We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small but adequate rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Urban Express
Ranked #79 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, small but adequate rooms”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and overall the location is great for activities during the day but be wary at night. It's very close to Plaza Independencia (abt 5 min walk) and therefore close to restaurants around there but unfortuately this area is known for being a bit rough at night. all the restaurants were closing around 11pm and all the people vacated. it's only a few blocks away from Buquebus port so departing was quite easy . looking back i would have rather stayed in a nicer and newer area of montevideo and taken the busses into old town during the day.

The rooms were small but clean- the shower was clean but a bit tight (and i'm a tiny person!) Breakfast on the go was nice offering bread, meats and jams.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    124
    147
    51
    30
See reviews for
86
117
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is very well located if you have business around downtown Montevideo or plan to go to the Opera (just a block away). It is relatively cheap, but it has to be - it´s an old building and maintenance is not that great. Breakfast is basic at best. That much said, the air con works, windows keep most of the noise out, it is clean and the wi-fi works very well. I´d rather pay an extra bucks and stay at the Ibis facing the river, but again if you need to stay in downtown or must save a few extra bucks, this place is safe, clean and the sleep is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great location for tourists (within walking distance of commercial area, Plaza Independencia, Ciuda vieja, Casino and Buquebus port). Safe, urban area. Small, neat rooms (except that smoking is permitted inside). An extra blanket would not hurt. Good guest service: we arrived at 8 am and although check-in time was at 2 pm, they gave us the room in advance at no extra charge. Buffet breakfast featuring several healthy options. I recommend it for short trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The staff are not co-operative.
Room service only arrives 4 to 12 hours later after several calls, sometimes it doesn't even arrive.
Wi-fi is complimentary but after requesting you only get the user id and password 12 hours later.
Breakfast is never complimentary at any hotel, because room only rate and bed and breakfast rate are 2 different rates. We requested a packed breakfast box but were refused.
The guests on the 6th floor were very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rabia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for one night only at the first level on the further room on the left of the stairs.

Pros:
- Few blocks away from Buquebus port
- Close to restaurants and Plaza Independencia. Only 5 mins walk. Strip of restaurant just past the Plaza

Cons:
- Small room
- Showers are small
- No hot breakfast except for basic breakfast with fruit, bread, jam and ham

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Intimidating concrete slab construction greets the weary traveller, and my room had the feeling I had committed a crime. Ugh, rooms were small, not very clean. However, the location was good so I think the hotel clings to that as their draw. I would recommend considering other options.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed three nights at the hotel. It is only 5 minutes walk from Plaza Independencia, restaurants and bars. The hotel staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast was great. We did get a discount through a booking agency so we thought the price was a bargain for the city centre location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
#78 of 87 in Montevideo
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#60 of 87 in Montevideo
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alvear
Alvear
#54 of 87 in Montevideo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#59 of 87 in Montevideo
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oxford Hotel
Oxford Hotel
#58 of 87 in Montevideo
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Express

Property: Hotel Urban Express
Address: Andes 1491, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Urban Express 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 superior double rooms some with mountain and river views of silver, equipped for you.Increased comfort with:Box spring type mattresses.Air conditioners split.26-inch LCD TV with remote control.Wireless Broadband internet by WIFI, FREE OF CHARGE AND WITHOUT LIMIT.Safe- Fort.Cribs. Hairdryer.Wake-up.Medical Assistance 24 hours.Telephonic IDD DDI.Desks for you convenience.Service connection to broadband internet and unlimited free throughout the hotel.NO SMOKING rooms (check availability). Early check in and late checkout ( subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing