We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Splendido!!”
Review of Splendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splendido Hotel
Ranked #59 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“The Splendido!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed a month and thoroughly enjoyed it....it was clean Friendly and helpful.The staff were excellent. I was travelling alone am older and came from Canada.
I changed rooms a couple of times ..to help out accomodation of new guests which was fine by me and both rooms were good. I would be happy to return there

Room Tip: didn't notice noise in the hotel or nearbyI was very happy there or I would not have stayed so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    77
    46
    17
    15
See reviews for
20
80
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Beware if staying in Montevideo on a Sunday, we arrived at this time and the area around this hotel is like a ghost town - literally no one about whatsoever and it didn't feel the safest. The hotel itself is nice and like others have said the décor is great - its like staying in an old fashioned dolls house! The staff on reception didn't speak to us much and didn't have a map or much information available for us. We didn't experience any noise from the bars - everything was very quiet, but we were there in the middle of winter. There was a heater in the room (which we needed!) and the en suite bathroom was clean. Breakfast basic but good and wifi worked everywhere. As someone else has said, consider this a hostel rather than a hotel and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you consider this to be a hostel (which is more what it is) than I'd give it a 4. As a hotel it gets a 3.

On the plus side the folks at the front were very friendly. There was a breakfast provided, and as basic as it was it did include fruit. The old building had a lot of charm. The location was also superb! Also GLBT friendly!

Drawbacks - room smelled a bit odd/perfumy, bedding left a little to be desired (but was clean), could get quite noisy at night (which is to be expected of a hostel I suppose)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driftingsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Hotel Splendido has unusual atmosphere and antique furniture since the beginning of last century. From hotel windows one can see famous Teatro Solis. I had a large room with 5 beds, actually a dorm, but stayed there as in a private room together with a friend, nobody else. Bathroom was in a corridor shared with other rooms. Breakfast was very simple: small servings and poor variety, however there were some fruit. It was possible to cook by yourself in a kitchen and use a fridge there. Hotel`s location is good, almost city centre, close to the central square with a monument to general Artigas. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful guys. I think, this hotel is a good choice for budget stay in downtown Montevideo.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I’m glad to read that other travelers had better rooms here than I, because mine was pretty appalling. I was passing through Montevideo on Easter night, which made it difficult to find a hotel room, but I suppose it helped at the Splendido, as the Irish pubs down below my window were quiet. I was in a single room seriously in need of some care – walls were dingy and needed painting, the bed felt like a brick, the faucet in the in-room sink did not simply drip, but RAN constantly, and the light bulbs in the overhead fixture and the table lamp with the old, stained lampshade didn’t function, so that I had only one 20-watt bulb by which to read at night. I mentioned this to the desk clerk when he checked me in, but there was no attempt to remedy the problem, nor an apology.

I understand that no one’s going to rush out on Easter night to buy light bulbs, but at the very least, someone could clean the dirty cobwebs out of the corners of the room sometime. I passed by a 5-bed dorm room, and it was more cheerful, with freshly painted walls and clamp-on desk lamps on a few of the bunks. Was I simply given the one room in the place that’s been neglected for 4 decades? I don’t quite get it; I’ve stayed in hostels in several countries that provided quite nice rooms for this price. This was my last chance to get a good night’s sleep and a hot shower before a flight home much later in the day, and the Splendido failed at providing me with either.

There were some appealing aspects. The location was excellent for visiting Ciudad Vieja and the city center. The young guys at the front desk were exceedingly friendly, helpful, and patient – one explained in great detail how to catch a bus to a museum I wanted to visit that’s so far north, it’s off the Montevideo tourist maps, and I got there with no problems whatsoever. They were also helpful with cabs and stored my suitcase all day until I had to go to the airport. The retro, mid-century modern décor is fun, and the public areas are spacious and attractive for a hostel.

Splendido is marketing itself to gay tourists, some of the staff is gay, and it’s a place where it’s comfortable to be out of the closet (even if my room felt like a closet). But I didn’t feel as if the heterosexual backpacking crowd was mixing all that well with the gay men and travestis, and I can’t imagine any middle-class gay men I know in the US spending more than 2 minutes here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is very unique, great decoration, really good atmosphere. 40s/50s decoration, really well kept, the corridors and the rooms are a pleasure for the eyes. The breakfast room and kitchen were great. Enough tables to have a chat or be left on your own if you wish to.
Bathrooms were very clean and staff really friendly and helpful.
Very central and well located, in front of Teatro Solis and next to Plaza Independencia. The street where it's at, Bartolome Mitre, is VERY VERY noisy, so if you're staying for a weekend, avoid the rooms on that side. But even though I couldn't sleep the first night (three Irish pubs with Brazilian impromptu batucada), I loved the room. Well recommended for a chilled out stay in Montevideo

Room Tip: Rooms that go to Bartolome Mitre street will be very noisy. All others will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lusochileno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peresvet
Level 6 Contributor
790 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I spent here 2 nights. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom, however due to an error in booking system we were provided by a larger room with 6 beds, in fact dormitory. But we were not disappointed, because the whole room, very spacious was at our own disposal. The hotel had very unusual interior, full of antique furniture and accessories. Notwithstanding hotel`s age and atmosphere everything was clean, and hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They provided simple but nice breakfast including coffee, local specialty dulce de leche and fruit. Hotel guests can also use the kitchen for self-service. Hotel location is near famous Teatro Solis, close to Plaza Independencia and to the city centre. The fact I did not like was a loud noise in the night from the partying in the downstairs restaurants. As a whole I was satisfied by my stay in this simple budget hotel which had its own style.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
#81 of 86 in Montevideo
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Uruguay
Hotel Uruguay
#67 of 86 in Montevideo
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urban Express
Hotel Urban Express
#78 of 86 in Montevideo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#35 of 86 in Montevideo
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#40 of 86 in Montevideo
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#73 of 86 in Montevideo
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendido Hotel

Property: Splendido Hotel
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1314, Montevideo, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Splendido Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendido Petit Hotel & Hostel is housed in a bow shaped construction, declared National Heritage, builded in early twentieth century (1901). Located in the cultural, tourist and historic very heart of Montevideo City. In front of Solís Theatre and two blocks away from the majestic Rio de la Plata and it's beautiful promenade “The Rambla”.Features high-ceilinged rooms decorated in style, wooden floors and original furniture. Balconies to Pedestrian Bacacay; sights the City Opera House and the bohemian Bartolomé Mitre street.Spléndido breathes past and present of Montevideo. Providing a clear example of what our city has to offer, from its warmth, simplicity, good taste, and sophistication.Placed in “Ciudad Vieja” neighborhood that gathers the cultural, gastronomic and recreational main offer of Montevideo, hosting museums and historic buildings, cultural centers, antique markets, classic bars and shops.The Spléndido is a place for all who want to live and feel Montevideo and get to know it from a privileged located spot - Advised by a committed staff, fan of their city and its main features, in culture, art or recreation. Helping to discover new itineraries according to the interests of each guest, from an eclectic and open minded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Splendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing