and the time to share with us your opinion that is very important to improve and offer you a better service.

All the best for you and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was fantastic, beautiful, comfortable and charming.

If you are staying in this city, you need to choose a great hotel, because there is nothing to do in the city, the only interesting thing I found was the hotel.

The staff and restaurant were nice.

And wi-fi worked pretty well.

I strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank carinafuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

It is such a great new to know you have enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to our beautiful Sacred Valley. We feel very happy for your opinion, this motivate us to keep doing our best for you, our guests. We hope this is not the last time you can visit us and can share more special moments with you.

As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us. All the best for you, please if you have any question, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Set in unquestionably scenic surroundings with lush grounds and in a picturesque setting, this hotel has neither good restaurants nor anywhere else to go except around its premises. Nearby restaurants are only two and they were closed for dinner the two nights we were there. Maybe we should have checked with the concierge or made reservations. The neighbourhood is pretty run down with an iffy looking hole in the wall store selling drinks and snacks next door and dark and dank streets and alleys. They were not exactly deserted, there were unwelcoming stares from locals hanging about the alleys. Not what u expect coming from Cusco or Lima. Everything else about the hotel was average - the staff were friendly and helpful enough but the oxygen tank that I requested for came with a mask that had a lingering tobacco stench. The rooms were average not as pretty as the grounds outside. They did not provide complimentary bottled water and the prices of bottled water varies depending on whether you buy it at the hotel cafe or at the restaurant. The food at the restaurant tended to
be salty and unspectacular. It did not make up for the lack of food options in the
neighbourhood. A pity.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyGoh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit and for the time you took to share with us your experience in our Hotel. It is very sad that we have not fill out your expectations and at the same time your opinion is very valuable for us because they permit us to check our procedures and improve to offer a better service every day. Let me inform you that we are changing our menu with more and different options to compense not having other restaurants around. Also we are remodelating our rooms to be more bigger and confortable. All these changes are planned in order to satisfied and make our guest to have a memorable stay.

We hope this is not the last time you visit us and can enjoy of this changes. All the best for you and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel was decent at best. It is an hour and a half from the Cusco airport and about 30 minutes from the Ollaytantambo train station (~40 soles). Food options are limited to the onsite restaurant as there aren't nearby restaurants you could walk to.

Pros:
Beautiful landscape and grounds
Friendly and helpful bi-lingual staff at the front desk
Cons:
Our bathroom was disgusting. On the second night, there were small dead flies all over our bathtub and bathroom floor.
You could locked in your room from the outside. I accidentally locked my husband in using the latch from the outside.
Vendors who tried to solicit your business

Also, if you are going during the winter, make sure you turn on your heater before you head out so your room is nice and toasty when you come back.

Would I stay there again if I were in the Sacred Valley? Probably not.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank brooklyngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest;

We would like to thank your preference and the time to share with us all about your experience in our Hotel. We feel very sad to know you had some issues during your stay. Unfourtunately in this period of the year there are many of those flies, it is because of the raining season that is why we fumigate at this time of the year in order to prevent this to disturb our guests, but unfortunately they are reproduced very easily. Regarding the keys we have an approved project to start in October to change our rustic doors to electric ones and it will be used through a magnetic card in order to make it easier to our guest.

Once again we regret we have not accomplish with what you were expecting, we hope we can have the opportunity to have you here and we can reverse the wrong perception you might have about our service.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Honestly, the best part of this hotel is the landscape. Since you're in the Sacred Valley, the views of the Andes surrounding this hotel are amazing. Breathtaking, even, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The hotel rooms themselves were only fine. They have been recently remodeled, which is nice, but the beds were kind of hard and there's no real windows or doors (mainly wooden shutter-like things), so the room can get cold in the winter. Turn on the electric heater early in the evening so your room is warm when you get back (we did not do this and it was pretty chilly when we wanted to go to bed). This hotel was also weird to me because there were no queen or king beds, just two full-size beds per room. This proved bizarre for any couples traveling because you can't actually sleep together unless you want to cram into one full bed (but why do that when there's just two beds).

The bathroom was nice but the bathtub had weird drainage issues, which was just kind of icky. There were enough towels for two people, so that was at least a redeeming bathroom quality. So, the rooms themselves were OK. But the actual hotel, the lobby, the restaurants, and the entire property was beautiful, well-maintained, and provided excellent views of the Andes on all sides. The staff were friendly, spoke English, and provided suggestions for things to do when needed. There's an on-site restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, and shopping. There's also llamas grazing in the middle of the complex, which is super cute! They enjoy pets, which is super fun.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsigman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are very happy for your visit and preference. We would like to thank for the time you took to fill out our survey and share will all the people who visit this page about our Hotel. We are really sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay. We really appreciate your opinion because they will let us to know oue weakness and improve for the future. We hope this is not the last time you visit us and please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kins regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Pros:
Lovely setting with view to the garden and mountains. The space is very open and the rooms have enough space. The breakfast was very nice and comprehensive, particularly with prepared to order eggs. The staff helped us arrange transport at the last minute due to another pre-arranged transport provider canceling at the last minute. Within 10 minutes of phoning the hotel, someone met me at the airport and within another 20 minutes, we were en route to the hotel. The staff helped us arrange a taxi tour of the sacred valley and Cusco at the last minute which was much appreciated, in addition, to connecting us to other affordable sources of transport around the sacred valley with reasonable rates. Lastly, the hotel also helped us do our laundry at the last minute (late night) and had it ready for us the next day due to luggage arrival issues.

Cons:
The common areas and rooms need significantly more heating due to the coldness of the area and the layout of the hotel. We only ate at the hotel one evening but the dinner did not seem fresh/recently made; we recommend they look into ways to enhance the flavor and 'freshness' of the food. Also, as other reviews have noted, we recommend the hotel look at revamping the locks to the doors as it's not sustainable in this day and age.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the gardens or mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkusAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank your visit and the time to share with us and all the people who visit this web site your great experience. Your opinion is very valuable for us in order to improve in our procedures and offer you a better service. We also would like to thank you for the suggestions. I have reported them to my superiors to take them in consideration and make some changes in our restaurant area. We hope this is not the last time you visit us and you can have the opportunity to see these changes.

We wish you all the best and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Kind regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucay
2.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
7.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
2.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
4.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay

Address: Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay 08665, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range: £88 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas and surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Sonesta Posada del Inca Yucay is a former 18th century colonial-style monastery. This charming 87-room posada is a one-hour drive from the ancient Inca capital of Cusco and close to Machu Picchu. The area's year-round warm weather is ideal for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Hotel Yucay
Sonesta Yucay
Yucay Sonesta
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Yucay Sacred Valley, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing