We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1 night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is on a beautiful historic building and has a very modern eclectic design, which we loved. The rooms are standard, we had to change once because the a/c wasnt working and in the other room the a/c made noises but since it was only one night we let it pass.

The pool and sauna area are great, they are indoor, although they can heat up the pool a bit more. Breakfast is plenty on a nice top area of the hotel, they should let the balcony open though.

Overall is was a good stay and experience, great wifi signal and decor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
There are newer reviews for Esplendor Hotel Cervantes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

...taking into account that it's relatively budget-friendly, offers free breakfast and use of gym, sauna and swimming pool, as well as a high-speed internet connection, it's definitely priceworthy. Also, a big plus for allowing us to check in at 7 a.m. AND have a free breakfast on our check-in day!

Some more attention could be paid to details, but if you'd need a good place to stay in central Montevideo and don't want to bust your budget, we'd definitely recommend Esplendor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The location of the hotel is convenient to visit the historic quarter. The room is clean and spacious. Too bad that the reception staffs are not service oriented, which is rather rare in Uruguay. With the staffs more friendly and competent, this hotel would be much better.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Makoto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Saludos desde Esplendor Montevideo.
Ya hemos tomado nota de sus comentarios para poder mejorar en la recepción del hotel.
Esperamos poder recibirlo en una proxima visita y pueda percibir las mejorias.

Saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Friendly staff, very nice hotel, great breakfast (variety, quantity).... But
Little details are not properly maintained and looks like nobody cares i.e. I drunk juice in a glass and the glass remained dirty for my while stay!... Or the shower requieren a small fin, but no one would care.

Location is close to old city, but too close to cheap and dangerous night clubs, which brings robbers and drunk guys too close...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank IvanPazmino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Saludos desde Esplendor Montevideo.
Ya hemos tomado nota de sus comentarios para poder mejorar en el hotel y le agradecemos por su tiempo.
Esperamos poder recibirlo en una proxima visita y pueda percibir las mejorias.

Saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Complained to the staff. They changed the room. AC did not work.
Place is run down and not taken care off
The staff is very helpful but there is only limited things they could do
Not recommend it to anybody. The website is misleading
But a damper on the vacation

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank muhammad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Dirección at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry for the problems you have encountered upon check in and during you stay.

We have closely looked into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please write us at frontdesk@esplendormontevideo.com so that we may get your contact number and call you directly.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I could not have asked for a worse hotel to stay in. The first hotel room that they had me stay in did not have a functioning toilet or shower. There was no flush and the handles on the shower would fall off when turned. When I asked for help they said this was how all the rooms were. The room my parents were staying in did not have a functioning AC. The bathroom also had a leak so our room flooded all day and all night. The bed sheets also had dirt marks all along them. Though the staff (especially a boy named Diego) was very helpful they were often never to be found. They also ran out of room keys upon check-in. The outside architecture is beautiful, but I would never stay here AGAIN!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Dirección at Esplendor Hotel Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Esplendor Montevideo. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Esplendor Montevideo again.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good things first: This hotel is located right in the center of Montevideo allowing us to walk to restaurants etc. The building is quite charming with very high ceilings.
Bad things next: We had reserved a VIP suite which - on the hotel website - was marketed with pictures indicating a suite, so more than one room/area, and clearly stated rooms between 40-53 sqm. Our room was max. 35 sqm including the very small balcony that was occupied by no less than 3 (three) air condioners and a host of pigeon (and droppings fron some days back). We complained about this when checking in, but nothing could be done about this over-marketing. The balcony was cleaned somewhat. Breakfast was very simple and the staff were simply rude, not even answering when we said good morning to them (this was better on the second day, where one employee actually produced a smile). Sleep quality was poor due to the pigeons, the numerous air conditioners and noise from the street. All in all, this hotel severely under-delivered compared to its price level and website marketing.

Room Tip: This one is simple: Choose one of the cheaper rooms in the back, or choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Punta Carretas
Esplendor Montevideo – A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
792 reviews
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
552 reviews
Regency Golf Hotel
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
715 reviews
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Cervantes

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11109, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: £50 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Cervantes 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing