We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Pre-Columbian and Indigenous
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Small interesting museum

Small but very interesting museum. Not everything is translated into English but it is very well... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nnlsbin
via mobile
small but interesting

this museum is on the small side but the exhibits they do have are very good. it's worth stopping... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
vitoriaazevedobarros
,
Lisbon, Portugal
Read all 169 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Montevideo
from US$47.01
More Info
from US$48.00
More Info
from US$130.00
More Info
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
42
51
51
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
51
51
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building on display chilli iron exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

One floor of pre-Columbian stuff (from all over) and then a really great set of photos from Siberia. Don't expect a great or comprehensive pre-Columbian collection but the Siberian stuff makes up for this. I do not know if the Siberian exhibit is long term

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Nathaniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I was disappointed in this museum. The pre-Columbian art section of the museum is subdivided into geographical sections but is small and not particularly remarkable, especially when compared to that of other Latin American capitals. Furthermore, most of the museum is actually devoted to other displays. There is a small display of musical instruments spanning the ages, a few fossilized bones and displays of contemporary artists. When I visited, those were for the most part weaving and were actually more interesting than the pre-Columbian section.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank 574RichardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

The building has been refurbished but there are not many exhibits in the Museum. Unless you have much time to spare I would miss it. The top floor is the most interesting. It shows Uruguayan artifacts, crafts and few good modern art pieces.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Lovetotraveldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

If I had kids with me this probably would have been the best museum to take them to of those I visited. There is a lot of visual interest and the basement has a place where you can simulate an anthropological dig. The have a life-size replica of a skeleton of a Doedicurus (looks like a gigantic armadillo) that lived on the land at one time -- maybe related to an elephant. I also thought they had some great examples of local musical instruments and two other temporary artist exhibits. Well worth the price of admission

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank JKim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I went today to visit the museum but it's almost empty. The 3rd floor is closed. The second one has only the music collection and that's really small. First floor has something which should be a shop to buy souvenirs but it has only few books and no one there to help you. The elevator dosen't work all the time and that could be a problem for persons who use the wheelchair. Also the first floor has some artefacts about the people of Latin America before the european people came. The interactiv art from the basement dosen't work.
Although the building is old, they are in the preocess of restauration and it's lovely.That was the first thing I actually like. The second one was the show that a group of actors made for some kids, that was nice too.
All in all, I think they can do better with that museum.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Danusia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews