We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here!”
Review of Marti Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marti Apart Hotel
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As your first walk into hotel lobby there is a really bad smell.
Hotel room is old, dark and out dated. I didn't even want to sleep in the bed as it looked uninviting.
The towels in the bathroom were very small and thin.
The bath/shower did not feel safe to step in as I thought it would collapse it was so old.
Was not quite. People across the road were very noisy.
The breakfast was below average. The eggs looked at tasted like they were 3 days old.
The staff were not friendly. They seem to not have much experience in customer service.
They didn't even know when their manager was working.
Very dissapointing.
The price of hotel is rediculous. We rechecked in to dazzler. Brand new and for less money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller8896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

I really struggled to understand throughout my stay the basis for the high prices of this hotel:
- I arrived with lots of bags and my kids and did not have a place to park the car anywhere near the entrance (and they dont have anybody to help deal with the luggage parked a distance away).
- I had to pay full amount in advance and had to deal with absurd bureaucratic requests at time of the (stressful) check-in.
- The room did not have a kitchenette (not sure what being an apart-hotel means for them then).
- Internet connection is patchy and slow.
- First night could not sleep because a car alarm did not go off (guys from reception were not aware that if they call the police alarms can be deactivated). Second night could not sleep because of noisy "feria" that is set up in the early morning on Thursdays.
- Breakfast is substandard
- Room is dark and old.

The only reason I give two stars is for spacious king bed. Guys please you can do better than this!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TravellingJoe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good neighborhood but the hotel premises are very basic. The rooms are big but the mattresses are old, the pillows are stained and the sheets didn't smell clean.
The bathroom is ok, really narrow bathtub, with a weird step in the middle that makes it really dangerous.
When I got to the room I told reception that my toilet had a weak flush,a problem that took 24 hours to be repaired.
Breakfast is really poor, no fruits and artificial fruit juice.
People at the counter are nice, but they didn't have any idea how to deal with customers. They charged me twice on my credit card when I had told them I would pay in cash.
They charge too much for a poor service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The best about this place are the nice neighborhood and the short distance do the Rambla and Rio de la Plata. Rooms are big and shower is good. Narrow bathtub. Mattresses and pillows aren't very good.

Room Tip: Rooms above 5th floor get more sun. There are big trees on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJobim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro Andres S, Gerente at Marti Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Huésped, antes que nada le agradezco mucho por el tiempo que se ha tomado para poder comentar sus experiencias en Marti Apart Hotel.

Todos sus comentarios nos ayudan a superarnos diariamente, acepto su critica para poder mejorar nuestro servicio y así poder hacer lo posible para que todos nuestros huéspedes se sientan como en su casa lejos de casa. La próxima vez que visite Montevideo lo esperamos para que su estadía sea mucho mas satisfactoria y superior a la previa.
Espero que haya tenido un excelente retorno a su hogar

Reciba un cordial saludo de mi parte

Mauro Secco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The room had a moldy smell my allergies kicked in within 30 minutes. Old furniture and bad mattresses and the help is far from helpful. Also seemed to be in shady part of town we had the pleasure of listening to locals screaming one night and looked out the window only to see a group of locals engaged in physical combat. All in all a bottom of barrel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Nice hotel, very basic.
People are very nice and polite. The rooms have a table with chairs, a kitchenette, and a bathroom with a small jacuzzi.
Price is reasonable. The only thing is to find it wasnt easy and to find a parking spot is hard during some times of the day due to the busy place it is.
Breakfast is been serve up in the 12 floor that if the morning is sunny its absolutly amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I was concerned about staying here after reading the reviews. So, my expectations were very low. As it turns out, for the most part, Marti Apart Hotel wasn't so bad. The good...large room, overlooking an art school, on a lovely street. Nice location, 2 1/2 blocks from the ocean, many restaurants within an easy walk, bus stop very close. Breakfast had a varied selection that was pretty good by Uruguay standards. The view from the 12th floor was spectacular.

The bad...blankets in our room had large holes in them. Way overpriced for the value, at $125 USD per night. Construction on a new building down the street started at 7 am! Even when the windows are closed, it sounded like they were open.

Tips...Walk up the steps from the 12th floor to get to gym, you also can get more towels for your room. There is a 24 hour "mini mart" on the corner for drinks & snacks. Tienda Inglesa grocery store is close by, we bought bread, cheese, snacks, drinks,wine for the room. Pepper seems to be nonexistent in Uruguay.

Room Tip: Room 403 has king bed and couch, high enough to leave window open, low enough to see the street traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bectoria28237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.5 mi away
Punta Trouville Hotel
Punta Trouville Hotel
#49 of 87 in Montevideo
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#16 of 87 in Montevideo
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armon Suites Hotel
Armon Suites Hotel
#14 of 87 in Montevideo
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#24 of 87 in Montevideo
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marti Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marti Apart Hotel

Address: Jose Marti 3325, Montevideo 11319, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: £39 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marti Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marti Apart Hotel Located just 150 meters from Pocitos beach, 100 meters from Av. Brasil, surrounded by bars, restaurants and supermarkets, offers rooms with hot tub, overlooking the beach, a fitness center and provides connection Wi-Fi. Additionally, the Marti Apart Hotel features a spacious lobby and a small garden with fountain next to the front door. All rooms have views of the city, in an elegant style with long curtains, carpeted dark green, air conditioning, plasma TV 32`, kitchenette and private bathroom with hairdryer. The kitchen is fully equipped with utensils, microwave, refrigerator and dining area. The property also provides laundry service, 24-hour reception and concierge. The Montevideo Shopping and the offices of the mall is 800 mts, and downtown Montevideo a 5 minute drive. Also in the tour desk can rent cars, book tours and shuttle service to the airport. The Marti is a 15 minute drive from Carrasco. Prior reservation nearby public parking available. Pocitos is a great option for travelers interested in going to pubs, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marti Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing