We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Name less substance”
Review of Regency Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Golf Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is located in excellent area just walking distance from Rambla , with shopping nearby
So full marks for location
But it is too small , reception is hardly any area , no proper conference rooms for business meeting
the rooms also are smaller even to fit 2 bags was not very easy . The refrigerator was making annoying noise ,
Clean rooms though
But I wouldn't call it value for money ,is expensive for the charges
Try Sheraton which 2 blocks away and not big difference in the price

Room Tip: Take room on upper floors , and specifically ask for size and placement of refrigerator ,it was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitthapar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romina P, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Sir, thanks a lot for your comments. The Hotel has two Meetings Rooms available, the Urbano Conference Room and the Urbano Ball Room. the Regency Golf has 3 different categories of room, also Suites are available. We hope you enjoy your next stay with us. Regards, Ilana Gateno. general Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hotel was in a great location - Punta Carretas, with a large shopping mall, restaurants and laundry service 2 blocks away. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size, clean and modern. They have underground parking for about 5 cars but it not easy parking in there, extremely tight. You can park on the street as well. I would not recommend getting a massage as the lady was not very good. We really enjoyed staying here and will gladly do so again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iega, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Sir.
Thanks a lot for your comment.
We appreciate your time spent writing about your last stay at the Regency Golf.
We hope to host you again soon in you next visit!
Regards, Ilana Gateño General Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for over 6 weeks while I was working in MVD with my family (wife, 2 kids). We stayed in a suite.

The good things:
-room is relatively clean (see "the bad" for details)
-room is bright and has a nice view
-Great location, near mall, Rambla, beach, ferria , plenty of restaurants (See our review of Philomene's Cafe 1/2 block away!)
-Breakfast was pretty good, but it never changes so after a couple weeks it didn't seem so great. But they regularly have lunchmeats and cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrown patties, bread & pastries, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, water.
-not sure if regular rooms have them, but the suite had a fridge and microwave.
-underground garage...very tiny, it won't fit anything larger than a Toyota Camry, but if it fits, its nice to use.
-We looked at several other hotels in person and this one actually looked pretty good comparatively.

The Bad:
-Despite having a suite, the room was very tiny. If you folded the futon out in the "living room" you couldn't use the desk.
-Food: Decent enough selection but honestly everything was so-so at best. The coffee wasn't good, the eggs are runny, the bacon is nearly raw, etc.
-The service at the hotel is terrible. There were a few diamonds in the rough who were friendly and helpful, mainly the doormen and a front desk woman named Xiomena who also spoke a little English. Generally though few of the hotel workers were friendly and customer service seemed to be a foreign concept. I have a co-worker who is a Uruguayan attorney who even commented how rude and unpleasant the staff was.
-Service: several times I requested to have a taxi called and I requested it 10 minutes before I needed it. When I would get downstairs the front desk people would see me and THEN call the taxi so I would wait for another 5-10 minutes.
-Restaurant: On several occasions we watched a table leave from the restaurant and the wait staff would clear the dirty dishes but leave any silverware that appeared to be unused on the table. Then they would reset the table with the potentially dirty silverware. When I mentioned to them that the previous customers could have licked their fork clean, sneezed or coughed on it, they looked at me like I was crazy.
-We watched on several occasions as all the tables in the restaurant were filled. Customers would leave a table and the wait staff wouldn't bother to clean it for waiting customers. Several times we saw customers leave because they couldn't get a clean table. I actually had to clean my own table off on a couple of occasions, which was very frustrating.
-We watched the restaurant staff take a plate that was on the buffet for hours with vinegar and oil on it and put the plate back on the clean plate stack.
- The bathroom seemed to constantly smell like urine. I think it was the bidet, but it could have been the drain. Whatever the case, we always kept the door closed and put up with the smell when we needed to use it.
-Bathroom has no vent or airflow. So there was no place to hang beach towels or swim suits where they would dry.
-The bed sheets are too small, so every morning we'd wake up partly on the mattress.
-The futon is very uncomfortable.
-Every few days all of our key cards would stop working so we'd have to go down to the front desk and have them re-programmed.
-The WiFi signal inside the bedroom in the suite was poor (however in the "living room" the signal was strong).
-There is only one TV in the suite and it's in the bedroom.
-These are personal opinions but the bed was way to firm for us. Also, the rooms are decorated in a contemporary style (lots of white, black, glass and metal) which we really don't care for, we felt it was a very "cold" room.

We noticed a lot of these things because we had been at the hotel for so long. I would say a short stay wouldn't be bad, but that's because you wouldn't have seen all that we saw. We actually were looking to move after the first week or two, but it was peak season and couldn't find a place for the duration of our time. As soon as we were able, we moved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JayNVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iega, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks a lot for you detailed comment.
We hope they help to improve in all our areas especially in the one you mentioned. I am sure we will surprise you with more amenities in the room and we will recommend you a better accommodation for a family long term stay at the Regency Golf.
Hoping to meet you personally soon,
Sincerely, Ilana Gateño General Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

In 2013 Carnival, we spent a couple of days in Montevideo. We have selected this hotel after consulting TripAdvisor. It was a good experience. Attentive personnel, good breakfest and good food. Selection of wines in the restaurant, only reasonable but the relation cost x benefit, was good. Excellent location, nearby the Rambla, Puerto Carretas Shopping Center and good restaurants and also close from the old and historic part of the city.

Room Tip: Try to reserve rooms with a view to the Golf Club. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastião D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iega, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks a lot for your words.
We appreciate your comment about your last stay at the Regency Golf.
We hope to host you again soon, please check our Special Promotions to visit Montevideo!
Regards, Ilana Gateño General Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

In February of 2012, my wife and I stayed at the Regency Golf Hotel near the Rambla which is the ocean side avenue next to the extensive beach. We used the hotel as our base from which we traveled and returned over a period of 3 weeks. We stayed at the hotel on 4 separate occasions during that period. We did side trips to Argentina, Brazil and the La Rocha province of Uruguay. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels and while this hotel may not have spacious common areas nor sports amenities, we loved the staff, the service, the location, and the warmth of the hospitality. We were impressed by everyone from the door man, the wait staff, the receptionists, and up to the wonderful hotel manager. My wife and I are readying ourselves for another winter vacation and for the first time in my life, I miss the personnel and the hotel so much, I wish I was going back there soon. I hope to visit there again. Oh, by the way, the area around the hotel is urban with great shops, a gigantic mall, abundant quaint family owned restaurants and of course, romantic walks along the Rambla. I want to be there tonight!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iega, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks a lot for your words…we want to see you again!
It´s feel full to read comment like yours, we expect to host you soon and make another great stay at the Regency Golf!
Sincerely, Ilana Gateño General Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I traveled with my family to Montevideo to celebrate my father's 80th birthday and had a great stay at the Regency Golf. Loved the rooms, decor, sheets, spacious bathroom, yummy breakfast, good options at restaurant, free WiFi and most of all, amazing service. The location of RG is excellent, close to gourmet restaurants, shopping mall, public buses, beach and more.Thanks to Nicolas, Gaston, Richard and the whole staff of Regency Golf for a great stay. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matisse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iega, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your words! How nice to know you remember all the names from such a lot of great people! They are here waiting for you to come back…
We hope to host you soon at the Regency Golf, please do not hesitate to contact as in you next visit.
Sincerely, Ilana Gateño General Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is modern and confortable. Must admit that the breakfast and food quality is above average, wifi coverage is great (excellet speed).
However, when comparing it's price to other similar hotels in the area it lacks a lot of "must have": the gym is located in a really small room, lot to improve in this area.
The room didn't appeared to be cleaned with a lot of "effort" and the A/C is extremelly noisy.
To sum up, the hotel deserves to be considered as a valid option. I would return on a next trip. However, study other alternatives before making your final call.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piloteador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iega, Gerente at Regency Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks a lot for your honest and detailed comments. We need them to grow and improve.
We apologize for any inconvenient caused.
We hope to surprise you in your next visit to Montevideo, please do not hesitate to mention you are a repeater.
Sincerely, Ilana Gateño General Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
427 reviews
2.7 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#27 of 87 in Montevideo
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#15 of 87 in Montevideo
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Golf Hotel

Address: 2473 Fco. Solano Garcia St | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: £51 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Golf - Hotel Urbano is located in the most booming area of Montevideo City, Punta Carretas. The area offers the visitor a beautiful neighbourhood with many restaurants, banks, a golf course and the magnificent Rambla (the sea shore), an ideal place for a walk or an informal work out. 65 rooms with panoramic views to the Rio de la Plata or to the Green Deck. With wooden floors and relaxing colours, rooms are designed to fulfill all your needs in an up to date ambiance. Equipped with: kitchenette, frigobar, laptop safety box. Air conditioning, LCD T.V., Wi Fi, 24hs. room service and laundry. Breakfast is served from as early as you need it. Workout room, sauna and whirlpool in outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing