We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location, great food”
Review of Dueto

Dueto
Ranked #17 of 977 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ciudad Vieja
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Terrible location, great food”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

If you don't mind Latin American service (none) the food here is definitely worth waiting for. Possibly the worst located restaurant of worth in history but don't let this stop you from coming if you enjoy good food. Restaurant has a nice ambience but if you don't speak Spanish the staff stay as far away as possible.

Helpful?
Thank dunbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    166
    32
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely evening at Dueton. It was a quiet night, but the waitress balanced being attentive but not rushing us. We had a seafood pasta and the fish of the day. Both were well prepared and reasonably priced. Their menu of local wines was also impressive. The highlight of the meal was the chocolate spoon and dulce de leche desert. It was amazing!!
$60 for two great entrees, a local bottle of rose and 2 deserts is win in our book! Nice change from the typical asado.

Helpful?
Thank Jamesfam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Il punto giusto”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Dueto is a place I had the honor of discovering thanks to a great friend who recently passed away. Since then, I always try to make myself the time to visit this gem in Policía Vieja street. The variety of dishes is chosen with much care, and every single meal you taste is perfectly balanced. The fish, the meat, the pasta, i risotti, i dolci. Tutto è meraviglioso. The size of the portions is just as it should be, decoration and ambient is beautifully worked out. Two thing to highlight. First, the executive menu, which varies every time, and must be in my opinion, the best executive menu in all of Montevideo, in regards to the quality and variety of the food, the efficiency of the service, and the price for all this which amazingly fair. The second thing is that, invariably, every time, the overall quality of service and food is constantly excellent. I find this quality to be scarce in restaurants, since every dish you serve, every table you wait, there is a chance of getting something wrong. These guys however, manage to make it work. No small contribution to this success is that both Mercedes and Pablo (the owners of the place) are there every single day. So complimenti to Dueto !!
Ideal to go either in couples, friends, or business lunch or dinner. Last time I was there, was with three clients from Canada and the US, we all had the executive menu with dessert, and a bottle of white wine. Everybody loved the "puree de calabaza"!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnteroCasalbuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really excellent marriage of food and wine”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Dueto is a small, charming and lovely restaurant in the Old City part of Montevideo. We had a window seat with a view of an old architecturally interesting building across the street - it felt like parts of Madrid. The food was wonderfully prepared - beef marinated in wine in one case and large grilled prawns which they call langostinos on the other. We asked for suggestions of a national wine because we were not familiar with the wines from Uruguay. The owner suggested a Don Prospero Pinot Noir Reserve that was really excellent. The service was faultless and the food came to the table hot and in a very short timeframe. All in all, a wonderful choice and well worthy of the slightly high prices,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good But a Bit Pricey”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The overall comments we had read in TripAdvisor were spot on, i.e., the place is cozy, the food freshly prepared but in fairly small portions, the service is excellent, and the one glass of wine we shared with my wife was outstanding. And while I think the high quality food and service probably justify the higher prices, I was annoyed by the added cover charge of 180 pesos - almost $9 U.S. - tacked onto our bill (in fairness, I found out this separate charge is listed on the dinner menu).

So, if good food in a cozy and romantic setting is what you are looking for, Dueto is a nice choice. If, however, you are looking for value after eating out for the previous 20 days, I would suggest trying the more informal but friendly Corchos Bistro and Wine Cellar a block away, where we had a great meal with a full bottle of wine for 30% less. Corchos is also on the recommended T.A. listings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papipoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dueto also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Dueto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing