We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but dirty dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austral Hotel Montevideo
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location but dirty dirty”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Uglz building from outside, but that is the least problem. Situated very convinient , can walk to the old city and there are many buses almost in the front of the hotel. Inside , the hotel needs renovation. Rooms are small, bathroom and room dirty. White cover on the bad had some yellow pomints, so I decided to sleep in my sleeping bag. Hair all over, in bad and bathroom (I am bald , so definitely not mine). Dirty all over.
The breakfast was OK, WIFI working without problem. Price , even promotion was way to much for this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAustralM, Community Manager at Austral Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por dejarnos su comentario.
Estamos encantados de haber contado con su visita en nuestro hotel y lamentamos de verdad las molestias ocasionadas. Nos comprometemos a mejorarlo para su próxima visita y a trasladarle a la dirección sus comentarios.

Reciba un cordial saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    54
    92
    52
    55
See reviews for
30
103
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour. One very ugly building from the outside. You could barley walk around the bed let alone have anywhere to put your suit case. Very smelly, old, damp and what you would call very basic. However had a great location so for a one night stop so that was good.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere but try to be in the same location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of GAP adventure and what an absolute dump! We walked in to our room to find the most awful smelling smoke filled room, someone had obviously been chain smoking in the room the previous night. The room was small (barely enough room to have a suitcase and walk around the bed) the bathroom was dark, filthy with an aroma of sewerage, and the room was filled with mosquitoes as the windows don't have any screens on them. The only positive was its locale to everything.

Room Tip: tip is don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The hotel is very good located, with everything in walking distance. The rooms are basic, the breakfast was good. The breakfast room and the lobby were nice and quiet. The price was very low so it was very good value.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arns30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Close to the centre of the city, Austral is in a great location. The reception area of the sixties-style building is deceptively comfortable. The rooms a pretty grim and grubby. Cracked tiles and broken lavatory seat summed up the bathroom. You don't have to worry about your room being made up and cleaned to a reasonable standard - they don't bother doing it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

this hotel is a terrible place to stay, when I walked into the hotel the first impression was that i was getting into a nightmare, the dirties place, terrible staff, the rooms, local prisons are cleaner and better to stay than this hotel, this hotel is not for humans, i wont even let my pet stay in this hotel, and please be aware of sites like Hotwire that promote this place.

Room Tip: do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyaccion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour. The lobby and breakfast room are recently renovated, but the rooms haven't been touched in perhaps 40 years. The bathroom was dirty, the bedding was old, worn and not clean, and the noise from the street was pretty bad. They need double glazed windows and they have to replace everything - carpet, furniture, bathroom fixtures. The shower was a recessed rectangle on one side of the bathroom with a disgustingly dirty shower curtain that stuck to you (ugh). I'm sure you can do much better for your money.
Location was good, easy walking distance to the old city and convenient to public buses.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#82 of 87 in Montevideo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Plaza Hotel
Balmoral Plaza Hotel
#57 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arapey
Hotel Arapey
#72 of 87 in Montevideo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balfer
Hotel Balfer
#65 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#42 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klee
Hotel Klee
#47 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austral Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austral Hotel Montevideo

Property: Austral Hotel Montevideo
Address: Hector Gutierrez Ruiz 1296 | esq calle San José, Montevideo 11112, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Austral Hotel Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austral Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing