We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Pre-Columbian and Indigenous
Open today: 10:30 - 06:00
Save
Review Highlights
Small interesting museum

Small but very interesting museum. Not everything is translated into English but it is very well... read more

Reviewed 7 December 2018
Nnlsbin
via mobile
small but interesting

this museum is on the small side but the exhibits they do have are very good. it's worth stopping... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
vitoriaazevedobarros
,
Lisbon, Portugal
Read all 170 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Montevideo
from US$47.01
More Info
from US$227.50
More Info
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
42
51
52
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
51
52
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building on display chilli exhibits iron
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

this museum is on the small side but the exhibits they do have are very good. it's worth stopping in.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank vitoriaazevedobarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Miserable collection of really gormless exhibits. And the art they were there to curate wasn’t very good either.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Though the building is somewhat nice inside (attractive staircase and skylight), the museum itself is weak overall and (unlike most MVD museums) they charge an entrance fee. Disappointing and not really worth visiting.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ASU_DrK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

The museum's in an old building but I got the impression that it's a new museum as it has a new feel to it and relatively few exhibits. Half an hour was sufficient to see everything. Maybe I'm a bit biased, having visited the Pre-Colombian Museum in Santiago de Chile earlier in the trip, and the whole of the Montevideo museum exhibits would fit in a corner of the one in Santiago.

It's not well-known locally - nobody I asked on the street itself (I'm Spanish bilingual and have no difficulty in making myself understood) was able to point me in the right direction - even a group of 6 local police officers had never heard of it. I went back to a Museum (the Museo Historico Nacional) I'd just visited and asked the staff there, and they were able to give me directions.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank jantoby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

I enjoyed the video about the various favorite cuts of beef for different countries. The museum is pretty small, so there wasn't much else to really see.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank blsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews