We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hotel... But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm hotel... But...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, very nice hotel, great breakfast (variety, quantity).... But
Little details are not properly maintained and looks like nobody cares i.e. I drunk juice in a glass and the glass remained dirty for my while stay!... Or the shower requieren a small fin, but no one would care.

Location is close to old city, but too close to cheap and dangerous night clubs, which brings robbers and drunk guys too close...

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanPazmino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,

Saludos desde Esplendor Montevideo.
Ya hemos tomado nota de sus comentarios para poder mejorar en el hotel y le agradecemos por su tiempo.
Esperamos poder recibirlo en una proxima visita y pueda percibir las mejorias.

Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    423
    193
    74
    46
See reviews for
190
423
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Complained to the staff. They changed the room. AC did not work.
Place is run down and not taken care off
The staff is very helpful but there is only limited things they could do
Not recommend it to anybody. The website is misleading
But a damper on the vacation

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank muhammad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Dirección at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry for the problems you have encountered upon check in and during you stay.

We have closely looked into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please write us at frontdesk@esplendormontevideo.com so that we may get your contact number and call you directly.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I could not have asked for a worse hotel to stay in. The first hotel room that they had me stay in did not have a functioning toilet or shower. There was no flush and the handles on the shower would fall off when turned. When I asked for help they said this was how all the rooms were. The room my parents were staying in did not have a functioning AC. The bathroom also had a leak so our room flooded all day and all night. The bed sheets also had dirt marks all along them. Though the staff (especially a boy named Diego) was very helpful they were often never to be found. They also ran out of room keys upon check-in. The outside architecture is beautiful, but I would never stay here AGAIN!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Dirección at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Esplendor Montevideo. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Esplendor Montevideo again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good things first: This hotel is located right in the center of Montevideo allowing us to walk to restaurants etc. The building is quite charming with very high ceilings.
Bad things next: We had reserved a VIP suite which - on the hotel website - was marketed with pictures indicating a suite, so more than one room/area, and clearly stated rooms between 40-53 sqm. Our room was max. 35 sqm including the very small balcony that was occupied by no less than 3 (three) air condioners and a host of pigeon (and droppings fron some days back). We complained about this when checking in, but nothing could be done about this over-marketing. The balcony was cleaned somewhat. Breakfast was very simple and the staff were simply rude, not even answering when we said good morning to them (this was better on the second day, where one employee actually produced a smile). Sleep quality was poor due to the pigeons, the numerous air conditioners and noise from the street. All in all, this hotel severely under-delivered compared to its price level and website marketing.

Room Tip: This one is simple: Choose one of the cheaper rooms in the back, or choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hessle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

hotel must have had a recent upgrade as it was all very nice very clean very modern and stylish
rooms were nicely done and the bathrooms were very nice also
wi fi was good and their were computers available in the foyer also
breakfast was descent and the pool area was inside on the ground floor and there was also a sauna in there
the staff were very helpful, and one funny story when one of my friends decided to sunbathe on the roof garden and fell asleep he was locked out as this area runs of the resteraunt
luckily he had his mobile because he could not get anyone to hear him
he sent us a message and fwe tried to let him in but this was padlocked we had fun trying to explain this to reception and had to show them photos to explain
the area here is very run down and the hotel stands out as very nice but I was chatting to a local lady and she said there was a lot to be spent on making this area a lot nicer
so it bodes well for the future

Room Tip: ensure its one of the updated ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Esplendor for three nights and were happy overall with the hotel. The 'king' bed was two beds put together which made it a little uncomfortable but otherwise the room was good. The wi-fi was spotty on the second floor. It only worked in the bathroom. The breakfast was good and we loved that Av. 18 de Julio was right down the street. Everything is walking distance which was nice and the staff was also very kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

There is no parking in the Hotel. Feeling not to safe in the neighborhood at night. No heating in the bathrooms. Air conditiner wasn't enough for heating the bedroom. Breakfast was OK. The hotel was quiet, and has comfortable beds. But generally not very well mantained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#37 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Cervantes

Property: Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11109, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Cervantes 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing