We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Comfort Rivaled Only by Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sarandi Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 35 Montevideo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Comfort Rivaled Only by Excellent Location”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This little spot is a gem in a hard-to-beat location -- just a few blocks from the rambla (beach, boardwalk, easy transportation), just a few blocks from the Teatro Solis & Plaza Independencia, a few blocks from Plaza Constitucion & the Sarandi walkway, and then just a few more blocks from port (with more food options and easy ferry access should you want to hop across to BA) -- all of this from right on the edge of the old city.

Casa Sarandi was our first foray into Montevideo, into Uruguay, and into South America as a whole, so as our homestead for 3 nights, it had its ambassadorial duties cut out for it. And it delivered. The space inside was comfortable, with spacious rooms, street-view balconies, a cozy little lounge area with a good library full of regional resources, a common kitchen, and computer for house access. CS was super knowledgeable about local events going on during our stay that were worth checking out, and they were very well connected with other relevant resources any visitors might need. For instance, after our stay, we went to BA for the weekend, and needed to rent a car when we got back to Montevideo. CS was gracious enough to help connect us with a reliable rental service, and the rest of the trip ran incredibly smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusalexanderhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
92
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This apartment has a communal kitchen and dining area, not that we used it much - restaurants are cheap and plentiful. But it was nice to keep fresh fruit to go with the morning coffee before venturing out. The bedroom was wonderful with a very clean and modern ensuite. The whole place was kept immaculate - cleaner than our house at home!! We barely saw the other guests but they seemed nice and friendly. Karen our host was one of the most helpful we have come across with her local knowledge and printed sheets of local info. She was also very generous in allowing us a late checkout due to travel connections. 10 out of 10!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Sam and Deb, we are so glad you had a great stay at Casa Sarandi. Knowing that you are such globetrotters, receiving this review when the previous one you wrote on TripAdvisor was in 2008 makes it even more special! Thanks so much and hope to see you again sometime - Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We wanted to stay in "old" montevideo and Casa Sarandi was a great location for exploring the area on foot. We also had a car for exploring outside Montevideo and Sergio arranged for us to park it in a very safe parking structure. Very reasonably priced, just a block from Casa S.

We had a lovely, high ceilinged, wood floored room with large windows and a very comfortable bed, sofa, and desk. It was quite roomy. Our bathroom was not ensuite but was right across the hall...about 3 steps and was ONLY our bathroom...so it was just fine.

We had access to a small kitchen where we could make tea or breakfast and store leftovers in the refrigerator. Had we wanted to cook a larger meal it would have been possible.

Sergio was very well organized and gave us a written guide to Casa Sarandi and Montevideo. His recommendations were very good.

Our only regret was Karen was out of the country and we did not get to meet her.

Highly recommend (sorry it took so long to write the review...we were there last September).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abaesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Annette and Jerome thanks so much for your review - it was so nice of you to remember us. It was a pleasure to receive you and we hope to do so again in the future, so we finally get to meet! All the best Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We (my girlfriend and I) had a great time there and the owners were very helpful with their tips. We would really come back and it's highly recommended.

The owner's tips were OBT and it was a new way to know Montevideo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italolbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Italo, so great to get your review after all this time! OBT (off the beaten track) tips are our speciality ;) We´re really glad you enjoyed them. Tonight we are sending guests off to experience one of Uruguay´s top percusionists who´s playing in the Solis Theatre, just two blocks from us! Hope you had a great carnival and we look forward to receiving you again sometime in the future! Beijos Karen and Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed at Casa Sarandi with my family over the New Year period and had a wonderful time. All of her recommendations turned out to be fantastic particularly The Museum of Wine and the beautiful evocative music we heard played there. The apartment is beautifully appointed with all the conveniences you have come to expect these days. Ipod docks to art on the walls everything was top notch. The location is great and local shop just outside seemed to be open 24/7. Brilliant if like us you stayed over a Bank Holiday! We were lucky enough to have the apartment to ourselves for our stay but even if you are sharing this is a great place to be.
Our Thanks to Karen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Many thanks, Dominic and Heidi, for the kind review. So glad you enjoyed the musical recommendation. For such a small city, Montevideo really has the most incredible array of worldclass musicians playing tiny venues for affordable prices. Have a great rest of the year, your holiday will have set you up for that! All the very best Karen and Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Casa Sarandi is a great option in Montevideo. The owner Karen is an immigrant from Wales, very friendly, gentle and helpful. I asked her so many favors before and after arriving and she did it all always with a smile and courtesy.
The house has 3 or 4 rooms (I don't remember), some en suite others don't. I stayed in both en suite rooms in different periods and both are great. Confortable, very spacious, clean, organized and equipped.
The location is very good, in the heart of Ciudad Vieja (Old City), so it is very peaceful at night. It is 5 minutes walking distance to the Plaza Independencia (Independence Square), the heart of Montevideo. There is a delicious restaurant (Dueto) and great cafes (Café Brasileiro) nearby, just ask her some directions of restaurants and bars. Pocitos and Punta Carretas are two neighbourhoods with great restaurants and pubs, although they are far from Ciudad Vieja there is no traffic in Montevideo and the taxis are VERY cheap (7 dollars from the hotel to the restaurants/pubs area of Pocitos/Punta Carretas), so it feels close.
The price is also good.
The only thing I missed at Casa Sarandi was breakfast which is not offered, but since there are some awesome Cafés nearby the hotel, you can take breakfast in different places each day ;)
Also, there is a great kitchen with tables at Casa Sarandi and fully equipped, so you can cook if you want to.

PS: when you are there, ask Karen about her band called "Trelew". She sings in the band, and it is beautiful. Folk music mixing uruguayan, argentinian and welsh melodies and rhythms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Eduardo and Debora, it was so great to meet you! Thanks for the lovely review and it was our pleasure to help you out with your enquiries, particularly about the vineyards - we actually learned a lot ourselves, so no problem at all! We were also delighted to read your other reviews of the places we had recommended for you to visit and to see that Bouza was your best dining experience ever! Wow! And thanks for the plug for Karen's music ;) Keep in touch -- Karen and Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I travelled to Montevideo on my own, spent a few days at Casa Sarandi and had a great time. Casa Sarandi is in a great location close to the main centre of Montevideo and the old city (Cuidad Vieja) which has great eateries and interesting buildings and history. The rooms are great and the Casa is well set out with all you could possibly need for your stay.

Karen the host was wonderful and helpful from the first point of contact. Karen has great knowledge of Uruguay and made me feel very welcome. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, felt safe and would certainly recommend Casa Sarandi to future travellers!

Room Tip: La Sirena is the pick of rooms in my opinion......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshLoreley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSarandi, Owner at Casa Sarandi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Loreley, we appreciate your comments and kind words. When you get your B&B started in Mexico be sure to let us know! We definitely intend to be guests! All the best with the rest of your travels, Karen and Sergio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 86 in Montevideo
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#26 of 86 in Montevideo
531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sarandi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sarandi Guesthouse

Property: Casa Sarandi Guesthouse
Address: Buenos Aires 558, Montevideo 11007, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Sarandi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Sarandi is a 1930s style art-deco guesthouse and loft in the heart of Montevideo's Old City - the Ciudad Vieja in Spanish. The guesthouse is a block from the Colonial Square and the Cathedral and two blocks from Uruguay's premier theatre, the Solis and from the rambla - a 25-km long promenade, great for biking and running. The owners Karen and Sergio have lived in Montevideo since 2000, love the city and the national music scene and will help make your stay unique with their daily recommendations -most of which are walking distance-- for things to do, places to go, the most unusual places to eat and drink and the most interesting music and culture Montevideo should be more famous for. Karen runs Guru'Guay, a much-visited website on Uruguay, and now author of a best-selling guidebook "The Guru'Guay Guide to Montevideo". The guest house is very intimate - just two guest rooms. Both rooms have hardwood floors, antique furnishings and original art. Besides your guest room and private bathroom, Casa Sarandi offers a cosy living room and a fully-equipped modern kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Sarandi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing