We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel with wine tasting, so cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
My Suites
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hotel with wine tasting, so cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Including just being a hotel is also offers you wine tasting. That is the main reason why I booked it. The wine master is really good and loves his job. The wines are really nice to. The room is large and modern. The staf is nice but they mention pool but the pool is really small. You cannot swimming in it. It is nearby the beach. However old town is far and almost impossible to walk to. Get a taxi. WiFi is free and works good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltrotter_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    430
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
428
398
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is one block from the Rambla in an area with many restaurants and a short distance from the Punta Carretas Shopping Complex. The hotel décor is striking with bold colours and each floor is named after a type of regional wine. A large elevator services the floors with speedy operation. There is a small seating area in the foyer, handy for meeting with travel counsellors or while waiting for a pick up. A beautiful restaurant in the back of the property leads into a relaxing garden area.

Our room was on the 9th floor and faced the street, although little noise could be heard. The large windows front the entire wall and shades are operated by a wall switch. The room was quite large and had a long low ledge suitable for suitcases. Tea/coffee facilities were included and there was a small frig. There was good lighting in the bathroom with a large counter, but the shower took up most of the space in this room. Lovely towels and linens were provided.

The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and at least one person spoke English, even with the night staff. The breakfast buffet was ample and included hot eggs. We were invited to a free wine tasting session one evening that was extremely well done as we were introduced to the tannat wine for the first time.

Although we only stayed for two nights, this hotel would be most suitable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanside, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I used citibank thank you points for this hotel and was plaasantly surprised. First --great location, as i wouldnt want to stay in the downtown area. Much better to be on Ramblas. English speaking staff, very large room and bath with all amenities. Enjoyed rooftop spa with sunset views. The evening wine tasting was awesome. Havent had breakfast but the artisitc design of hotel is very pleasing. Fast computer in lobby and free WIFI through out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rena21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Located a short walk from Playa Pocitos, it's a great location. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. I was travelling alone and felt very safe there. The chocolate and weather forecast every evening was a nice touch :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 313MelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My Suites isn't in the middle of Montevideo. It's in a neighborhood north of the central city, where you can observe everyday life for an upscale slice of the population, but just a couple of blocks from the Ramblas, where you can join in the stream of walkers, joggers, bikers, rollerbladers and others who are enjoying parks and the beach in this lovely riverfront city. It's an inexpensive cab ride downtown to museums and historical locations, but there are nice restaurants in the neighborhood.

Our room was lovely, and we enjoyed the free wine tasting the evening we were there. Breakfast also was very good, with plenty of choices. We visited the rooftop gym and pool, but didn't hop in, although it looked very nice. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Every floor is themed to a different Uruguayan winery, but other than some information in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Suites was very nice. My room was clean and had everything I needed. I enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay in My Suites again. Thank you

Room Tip: I think any room would be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were excited about staying at My Suites because of TA reviews and their prompt, courteous email responses to confirm the reservation and airport transfer. Unfortunately, they claimed to have had plumbing issues shortly before our arrival and were forced to relocate us to Dazzler Hotel nearby. They offered complimentary taxi service to their hotel for wine tasting, but we were too busy eating great dinners those nights (check out La Pulperia or La Perdiz nearby .. full by 8:15).

When Dazzler was less than helpful with arranging car service back to MVD, a quick email to My Suites arranged a pickup for the following morning. While we were disappointed not to have stayed with them, their communication was flawless and timely. Dazzler, by the way, is a shiny new property, but needs some work with people skills.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LyleSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#7 of 85 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 85 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 85 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
3.4 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Suites

Property: My Suites
Address: Juan Benito Blanco 674, Montevideo, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — My Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SUITES MONTEVIDEO Boutique Hotel & Wine Bar is the first wine hotel in Uruguay; moreover it has changed the classical concept of the hotel industry in Montevideo. Design, sophistication and forward thinking are blended together in this 4 star hotel located in the heart of Pocitos.The forty spacious suites are fully equipped to the utmost comfort and decorated with paintings by local artists. Fully equipped kitchenette, dinnerware, microwave oven, minibar, electric kettle –complimentary coffee, tea, sugar and sweetener- flat screen TV, free Wi Fi, free local phone calls, king and double queen beds, iron and ironing board, safe deposit box with socket and large enough to hold a laptop, desk station, spacious bathrooms with bathtub, amenities.Each floor is dedicated to an export winery and bottles from this winery are found in the minibar for the guests’ enjoyment. Besides buffet breakfast, one winetasting lead by a Sommelier is included free of charge in order to get acquainted with the pleasures of Uruguayan wines. The bright breakfast room turns into a Wine Bar in the evening featuring a glass roof and a door to an inside garden. Also in the hotel: the Meeting Room called “Tannat Hall”, an acclimatized Wine Boutique, and on the 11th floor a pool, solarium, sauna and Fitness Center.In My Suites Wine Bar, there is a moment at sunset for the wine lovers guided by a Sommelier, to enjoy Uruguayan wines produced by the Wineries which are displayed at the Hotel: Ariano, Marichal, Castillo Viejo, Irurtia, Gimènez Mèndez, Grupo Traversa, Juan Toscanini, Los Cerros de San Juan, H. Stagnari y Varela Zarranz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your My Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing