We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach, decent rooms”
Review of Punto Berro Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punto Berro Hostel
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The best thing about this place is it's close location to playa Pocitos. The room with air conditioning means there is AC but it is controlled from the reception so you can't turn it on/off in your room. You have to ask the staff to do it. Breakfast was basic. This hostel is also somewhat more expensive than those in ciudad viejo. If the showers water pressure is usually really low in Uruguay here it's extremely low. So be adviced to take your time when washing your hair or just wash it naturally in the sea :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Punto Berro Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a private double upstairs with a window overlooking the yard and back garden. The shared bathroom closest to the room had no working light so they plugged a lamp in! A bit strange. There were often queues for the bathrooms but they were clean. A nice kitchen and eating area inside and outside. Great hammock. Free tea and coffee. Easy walk to 2 supermarkets and the beach which is nice. Liked the hostel but it could do with a bit of attention. Would recommed for private room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Had booked a room on their site with ensuite bath a week or 2 in advance. Only when I got there late at night was I informed that it was not available. Had to climb the stairs to get a shower or use the toilet... I would have appreciated to be notified before. Although I paid less It is the typical wrong attitude. Left on the next day...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krugemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Me and my wife stayed here for four nights. We reserved a private room through a website, but when we arrived, they didn't have a record of it.

They were really accommodating, though, and found places for us to stay each night. The staff is really nice, one or two of them speak decent English. There's free coffee and toast and jam every morning. A very laid back atmosphere.

They had free wireless, and one computer that anyone could use. Not a bad price, especially for how close it was to the beach (about 2 blocks!).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatcatt316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed at Punto for one night in a 6 bed dorm and it was ok.

The dorms were pretty small with no locks (what is it with Montevideo hostels and an aversion to locks??) on the doors, but there were lockers in the rooms big enough to fit most packs. The bathroom situation was dire.. only 3 bathrooms for the entire hostel and i always had to wait, especially in the mornings. There seem to be a lot of working people staying there so the hostel is pretty quiet which was nice.

The main thing that dissapointed me with Punta Berro however was when we were passing back through Montevideo and booked a further 2 nights with them. The night before we were due to travel they sent an email informing us theyd cancelled our booking and re-booked us into a neighbouring hostel Unplugged. They gave no reason for this, and didnt ask if it was ok with us. Wed actually read pretty bad reviews about Unplugged and didnt want to stay there (but didnt really have much choice on such short notice), and this got worse when we arrived and found wed been booked into a far bigger dorm than wed requested and they were actually trying to charge us more for it.

So would i stay at Punto Berro again...?
Not after the mess and cancelled bookings, but in general id say its an ok option for the price, in a good neighbourhood, with nice staff and lots of good bars and restaurants in the close vicinity.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed for a week in Hostel, the first points
negative:
While making reservations with 3 months before, and
confirmation via email and phone, arrived at the Hostel and there was no reserve
in my name, but as I was impressed with the email confirmation they
solved the problem, but it happens frequently, according to other
people we know, including a couple slept in the TV room to release a
room, is a hint confirming the booking and reconfirm in writing before
travel, this is a point to be improved soon.

Another point is the breakfast, very simple and if you are not early
runs out.

Now the positives, the location is very good, two blocks
small from Rambla and supermarkets, restaurants and cafes nearby.
Neighborhood great super friendly and quiet.

In the Hostel you will feel, comfortable and safe as in your home. The team is very
attentive and friendly. The bathrooms are clean, as all the Hostel.

Fully equipped kitchen and patio with a place to roast beef, take a
beer and conversation.

I recommend anyone to enjoy the city in a quiet neighborhood and well
located

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCostta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Punto Berro is a great hostel with the most amazing staff who made our stay enjoyable and easy. We were constantly wowed by the owners who took the time to help us with directions, offered good recommendations on where to eat and introduced us to mate!
The hostel is stylish, clean and quite cosy. I would not hesitate in returning to Punto Berro the next time we are back in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joydrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.8 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
1,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#24 of 87 in Montevideo
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#18 of 87 in Montevideo
587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punto Berro Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punto Berro Hostel

Address: Pedro Francisco Berro 1320 | With Barreiro, Montevideo 11321, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range: £9 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Punto Berro Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Punto Berro Hostel for everyone who is searching for fun traveling and making friends all around the world, this is the place to acomplish that.Located in the heart of Montevideo, Punto Berro offers a great variety of services for those who chose Uruguay as a point of interest in their adventure.Punto Berro Hostel is located in Pocitos, the most famous and safe neighborhood in the city which has an incredible quietness mixed with the rithm of the city. Only 2 blocks from the beach and surrounded by bars, restaurants, cinemas, fashion stores, bussines centers and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Punto Berro Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing