We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montevideo Port Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Don Boutique Hotel(Montevideo)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Suites(Montevideo)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punta Trouville Hotel(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
22
25
10
8
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
25
10
8
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The only good things are walking distance to main attractions and availability of wi-fi. Located in run-down street. No heater in room plus cold draft from the open yard. Toilet and bathroom not in good condition but there is hot water. Staffs not friendly or not around when needed. Room was very messy. The hostel need updating. At USD15 per night not exactly cheap when we can get much better hostel in Buenos Aires at less.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I traveled here with a group of friends, but I still felt unsafe. The area is NOT good, and thats why the price is so low. Especially if you are a female traveler, consider spending more money to be in a better area. The rooms are okay, a bit disorganized and the bathrooms aren't very clean (not horrible, but not the best). All the lockers in my 16 person room were either taken or broken, so I had to keep my stuff in a friends locker in another room. The staff were friendly and helpful, but once it hit 6 pm I basically had to stay inside. The door was usually monitored, but I have no idea how they keep track of who actually stays there. It seems like anyone could just walk in.
On a positive note, the breakfast was nice and the water available all day is very helpful! The guys at the front desk were honest about the safety concerns in the area, and called taxis for my friends and I.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnappleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo P, Propietario at Montevideo Port Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014
Google Translation

eso era antes ,,,lo de la seguridad fue totalmente solucionado ,,,,,lleno de cámaras y vigilancia policial,,,,a las ordenes you welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed for one night in this hostel in the dorm.
Nice and quiet and great helpfull staff.
Kitchen and bathroom were clean,even as the bunkerbeds.
Still there has to be fixed a lot, like the shower and some doors were not completely ok.
Still good value for money in a capital.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertuithaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed at this hostel one night only and it was conveniently located and very clean. I normally don't stay in dorm rooms and I had a very quiet and good sleep. The bathrooms were very clean and the staff was really helpful, they even let me leave my bags locked up behind the desk for the day. I think this is a good place for a short stay in the city and located right beside the ciudad vieja, its great for walking around during the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Value for money here is pretty average.

Doorhandles are either not on the doors or loosely handing off them. Guys upstairs appear to have one joint toilet shower whilst the girls have 2 toilets/2 showers... Strange.

Common area room upstairs has no vibe, its just an empty room... Not even a tv.

The hostel doesn't have bottled water for sale..just softdrink.

Breakfast was bit boring... Not worth waking up for.

Beds/rooms looked s*it for the price... $60 for a decent room.. doesn't cost much to make a room look decent.

Plus place is in a dangerous neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshCoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews