We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent prix fixe lunches”
Review of Dueto

Dueto
Ranked #20 of 948 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ciudad Vieja
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent prix fixe lunches”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Warm ambiance, nice service, and outstanding food. We never went for dinner (too pricey), but went several times for lunch. The prix fixe includes bread, appetizer, main, and mineral water -- a very good deal considering the high quality. The octopus appetizer was the single best bite of food I had in Montevideo. Nice location in Ciudad Vieja.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EugenieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    162
    31
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
406 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Very good food, if a bit too expensive”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

An excellent choice for dinner. We tried a starter and two main dishes, and all were rather excellent.

Couvert is expensive, at 90 Pesos.

On the day we visited, a Thursday, the restaurant only opened at 8pm, which made us think, at 7:30, as no opening times were posted, that the restaurant was closed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good dining”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Conveniently located in the old city this little restaurant provided a good meal at a good price and with a nice ambience Don't plan to go before 8:00 p.m. which is when it opens.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank boltonrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dipperz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A rare jewel”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our last evening in Montevideo......after having been quite disappointed by the restaurant food we had been served up to this point, we were immensely delighted by the care, the passion and the originality of the restaurants owners who were cooking and serving. These people love what they are doing and this is reflected in the taste of the food and the atmosphere of the place.
We will certainly go there again, if the opportunity arises.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyandaka U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“2 out of 3 courses”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Both the appetizer and dessert were really good, but the main course (a daily special of local fish) was disappointingly bland. But a nice room with friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FredDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dueto also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Dueto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing