We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punto Berro Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
My Suites(Montevideo)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Boutique Hotel(Montevideo)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Punta Trouville Hotel(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
54
48
36
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
48
36
11
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Though is well located, in general its not very clean and tidy. The common places are small and the bathrooms are not clean at all. Wiffi is very week in the rooms and the transfer they offer to the airport is expensive. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is ok. I heard there are no other choices, so I guess that´s why the owners don´t bother to render a better service. Don´t know if Im coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joaquin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the location is great. Safe and only minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajando53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A last minute split decision brought us to Punto Berro... we weren´t sure what we were getting ourselves into. We woke up the next morning to being 3 blocks from the beach and a staff that was super great, sweet and helpful. The rooms and showers were clean and spacious. The best room we stayed in was the 8 bed mixed dorm... it had a great balcony over-looking the street. The common areas really felt like home... and breakfast was better than average. There is a sweet little backyard complete with a grill and laundry line. The people who work there really made it for us... anything we needed, any advice, they were there to help. They even did our laundry for us- folded and everything for $5!

This isn´t a party hostel, but not uptight either, the layout was such that people hanging out at night didn´t keep anyone wanting to go to bed up. We got great sleep.

I love this place, I stayed at El Viajero last night because it is all the talk.... but we are going to go back to Punto tonight, cause this place just doesn´t hold a candle...

Room Tip: go big or go home... the larger dorms have great air movement
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The best thing about this place is it's close location to playa Pocitos. The room with air conditioning means there is AC but it is controlled from the reception so you can't turn it on/off in your room. You have to ask the staff to do it. Breakfast was basic. This hostel is also somewhat more expensive than those in ciudad viejo. If the showers water pressure is usually really low in Uruguay here it's extremely low. So be adviced to take your time when washing your hair or just wash it naturally in the sea :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a private double upstairs with a window overlooking the yard and back garden. The shared bathroom closest to the room had no working light so they plugged a lamp in! A bit strange. There were often queues for the bathrooms but they were clean. A nice kitchen and eating area inside and outside. Great hammock. Free tea and coffee. Easy walk to 2 supermarkets and the beach which is nice. Liked the hostel but it could do with a bit of attention. Would recommed for private room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews